We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I spent two nights on the Queen Mary and I plan on staying there whenever I'm in the area. She is a great lady, the food and drinks are great and the staff is fantastic!! The area is isolated and this translates into a quiet night esp when you leave the portholes open in your room at night as I did. The bed is firm and comfortable and my room had real wood paneling.

From the Queen Mary you can take a free shuttle to many places in the nearby areas to include touring the downtown Long Beach. I used the shuttle to go to the docks and catch the catamaran to Catalina Island.

If you're into exploring the Queen Mary there are lots of places to find on your own. You can actually walk around the ship as a form of exercise and work up a good sweat.

Just down the road is a Laugh Factory and plenty of eateries.

Room Tip: I picked my room solely on price and was pleasantly surprised!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notsergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Notsergio -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had such a wonderful visit to the Queen Mary.

She is a great lady indeed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,673 - 4,679 of 6,411 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

After learning that parking was $18 a day, I tried to cancel but was unable since I booked on line etc. etc. Being a city run facility, there are not many options and they know you have no options as far as parking. We have stayed here before but it seems that prices are too steep for me to stay again unless we have grandkids, etc. with us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruisnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

cruisnfox -

Thanks for the feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the stay and we certainly hope you have wonderful, beautiful grand kids and you do bring them here to visit some time soon.

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The overall cleanliness of the room was dire, my wife wanted to check out immediately but after the drive from Vegas I was too tired. This is an old ship and the cleanliness was based purely on dirty carpets ( an inch thick round the edges) black crud around the sanitary ware. The wardrobes stank really musty ok the wood was old but they were thick in dust. Clothes left in case. We asked reception to lean the bathroom toilet (no brush) and floor which they did at 11.30pm. No reductions for tours of the ship. Do Not do the ghost tour all you do is see is pitch black rooms. The ship is old accepted but cleanliness is essential.About as pleasant and romantic as dysentery.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Bev Y -

Thanks for the feedback. Our team works around the clock to keep this ship - well in ship shape and she is certainly not dirty. She is old - but we work very hard to keep her in tip top shape. And check this out - we are replacing the carpets! So that should fix most of your concern.

The Ghost tour is a lot of fun - and you see a lot more than pitch black rooms - you get to find out why the Queen Mary is known as “the haunted ship” in this interactive, special effects adventure. Watch your step as you are guided through the deepest innards of the Queen Mary because you never know what lurks in the dark shadows of the ship. Explore the old boiler room where sweltering heat and tight quarters were a recipe for disaster. Visit the damaged hull that split a ship leaving few survivors and the old First-Class swimming pool where swimmers are regularly spotted despite the fact the pool has no water. Relive tales of paranormal incidents, accidents and ghost sightings. There’s no doubt the Queen Mary is full of mystery and lore and the Ghosts & Legends Show is sure to leave you asking the question, “If it wasn’t a ghost, what was it?” Summoning believers daily.

We do hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Room was clean ,spacious, quiet and fairly priced ; what more can you ask for.
The ship was amazing ! We enjoyed every moment aboard.
We took all the tours except the Diana and they were well worth the cost.
Our only complaint was dining on board. The meals were overly expensive and the service was exceptionally poor. The Thanksgiving meal arrived cold and the wait staff vanished. It was almost impossible to get a second cup of coffee. The breakfast buffet was just as bad. Eggs cold, waffles could be used as hockey pucks and the vanishing wait staff. The next day we left the ship and had all our meals in Long Beach.

Room Tip: Don't eat on board. Drive the 3 miles to Long Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Rich M-

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the Queen Mary. We are disappointed you were not 100 percent satisfied with our dining options aboard the QM. I'd highly recommend Sir Winston's - our five-star dining option, or Promenade Cafe - TRY THE FISH TACOS!

Hockey puck? I am not sure about that - we did host a Ducks Watch Party last month :) Blew the horn everytime the Ducks scored ...it was epic.

Hope to have you aboard the ship again very soon.
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

me, sister and 80 yr old Mom celebrating her birthday with a special night on the QM; arrived at 6pm mid-week, valet parking messed up by setting up winter village on S end of property. Valet was very helpful, unloaded luggage, escorted us to checkin and waited until we got our room, then took us there. We got a 2 Qn bed 'family room', at the end of the longest hotel hallway in existance! kind of a weird optical illusion as it bent out of sight from one end to other! Room was clean, some high thresholds made sure you stepped over them into room, bathroom etc. Be aware if anyone has trouble walking. Wall thermostat was hanging off wall, would not work at all. Bath small, nice products though; very low toilet seat but we brought our own so no worries! Porthole kinda cool, opened up so we could yell at birds on water below. nice view of LB harbor and city lights. Beds comfy, plenty of pillows, warm bedding; room entry lights very dim, no shelves in bath for plug in items (small glass shelf is all). STill the idea of being on the QM made it all OK, and Mom had a great time. Sis and I ran around the ship after dinner, had to put on 1mi or more! But really cool, expected ghosts to pop out anywhere at night, lots of fun nooks and crannies to explore on own. Auto checkout under door, parking fee added in or payy extra for valet. Plus some $75 deposit for using CC was refunded later that week. Just make sure they do that! Front desk staff helpful and polite, but one of the gift shop ladies was very pushy about buying souveniers and insulted those who didn't! She was in the little corner shop inside the promenade store section, with postcards and history stuff. A little creepy as she kept talking to/about a prior customer even after they left and I was the only one in there. I bought a postcard and left too. Best thing was the 10am horn blast, get up to the bow so you get the full effect - that sucker is LOUD! they sound it 5x/day.

Room Tip: get on the starboard (right for you non-nauticals) side for a room with a porthole, and great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

SSaw2 -

Thanks for the review - I am assuming you mean pretty nice for an old lady in reference to the Queen Mary and not in reference to your mom. :) We are so glad you had such an awesome experience...and so glad you loved the HORN. It's my favorite too. I got to blow it once. Literally changed my life. I am debating setting up a camera and catching people jump every time the horn blows - I think it would be a really fun youtube clip.
-
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

rooms are better than I expected after reading some older reviews online.The ship is in good condition for the age and the beds are very comfortable, the room was very well kept.The things to see are endless and you get plenty of exercise doing all the sightseeing on board.

Room Tip: For as old as this ship is it was very well kept up and rooms were ok for the age.I would go back ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

John A -

Thanks for the feedback. The key word you mentioned was older - as in older reviews. Since our management team took over, we have worked hard through renovation and maintenance to get this ship to well ship shape. We will continue to treat her as the Queen she is. We are so glad you had a great experience and we thank you for your five stars.
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Overall - Average / 3 of 5 - Ambience, provenance, and ghosts.
Wifi - Average / 3 of 5 - Limit on number of devices
Bed - Average / 3 of 5 - Nothing special, cramped space above bed
Closet Space - Average / 3 of 5 - Decent amount of storage space
Smoking Area - Very Good / 4 of 5 - Great view up on deck
Menu Selection - Very Good / 4 of 5 - Great selection
Location - Average / 3 of 5 - We wanted to see the Queen Mary
Breakfast - Excellent / 5 of 5 - Perfect
Room Service - Very Good / 4 of 5 - Timely and attention to detail
Houskeeping - Average / 3 of 5 - As expected
Dry Cleaning - - Not used
Staff - Very Good / 4 of 5 - Friendly and good customer service
Restaurants - Excellent / 5 of 5 - Excellent selection, good food
Pool - - None
Hot Tub - - None
Gym - Average / 3 of 5 - Small
Shower - Poor / 2 of 5 - Tiny - but what do you expect on a ship
Tub - Poor / 2 of 5 - Tiny - but what do you expect on a ship

Room Tip: Outside rooms with portholes are nice to let the fresh ocean air in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Neil -

Thanks for the analytical review. I tallied 51/75 for an average of 3.4 out of five stars. Not bad - I think since you enjoyed it we should round up to four. Yeah lets do that. Let's call this an even four.

We are glad you had a great visit and we shall see you again soon.
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,319 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
2,553 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
989 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $122 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing