We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Lodging Experience”
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is the 5th year in a row that I have enjoyed several days of lodging in early November at The Queen Mary Hotel in Long Beach, California and I have only just realized that I have never posted a review so I'm taking care of that right now. I absolutely love staying "on" The Queen Mary. This is a very unique experience that I highly recommend, especially if you love history and atmosphere. However, it is probably not for everyone. While the beds are very comfortable, the average cabin (room) is a little smaller than the usual hotel room. The walls are very, very thin, basically just plywood between rooms. You really can hear pretty much everything in the adjacent rooms. The bathroom fixtures appear to be original, while fun, not necessarily the most convenient. There is adequate space for storage, flat screen TV's and portholes for windows. The hallways are quite long and a bit narrow. There is no swimming pool for guest use, however, there is a wonderful spa offering a variety of services including massages, facials, manicures, pedicures, etc. which I have personally enjoyed. There are numerous, unique shops and several restaurants to meet the varying needs of guests. There are a number of tours offered which are very interesting, however, taking a self-guided, leisurely tour is the most fun.

The staff is efficient and helpful, housekeeping is considerate and thorough, and wait staff is friendly. I prefer self-parking over valet, and although there is self-parking near the entrance, I always returned to the hotel late and had to park a bit of a distance away from the entrance. I've never had any problems walking from the parking lot to the entrance.

The hotel is across the harbor from the City of Long Beach so the view is quite lovely especially at night. It is situated near a cruise ship terminal, so you sometimes see actual large cruise ships which is fun.

As I said this is unique lodging, more of a tourist destination rather than a place for quiet relaxation.....but I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "M" level and for a room with a scenic view of Long Beach (not sure...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoingSomewhereAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

GoingSomewhereAgain -

Thanks for the feedback and for writing your wonderful review. If everyone that stayed aboard the ship wrote a review - our rating would be much harder. You really only hear from the 2% that are not 100 percent pleased. It's actually disappointing. But we greatly appreciate you taking the time to do so. You review was very eloquent and we are so thrilled you had a wonderful experience aboard our ship. We are assuming we will see you for a sixth year in a row next year?

So glad you had a great experience and see you again very soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,166)
There are newer reviews for The Queen Mary
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,464 - 4,470 of 6,166 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

First, a word to the dysfunctional naysayers out there: why did you come here? The Queen Mary is not a characterless luxury hotel. You can find that just about anywhere. She is a fantastic piece of living history that we are incredibly fortunate to still have with us. My stay was about as perfect as it could possibly have been. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Go for an outside view cabin, the portholes are very much worth it, and the harbor view if you can at check-in. Beds are comfortable with lovely sheets. I experienced no noise problems. A sense of Art Deco 1930s opulence is evident at every turn, especially in the opulent use of rare wood veneers. Take at least one of the guided tours (I recommend The Glory Days and Her Finest Hour) for access to the grand salons, swimming pool, and a typical cabin suite. The tour guides love the ship and are very well-informed. Exploring the engine room and the bridge is worth the entire experience in itself. Food options are fine; nothing more or less than what you might expect. Don't miss this chance to immerse yourself in a different, more elegant time, before crossing the Atlantic was like riding the bus.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a cabin with portholes.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chalouisduletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

chalouisduletz -

Thanks for the feedback...and we agree. These sites are just made for people to complain. No one goes on and reviews and says positive things. It is a great property and a lot of fun to visit and stay the night...so take all of this with a grain of salt.

Thank you for the five stars! Tell you friends!

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
- The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The QM is an old cruise ship so there’s only so much you can do with it. Yes, it has its downsides such as small bathrooms, thin walls and open grates in the doors which allow noise in. But the beauty of the ship is still intact and with just a little more attention it can be an outstanding hotel. We stayed on Veterans Day and saw a lot of refinishing and painting being done, so hopefully that’s a sign of better days.

We had a Deluxe Stateroom and were pleased with the accommodations. Lots of space and storage, a very comfortable bed and nice linens. There were some loose/cracked tiles in the small bathroom, but it was clean with good water pressure. The air system wouldn’t completely seal so I had to use pieces of paper to jam into the gaps to keep them from leaking cold air all night. Other than that, no real complaints about the facility.

What keeps me from rating the QM higher is their customer service. Two examples:

Some idiot pulled the fire alarm around 9:30 just as we were going to the Promenade Café for a late dinner. The ship was evacuated and we had to stand outside for about an hour. When we went back to the restaurant we were advised they were closed. We asked why they wouldn’t stay open a little longer due to the fire alarm and were basically told to go away. Now, I didn’t want anything comped, just the opportunity to pay for a meal. I’ve been to other hotels where this has happened and they always keep the restaurants open longer. Amateurish management.

Around 1:00am a group of kids decided to throw an impromptu party in the hallway. Seeing that our room was less than 100 feet from the front desk there was no way the staff didn’t hear them. Yet no one bothered to quiet them down for over 5 minutes. Finally I yelled down the hall and they left. Knowing that the hallways echo, magnify and carry sounds the desk staff should have asked them to move along immediately. More amateurish management.

It seems the QM is content to lure people in with the romance of the ship and other activities, but they will never be a first class hotel until they improve their customer service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

James T -

Thanks for the feedback and I remember your review on Yelp. We are glad you enjoyed the ship and do apologize for the perceived lack of customer service. We strive to make very guest's experience a memorable one and I am very disappointed that you were not 100 percent pleased with your visit to the Queen Mary. We do apologize for the fire alarm, I am told this happens from time to time on these older properties. We are terribly sorry you missed out on an experience at Promenade Cafe - we have just launched our new menus and they are fantastic! Try the Fish Tacos. After the Prom had closed, I recommend heading over to the Observation Bar for a cocktail and an appetizer or why not a romantic room service and enjoy a delicious meal while the moonlight sneaks in through your porthole...wow.

In regard to the noise - we do apologize. We do not encourage our guests to take matters into their own hands. Call the front desk and we can handle it. We encourage our guests to be respectful of others - this is an older property and when the ship is very busy, we do get reports occasionally from guests experiencing noise issues. We do have ear plugs available at the front desk.

We do hope to see you again soon! Love Fullerton by the way. Stubrik's steaks are the bees knees.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have stayed in many hotels in the area, but decided on the Queen Mary again this time for and "experience" . It was so different than just a regular hotel. Full of history and beauty, we had a fun experience being on such an amazing ship. That is something most people do not get to do. We loved walking around the deck at night and seeing all the lights of Long Beach. The decor was fascinating and fun to see, all the antiques and more. The room was comfortable and clean, the restaurant was great, all and all I would recommend the Queen Mary for someone who wants to get a different experience in a hotel stay other than the standard. It was very unique! I am planning a stay with my kids soon, I think they would think it was cool!

Room Tip: The deluxe king was spacious and nice. portholes made it airy and comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shauna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Shauna N -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had such a wonderful visit to The Queen Mary. We love Catalina - I would never leave if I were you! For you Trip Advisor fans - we highly recommend visiting Catalina - and since we are right by the Catalina express - come by and hang out at the Queen Mary...or why not stay the night and extend your vacation. Come on down to the QM on a Friday night...grab dinner and some cocktails at the OB...wake up and take a tour or two then hop on your boat and head over to Catalina - play mini golf and get your wiki wacked. Enjoy all of the amazing things on Catalina Island - YES THERE ARE BUFFALO - and have a great experience...

We cannot wait to host you again very soon.
-The Queen Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Now this is brunch!!! Lots of food from different parts of the world, and good too! Service not so good, slow and had to ask for certain things more than 2x. The ship itself is amazing. Take a stroll from front-back, top-bottom, work up an appetite for the brunch!

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NW2SWGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

NW2SWGIRL -


Thanks for the feedback and we are so thrilled you had great visit to Sunday Brunch. It is a buffet, so our wait staff are on hand to not serve your meals, but get your utensils and...continuously fill up your Champagne!

How about that Harp player too??? She's something right? So glad you have a great time and cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Decided to stay a night after taking a tour. Fell in love with the boat. The ghost tour was great. Bradford was our tour guide. Was nice to see how passengers once crossed the Atlantic. Beautifully maintained ship. I highly recommend staying. Top notch customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Kevin S -

So glad you have a great visit and fell in love with the ship. We all fell in love with her years ago. Her history, her size, the stories of being haunted...she is such a unique place to visit.

So glad you stayed and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a great stay. One of the most comfortable beds that I've ever slept in. Food was great, service was great... I wish we could have stayed longer but we were on the move. Nice start to our week long California vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

M Kevin M-

Thank you so much for the feedback and we are so thrilled you had such a wonderful experience aboard the Queen Mary. I hope the rest of your California vacation is the bees knees.

Can't wait to see you soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,447 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
916 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
2.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#11 of 58 in Long Beach
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $123 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing