We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Queen Mary
Nearby Hotels
$239
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$134
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Of Long Beach(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
$167
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Golden Sails Hotel(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$206
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
$123
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$167
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (6,880)
Filter reviews
6,880 results
Traveler rating
2,489
2,494
1,098
439
360
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,489
2,494
1,098
439
360
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen maryengine roompromenade cafeghost tourart decoself guided tourstep back in timechelsea chowder housebeautiful shipglory dayswood panelingpiece of historydark harbortea roomprincess diana exhibitsir winstonsoriginal features
Filter
Updating list...
5,283 - 5,288 of 6,880 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Scratch one off my bucket list to stay on the historic Queen Mary. Check-in was fine, the hotel clerk was very friendly. We stayed one night in August. I booked a two twins room but she upgraded us to a family room for $40 more and this was well worth it. The light switches and original ventilation systems, woodwork was so cool. The smells of an old ship made the experience that much more. I didnt stay here for a modern hotel experience so if your expecting a 21st century hotel experience, you might consider a Holiday Inn :) Thank you for not modernizing the old lady. When turning on the TV a channel with historic footage and history was on and it was very interesting. I just loved walking around the ship after 10pm when the ship is closed to non-guests. The port hole opened to expose a gorgeous view of Long Beach. My wife and kid really enjoyed the Diana exhibit which I bypassed in favour of sipping a Starbucks coffee on deck where Winston Churchill might have been. At 10:00 am they sound the horn and a pre recorded message comes on over the PA system simulating the old cruising days. There was so much to experience at the Queen Mary and even my tweenage daughter really enjoyed our stay. The little things like the smell of 80 yr old wood and the old electrical panels, the static displays throughout added so much. It was an enjoyable and memorable stay that I will do again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimeTraveller869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Radeon888 -

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so thrilled you were able to scratch somethign off your bucket list! Sounds like you had a really great experience and can appreciate the historic nature of this ship as opposed to a holiday inn!

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This ship is haunted only by its former reputation for quality. You can see from the hotel's responses to poor reviews, the staff is well-trained at providing a song and dance that offer no real solutions for unsatisfied customers.

I am a meeting planner and my organization chose the QM to host our biennial international event. We had guests attend from Asia, Africa, Europe, and the U.S.

Our meeting coordinator left the day before we arrived having accomplished little of what we had planned for two years. My staff and I were distracted the first two days of our four-day event trying to resolve a number of issues. Financing and billing was a fiasco. It had multiple errors (all in the hotel's favor) and overinflated. Two people were injured during our stay and seen - not by a medical professional - but by a person with a band-aid and forms for them to fill out saying they wouldn't sue. My organization was repeatedly embarrassed by the hotel's lack of performance and, unfortunately, its our reputation that suffers. If you want to hold an event in Long Beach, be sure to do it at a city hotel with a harbor view. That way you can enjoy looking at the ship without being victimized by it.

Don't take my word for it. See for yourself before your event by doing two things. 1) Read the reviews here and the hotel's sweet-but-substance-lacking responses. 2) Visit the site without telling them. Stand at the front desk for an hour and count how many times the front desk people say either, "I'm sorry I can't help you," or "That's just how it is."

I wish I had done these two things ahead of time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Mark T -

The Queen Mary has hosted thousands of amazing events...Mark's event was top notch. There is a lot more to this story and we are too classy to air Mark's dirty laundry. We are challenging this review and when all of the facts are presented, are confident that it won't be here much longer.

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary and had a great time. The ship itself is like a time capsule and really gives you a feeling of nostalgia from the decor to the employee uniforms. Our room was a harbor view deluxe room which although small offered a great view of the Long Beach Marina. The room itself was comfortable and decorated in a way that made us feel like we were there in the 40's without looking worn out or run down. We did our own tour of the ship and enjoyed a concert that night. We felt that the restaurants on board were a bit pricey so we did not eat dinner on the ship instead we left and drove to the marina and ate at one of the many restaurants there. We did eat breakfast at their Sunday brunch which was incredible. Overall we had a great stay and we would definitely stay there again. One negative was that there was no pool on the ship.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

David D -

Thank you so much for your feedback and happy belated anniversary...what a wonderful way to spend such an occasion.

And how about that Champagne Brunch...and the harp player??? Pretty Awesome.
So glad you had such an amazing time and we cannot wait to play host to you again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a wonderful time on the Queen Mary. Food was great. Princess Diana exhibit was really interesting. We had one night of noisy neighbors. Otherwise it was great!!!
Love all the restaurants. We were having so much fun we didn't leave the ship Will definitely go again

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsupham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Mrsupham -

Thank you so much for your feedback...we are so pleased you enjoyed the ship and our wonderful Princess Diana exhibit!

We cannot wait to see you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel/ship has a wonderful and unique history which I read up on before making my reservation and I couldn't wait to get there. It is a beautiful old ship, built in the 1930's, reportedly haunted, still retaining some of the original art deco style and grace and the state rooms (ours looked just as it must have in the 1930's) are very comfortable. Dinner in one of the restaurants on board was delicious and the wait staff there was fine. However, be prepared to pay quite a bit for the ambience of the art deco bar. As far as the rest of the staff, we were terribly disappointed. Most seemed to be apathetic at best or just confused. We could not get the same answer twice re: directions, cost of wi-fi, parking, etc. Then, there was an electrical fire and the hotel was evacuated. This happened during the dinner hour and while, of course, unavoidable, the hotel staff made not one effort to come outside to the parking lot where all the guests were standing for well over an hour to explain what was happening, offer a glass of water or a chair to one of many elderly guests, possibly give an idea of how long it would last or let them know if they should go somewhere to eat or be able to return to the meals they left in the restaurant. The restaurant had closed by the time we were allowed back on board. There was absolutely no compensation, let alone even a hint of hospitality shown to the quests. Next time we visit, we will take the tour, but stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Be aware that it's an old ship and the staterooms are small. If you want a larger room, request an upper deck or a suite.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaJwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

CaliforniaJwren -

Thank you for your feedback and we are so sorry that the fire alarm incident occurred and ruined what sounded like a pretty amazing experience. We work hard to make sure every one of our customers is 100 percent satisfied and it pains me to hear this story. We will look into this incident and make sure that we work on our service recovery after an incident like this occurred.

We are thankful you enjoyed your stay for the most part.

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews