We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passenger ships - the beauty and splendor of the past”
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed June 30, 2013

You can visit the ship, currently docked in Long Beach, serves as a hotel.
You can visit it, do tours and hear stories.
Last year, the ship hosted a spectacular exhibition of Princess Diana this medicine. In addition, Hmfosmt wedding dress and princess dresses.
You can sit and drink coffee or any other drink is wanted.
Lovers of ghost stories and mysteries mysterious - related to passenger ships contemporaries of the Titanic!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Meirav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Meirav L –

Great review and glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship. We do still host the Princess Diana exhibit in addition to our many other tours and attractions.

We hope to see you again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,901 - 4,907 of 6,367 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a Great Time ! Room was spotless , wood was polished , beds comfortable , rooms quite and Service was awesome all over the ship ! Vacation spot for the future wat to stay an entire week !



Promanade Cafe and Tea Room were Awesome ...









  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Ryan S. –

So glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship. We hope to see you again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great stay. Room was missing "do not disturb" sign and a laundry bag. Otherwise, all was in order and room was big enough and comfortable for our family. I would appreciate some bigger discounts on the tours when staying on board overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Calgirl80 –

Any time you need anything call our front desk and we will take care of you. For our hotel guests, all tours are around 10 bucks. Pretty good discount from our non-hotel guests!

See you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

we were booked about a yr ago.. so when we arrived excited excited excited,, the INK & IRON FESTIVAL was on here ohh my god it was fantastic, 50,s cars and bikes,, tattoos live bands and stalls all over amazing so we got a plus on our stay right the queen mary its lovely to see such an amazing sight to see. was a bit of a journey to get on the queen mary as festival had priority which ment we had quite a walk to the entrance,, if no festival on ur right outside this entrance,, so a bit mad we were treat like second fiddle.. when we did get in the reception were very helpfull, and supplied map to get round the ship,, our room was lovely quite surprised really really lovely bathroom lovely, bed was comfy and big, room was spacious. observation bar was great good selection of drinks and cider .. the views are amazing from the ship. theres plenty choice to dine we went late night walking as my wife wanted to see a ghost we seen nowt ha ha but it was good exploring the ship its huge,, when we departed we were told we can keep room card which was lovely as the card has photo of ship and old captian on reverse lovely,, theres also plenty tours on board for you to experiance

Room Tip: sea view really nice. you will have choice on arrival which is nice of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

jk11_11

The Ink and Iron Festival is a really cool event – with great music, cool cars and a lot of tattoos. So glad you had a blast at the festival and aboard the ship…might we suggest a Queen Mary face tattoo?

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Why not make your hotel stay a history tour? I loved it! We had a good room and a good sized bed. Sure, I will admit to a slight musty/dank smell pretty much throughout the ship. But - what do you expect from a boat??
You will not find updated, luxurious accommodations that you are probably used to when you check into most of your standard hotels. Everything has been preserved as close to period authentic as possible, I think. With the exception, of course, of fresh bedding and towels, etc.
Why not go for a truly unique and special experience? At least just for a night. We did and we were really interested and happy.
I took one official tour and I would recommend it if you have the time. The Queen Mary is said to be one of the "most haunted places in America". I wasn't 'haunted' but I did get a very eerie sensation in the "haunted" first class swimming pool area.
Be warned, however, that the Queen Mary is something like Disneyland. Every corner you turn provides you with another opportunity for you to part with your cash on a tour, a souvenir or a $7 bottle of water. I spent about 12 bucks on a general tour and I thought it was well worth it, but I also thought it was about all I needed to spend on the Queen Mary.
We didn't dine on the ship, but I did enjoy a good cup of coffee in the morning.
In my opinion, it is worth checking out. I think it's a bargain to stay here - especially if you need to stay in Long Beach or that part of the LA-area. Why not stay here and take in a little history at the same time?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

kevinandlara –

Why not indeed. So glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship. A cup of coffee and stroll aboard the ship is a great way to start the morning!

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The queen Mary hotel is a great place to stay after a long journey to LAX from UK, a bit of UK floating in LA, old world charm, excellent food and wine in the art deco bar, rooms are small but adequate considering how old they are. The ships tour is a must, lots of nostalgia.

Room Tip: the stateroom facing the harbour have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarrb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Tarb –

So glad you got a taste of the UK …in LA…and enjoyed your stay.

Hey, why don't I just go eat some hay, make things out of clay, lay by the bay? I just may! What'd ya say?

Happy Gilmore flashback....because of the rhyming. In all seriousness, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Queen Mary and we hope to see you again soon.

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed on the Queen Mary 40 years ago on our wedding night so we are decidedly biased. The old girl is still fascinating. Our room was quite large, king bed and we opted to pay for the first class with a harbor view. The bed was very comfortable. There is no air but the port holes opened and we were very comfortable. The Queen is a little worn in places but then so are we. It is really the effect of staying in a room that may have housed a movie star from the 30's and trying to get the feel of a five day cross Atlantic trip. We loved it. Yes the bed was short sheeted. I hate this but the mattress appeared to be covered by another sheet so, OK. The base of the door was worn so the light shown through. We just imagined 70 years of the porters and bell boys kicking the door closed with their foot. You have to get into the ship to fully appreciate the stay. This is an experience. more than a hotel room.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade. Think about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

CWS55 –

She does indeed! What a great place to spend your 40-year anniversary...what a great story. We’d love it if you log on to our facebook page and share your love story!

So glad you had such a great stay aboard the ship!

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
921 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
975 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $123 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing