We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why not?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Why not?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Why not make your hotel stay a history tour? I loved it! We had a good room and a good sized bed. Sure, I will admit to a slight musty/dank smell pretty much throughout the ship. But - what do you expect from a boat??
You will not find updated, luxurious accommodations that you are probably used to when you check into most of your standard hotels. Everything has been preserved as close to period authentic as possible, I think. With the exception, of course, of fresh bedding and towels, etc.
Why not go for a truly unique and special experience? At least just for a night. We did and we were really interested and happy.
I took one official tour and I would recommend it if you have the time. The Queen Mary is said to be one of the "most haunted places in America". I wasn't 'haunted' but I did get a very eerie sensation in the "haunted" first class swimming pool area.
Be warned, however, that the Queen Mary is something like Disneyland. Every corner you turn provides you with another opportunity for you to part with your cash on a tour, a souvenir or a $7 bottle of water. I spent about 12 bucks on a general tour and I thought it was well worth it, but I also thought it was about all I needed to spend on the Queen Mary.
We didn't dine on the ship, but I did enjoy a good cup of coffee in the morning.
In my opinion, it is worth checking out. I think it's a bargain to stay here - especially if you need to stay in Long Beach or that part of the LA-area. Why not stay here and take in a little history at the same time?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
kevinandlara –

Why not indeed. So glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship. A cup of coffee and stroll aboard the ship is a great way to start the morning!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,093
    2,120
    911
    367
    293
See reviews for
1,390
2,585
235
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,862)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The queen Mary hotel is a great place to stay after a long journey to LAX from UK, a bit of UK floating in LA, old world charm, excellent food and wine in the art deco bar, rooms are small but adequate considering how old they are. The ships tour is a must, lots of nostalgia.

Room Tip: the stateroom facing the harbour have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarrb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Tarb –

So glad you got a taste of the UK …in LA…and enjoyed your stay.

Hey, why don't I just go eat some hay, make things out of clay, lay by the bay? I just may! What'd ya say?

Happy Gilmore flashback....because of the rhyming. In all seriousness, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Queen Mary and we hope to see you again soon.

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
265 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed on the Queen Mary 40 years ago on our wedding night so we are decidedly biased. The old girl is still fascinating. Our room was quite large, king bed and we opted to pay for the first class with a harbor view. The bed was very comfortable. There is no air but the port holes opened and we were very comfortable. The Queen is a little worn in places but then so are we. It is really the effect of staying in a room that may have housed a movie star from the 30's and trying to get the feel of a five day cross Atlantic trip. We loved it. Yes the bed was short sheeted. I hate this but the mattress appeared to be covered by another sheet so, OK. The base of the door was worn so the light shown through. We just imagined 70 years of the porters and bell boys kicking the door closed with their foot. You have to get into the ship to fully appreciate the stay. This is an experience. more than a hotel room.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade. Think about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
CWS55 –

She does indeed! What a great place to spend your 40-year anniversary...what a great story. We’d love it if you log on to our facebook page and share your love story!

So glad you had such a great stay aboard the ship!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I got one of the "recently renovated" king deluxe rooms. The bathtub had disgusting rust stains, there was not even a box of tissues in the room, there were only two outlets, and the bed was short sheeted on the bottom so the mattress was exposed and without even a mattress cover. I had to remake the bed which was already listing to the telephone side. Definitely a "shoes only" room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
A TripAdvisor Member –

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay aboard the ship. Whenever you need anything, just call the front desk. Keep in mind the ship is 80 years old and historic in nature. We regularly keep up the maintenance of the ship…in fact, please go to our website and take a look at our preservation plan.

We do hope to see you again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Most of the two days I spent were extraordinary; there were a few glitches. As mentioned by others, the history and decoration are very interesting. I did not take a formal tour, but heard a little as I wonderI ate in the Promenade Cafe, Starbucks, and Sir Winston's. The food in the Cafe was o.k., but but overpriced with service uncoordinated and very slow. My Starbuck's chef's salad had good quality lettuce, a good amount of meat and cheese, grape tomatoes was a good value at $7.50, and of course, quick. They also had a selection of sandwiches and fruit. At Sir Winstons both the service and food are outstanding. Erika, the hostess, had an obvious commitment to making my experience as good as could be, and she succeeded I wanted to eat in the lounge while I listened to the music, and while they usually have a limited menu in there, they were more than willing to accommodate me. Jennifer Hart was singing and playing piano that evening. She sang a variety of music, from show music of the '20's to Beatle's ballads. She was great.
I think the issue of noise has to do with who is there at the time. Both nights, a Thursday and a Friday, were very restful and quiet. That particular weekend the "big conference" was a dog show, with a couple of other business things. I live in a fairly quiet condominium community, but it was quieter than it usually is on a normal Friday night. I could hear people coming and going, but I was glad for the warning that the steel does echo because I expected worse.
I had the Bed and Breakfast package, which is a good value. On the down side, the price of the breakfast initially showed upon the bill. They did fix it when brought to their attention, but it seemed like a preventable,le. mistakes that happened by sloppiness.
The room was spotsless-not an easy task considering the historical features. I had a port side outside room. I am just under 5', so I could not have really seen the ocean out the porthole. I don't think I could have taken advantage of a Harbor view room, but if you are much taller,it might be.
Overall I had a very good time and plan to go back.

Room Tip: I recommend an outside room with a porthole. If you are on the short side, I don't think the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Brenda G –

Yes we had a dog show the weekend you stayed…glad to hear the pouches were quiet and allowed you to get proper rest and enjoy your stay aboard the ship. Glad you enjoyed our dining options – Sir Winston’s is an award winning restaurant and is certainly the best restaurant we offer.

We hope to see you again aboard the ship!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I wish I could fine something positive to say. We booked a gueen bed - got a twin-sorry we can't change you out for 2days. Room has one bed and 2 chairs from a funeral home no place to sit. Thermostat in room is view only does not control a thing. You have to call desk to have maintance shut off a/c. The walls are the worst I've ever heard through, and I've stayed at some real dives. Staff is indifferent at best. All kids with no idea what running a hotel looks like. There is more but why bother they don't care and I would never go back.

I understand this hotel is owned by the city and it shows.

Room Tip: Someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Mark K –

Thank you for the feedback and yes we do care, we strive to make our guests stay the best it can be. No room is alike aboard the ship, some are classic, some are renovated, but definitely no furniture from a funeral home – but rather the two chairs from when the ship was still in use! It’s a trip back through time to see how the elite lived and traveled back during the ship’s golden era. We do offer ear plugs at the front desk to help for those that are having trouble sleeping.

The city does own the ship, but they recently brought in a new management company in Oct., 2011, that has been renovating the ship, opening new restaurants and bringing on new staff.

We hope you give us another try...if you do your next post would be called History Yes, Hotel Yes.

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Plan on spending some time exploring the ship! We arrived a little after 5pm and by the time we checked in barely made the last tour at 6pm. Wish we could've done another tour since we had to leave early the next morning! If you stay on the ship do not buy tour tickets ahead of time! We found a groupon for the haunted tour and found out it would've been cheaper if we bought the tickets at check in as hotel guests.

FYI: Parking is $17. Also there are vents between the rooms where you can literally hear a normal conversation in the room next door. There are notes from hotel management explaining this. Supposedly when the ship was a working, the engine noise would drown out exterior noise. Unfortunately the sound carries.

It was a good place to stay for one night. Would not recommend an extended stay due to the noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny10017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
carjeko

Glad you enjoyed all of the history aboard the ship. We do offer groupon discounts from time to time, but being a hotel guest is still the cheapest way to enjoy our tours and attractions aboard the ship. And buying tickets ahead of time is actually recommended – our tours do sell out and the best way to ensure you get access to a tour is to buy in advance – you can also schedule our your stay a bit better as well if you have your tours locked in!

Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Property: The Queen Mary
Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing