We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but keep in mind what it is”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good, but keep in mind what it is”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've been visiting the QUEEN MARY since 1973 and it's a lot of fun. It's been operated by several companies over the years and the current operator is handing it well. It's an ocean liner, not a cruise ship, so the walls are thin and there's little sound insulation installed, so noise can be a problem. If you want perfect silence, then go somewhere else. For more tolerant people, cabins are well appointed, and are mostly original. Get a cabin on the starboard (right) side of the ship for the best views and quietest stay, the QM is moored at the corner of the Port of Los Angeles, so there is constant noise and light from the operations at the port. Even the inner cabins are good, but they have no windows and are smaller than the outside cabins. If you can afford it, the historical suites are availible. These are rooms connected with various famous passengers and are part of the guided tour when they aren't occupied. If you've ever wanted to stay in a museum, this is for you. It's pleasent and I plan to return for another mini-vacation at the QUEEN MARY next year.

Room Tip: Ask for the starboard side, "A" or "M" decks are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,093
    2,120
    911
    367
    293
See reviews for
1,390
2,585
235
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,862)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying on The Queen Mary several times, and each one was a reunion with friends I met on the "Farewell to America" voyage of the QE2 back in October of '08. What better reunion venue for some cruise friends than Queen Mary? The ship is maintained in her original state, with the exception of some updated rooms that look like a Super 8...... stay out of those and opt for one of the original rooms, or better yet, one of their suites. Stepping into an original rooms is like entering a time machine........ you are suddenly in 1938, and your shipmate might be Clark Gable. Only a modern telephone gives it away. Everything is authentic, from the non-functioning "take a finger off" open blade fans, to the old air ducts that ventilate the room. Even the old portholes, heavy with years and years of paint, open and allow sea air in. The views on the starboard side are impressive at night, and one could imagine what it was like to pull into port onboard such a regal ship. I have sailed on QE2 and QM2, and neither of them has the art deco charm of QM. Don't miss the World Map that is high overhead in the main dining room. There is a long slot through the Atlantic Ocean where a mechanical model of the QM would sail across, noting your location between Southampton and New York City. It is a charming throwback in 1930's technology. On this last trip, my friends and I decided to do the "Ghosts and Legends" tour of the ship, since it was close to Halloween. It is a fun, albeit "cheesy", ghost story that allows you access to interesting places on the ship that you would not otherwise see, like the First Class swimming pool and the dreary, cavernous boiler room where towering boilers once stood, and the prospect of being boiled alive by steam was a very real threat to the crew. The most exciting part was in the bow section when they retell the tale of QM colliding with a escort vessel during the war, and cutting it in half. At the very moment the docent tells the tale, warning lights start flashing, and water starts gushing out of psuedo-damage to the hull. This after telling you that you're 36 feet below the water line. It was a creepy experience. The First Class swimming pool is viewed from a mezzanine, and as you look down into the empty, spooky area, a sound & light show begins, and fog slowly fills the pool as tales of a small, drowned girl are told. It gave me goosebumps!

It is fun to stroll the decks and imagine being onboard and in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean on this majestic old girl. I recommend that anyone spend the night, have a cocktail in the wonderfully "art deco" Observation Lounge, discover hidden corridors, and artifacts from the 30's, and just absorb the feeling of what it was like to travel back in the heyday of transatlantic travel, before the advent of airliners. You won't regret this marvelous experience.

Room Tip: If you are not visiting on a busy weekend or holiday, ask for a complimentary upgrade as we did. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was the 4th time I have stayed onboard The Queen Mary. As always it is a fantastic experience to be able to step back in time and see what life onboard a true ocean liner would have been like. We were upgraded to a suite with a view of Long Beach harbor. Dinner in Sir Winston's was fantastic, as always, but it is a bit pricy. The Ghost and Legends tour is cheesy but fun, You also get to see areas of the ship that are not available to the general public, such as the indoor 1st class pool.

Some of the staterooms have been "modernized" so if you want the true experience make sure you book one of the original cabins.

Room Tip: Make sure you book and ask for one of the original staterooms. Some of the "economy" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saltcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I planned our Anniversary trip 6 months in advance and almost came home just before we checked in. For those of you who don't have unlimited funds, or a high limit on a credit card, beware of the hidden hold on your debit card. $75.00 a night! Then after a tour of the ship and a trip to the bar, we were accused of smoking marijuana in our room because our window was open and it was blowing in from the smoking deck, after a thorough inspection of our room by security, fireman, and ship manager.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tollhouse, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly. My husband and I went for our wedding anniversary and were impressed with the decor. It was like being back in time. We enjoyed all the old features that were in place when the ship was operational like the water selection in the bathroom and the old fan that was non-operational. The view was really nice as we choose a room with the bay view and enjoyed the lights of the The Pike. We would definitely stay again. The only rip off was the water left in the room for almost $3 a bottle. Would like to have a few perks included like water. geez......

Room Tip: get a room with a view and definitely a window - otherwise i would think claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

When staying at a historic location, I always expect characteristics such as temperaturr issues and thin walls. my husband and I spent 1 night to celebrate our birthdays. Our $229.00 cabin was spacious and clean with fun quirky characteristics such as an original nonworking fan on the wall and old cruise ship design. The ealls are so thin I can hear every conversation and snore clearly from our neighbors cabin. Our comfortable king size bed made up for this. The cabins and halls are a confusing maze, if I was a person who drank ETOH, I would surely get lost and wander for a few hours! The nighttime viewof the harbor and Long Beach is spectacular. We enjoyed the artifacts on display, shops, and self guided tours. We took the 2300 ghost tour with a medium which was entertaining. Overall it was a unique and fun place to spend the night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was keen to stay on board this once luxury liner and i was not disappointing my cabin was of a reasonable size all very clean had no problem with noisy from any other cabin
Evening meal had to wait a long time 45 mins to be seated but staff did apologize meal was worth waiting for plenty of food and good value
Breakfast was advised to have the Continental this was very good value
The stay included a tour of the boat so you could soak up more nostalgia

Room Tip: inside cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Property: The Queen Mary
Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing