We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok”
Review of Hilton Long Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Long Beach
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed January 19, 2014

very good location but also very loud...anything on a lower floor with a "balcony" (don't try to put a chair on it!) will have no sound barrier...it feels like you are on the street...room had a musty smell and the AC didn't work properly...nice bar and the staff is friendly though

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

This Hilton in Long Beach, California is a classic 80's American hotel development design. Since the late 90's onwards, the focus was on 'boutique hotels' because everyone was kind of sick and tired of these large behemoths.

However, these behemoths gives a sense of space from large to small that smaller sized properties doesn't offer.

From the moment you drive into the driveway, either a slightly raised slope to the stubbly vibrations from the stone paved covered valet parking - there's a sense of arrival. Greeted by a large lobby space with grandeur, tall ceilings, well-lit atrium gives the breather '...Sigh! That was a long flight or drive.' of relaxation.

Only these large behemoths which still designed and constructed with lots of attention to detail by comparison to today's limited-service small properties is every inch of the construction is full of 'substance'. Don't take it out of context. I meant that from the brass railings to the glass door hinges. The large slabs of same color tone without any defects of granite or similar type as a building feature.

The sense of space from being relaxed moving into a much smaller space, but still an over-sized room (a 80's to 90's style) where you feel safe and secured as your own space. Special about this style of building is the copper toned exterior windows. In Los Angeles whether, it filters bright sunlight into a warm tone. Soothing and gradual lighting that you hardly need to turn on additional lights.

However, these behemoths are aging. From wear and tear over the highs of economic times. Many of these properties just need some tender loving care.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Everything was smooth and in order. Very convenient location to Molina headquarters and very easy access to Queen Ann and harbor. Parking easy in and out. Right on the 710 for access leaving the Hotel. Short walk to downtown and Pine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Irwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

You don't get everything you expect.
I expect to have the basic standard facilities included in the price.
One of today's standards are Wifi, you get this for fre in cheaper hotel's and restaurants but not her. You Ave to pay 10$ per day and unit. For our family it ads up to 70$ per day. This is not very much money but you would expect it for fre when you pay for two rooms.
The rooms are high standard and nice with comfortable bed's.
But you would expect a minibar for cool drinks.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Restaurang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Really clean rooms. Quiet weekend. Got plenty of rest. Front desk staff did seem a bit "new" at the job. But were helpful. They could work on more positive and energetlc demeanor. All you can eat breakfast a bit pricey but "amazing". Starbucks coffee!! We have been visiting Hilton for over 13 years now. If there is ever a probem the management is ever ready to solve it or give a comp.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hotel was poorly maintained, carpet was dingy, worn, with a musty odor, and room had peeling wallpaper, worn furniture, and needed minor repairs. Marijuana smoking appears to be allowed in the hotel because my room had to be changed due to the overwhelming smell of marijuana but the odor remained day after day and even in the parking garage. Staff just do the minimum and not at all interested in your satisfaction with your stay. Does not meet the standard of a Hilton Hotel and poor value for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I visited Long Beach for work related business and I loved the location and quality of the this hotel. Besides the restaurant where I ate breakfast which I was dissatisfied overall I enjoyed the stay. The location is walking distance from stores and dinning and a few steps from transit services.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Vi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,529 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
763 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Long Beach

Address: 701 W Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90831-3100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $125 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Long Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Long Beach Hotel and Executive Meeting Center is the perfect location for business or leisure travel, with over 40,000 sq. Ft. Of Executive meeting space and social function rooms. Located on Ocean Ave and just a few blocks from all the activities, restaurants, attractions and the Long Beach Convention Center. Rent one of our Fuji Cruisers for an enjoyable ride along the 22 mi oceanfront bike bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Long Beach And Executive Meeting Center
Hilton Long Beach & Executive Meeting Hotel Long Beach
Hilton Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing