We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty good stay, but....”
Review of Hilton Long Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Long Beach
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A pretty good stay, but....”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

An all round good stay here. Got upgraded to an executive room on the top floor, but I didn't see what was so 'executive' about it - other than having a very large room. Wi-Fi was complimentary but at times a little patchy, but not too much of a problem. Breakfast was very good - and all-round service was excellent. Just one thing - the bed and pillows weren't that comfortable. Maybe it was me, but I had just stayed in 5 hotels over the past week or so, including 3-star motor inns in country towns, and this was the least comfortable sleep I had on the whole trip.

Also was a little annoyed that no shuttle (free or paid) service to LAX is offered, especially from a 'name' chain and large venue that it is.

Green Features: Motion-sensors on the light switches were a good idea.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJCJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    383
    200
    107
    68
See reviews for
206
232
62
595
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Long Beach Hilton staff was INCREDIBLE!! They made our reunion a huge success. A few drawbacks were, free wi-fi is not offered throughout the hotel, a free continental breakfast is not included, there is no hotel shuttle to pick up or drop off at the local Long Beach Airport. If these are not an issue for you, I would not recommend staying anywhere else, but here. The hotel is beautiful, staff accommodating, food delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank saucefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff were terrific, vety helpful and accommodating and the room was spacious, clean and quiet, but the internet connection was abysmal - I couldn't even get a quick email check as it kept cutting out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This Hilton has all that you would expect from a Hilton in terms of cleanliness, comfort, updated décor, etc. but be forewarned... depending on the way you book and the room cost you may or may not get a complimentary breakfast or internet access in your room. They also charge $17 dollars a day for self-parking, more for valet. And, while we were there, there was a sort of strike going on in front of the Hilton... apparently, they don't pay some of their employees very well.

Green Features: If you choose to not have them come in and service your room and bring clean towels each day, they will offer a $5 coupon for food in the restaurant. For this to make sense you need to be staying more than one day and eating in the restaurant (good food but pricey).
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodybetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I contracted the Long Beach Hilton for a group on July 4th 2013 the night prior to my wedding, which was held on a cruise ship in Long Beach. We booked ~20 rooms.

The property is well kept & the staff very friendly. Upon arrival, we did have to wait for a bellman but it was a busy/sold out day so that was understandable. I had booked 2 of the 20 rooms for my family. When we checked in around noon, both rooms were ready & my fiance & I had been upgraded to a wonderful suite with a large patio. My brother was also upgraded to a large balcony which was a nice surprise for his teen daughters who could lay out in the sun.

The rooms were spotless with plenty of space for all of our wedding gear & attire. We enjoyed time at the pool that afternoon to meet & greet with family & friends as they traveled in. In the evening we were able to host many of our friends on our balcony to enjoy views of several fireworks shows all over long beach. The views were amazing!

The following morning the hotel shuttle made several trips to ensure all of our guests arrived at the port on time.

The only minor inconvenience was the elevators. One of them was being worked on when we arrived, which is fine - but the maint. guy did not turn off the elevator, so every time the call button was pushed only the one he was working on would open. We had to just get lucky & wait for another elevator to arrive at that floor in order to board. I've never seen the maint. guy decide not to turn off the call ability when working on one car.

I can not recomend this hotel enough for groups! Friendly staff, proximity to the port, cleanliness and just an overall relaxed feeling.

Many thanks to the Hilton Long Beach staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cascole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had a family reunion at the Long Beach Hilton, and although the staff was pleasant, I had a less than pleasant stay. My room window faced a wall, so it was dark. I could have asked for a different room, so I will place that blame on myself. My girlfriend went to take a bath, and the water came up brown, of which we alerted the staff, but never knew what the cause was. I would advise anyone before booking to ask what are all the hidden fees are such as self parking, tourism assessment, occupancy tax, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamont, California
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The check in was great. We arrive early without notice taking a chance at our room not bing ready and they were great about it checked us right in. The only compaint is that they don't offer free wifi in your room but it's free in the lobby. Will come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deleon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#4 of 57 in Long Beach
2,344 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 57 in Long Beach
6,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.5 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#6 of 57 in Long Beach
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Long Beach

Property: Hilton Long Beach
Address: 701 West Ocean Boulevard, Long Beach, CA 90831-3100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Long Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Long Beach Hotel and Executive Meeting Center is the perfect location for business or leisure travel, with over 40,000 sq. Ft. Of Executive meeting space and social function rooms. Located on Ocean Ave and just a few blocks from all the activities, restaurants, attractions and the Long Beach Convention Center. Rent one of our Fuji Cruisers for an enjoyable ride along the 22 mi oceanfront bike bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Long Beach And Executive Meeting Center
Hilton Long Beach & Executive Meeting Hotel Long Beach
Hilton Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing