We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Looks great outside & in lobby but inside, outdated room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Me and my family stayed here for one night. When we drove up we thought, wow this place looks great! The staff at the front counter were extremely professional, friendly and helpful with advice on what to see in the city and directions! When we got into our room, though, we were somewhat disappointed. The room itself was shaped like a triangle which was weird. It overlooked the pool (nice) but everything about it seemed outdated and very used. The bedspreads, the carpet, the chairs, the t.v., and even the tiles in the bathroom. The cleanliness was average, but you'd think they'd do more to remodel the rooms to match the grand look of the outside and lobby! It being so hot in that area too, they should've done more to make sure the air conditioning was in working condition. They also charge for parking which I've always thought is ridiculous and should already be included! Oh, and their business center charges you to use the computers when it should've been complimentary. For location alone, I'd say go for it, but if you're looking for modern accomodations, this is not the place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsyrunaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,311 - 2,317 of 2,614 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2009

This is not the fanciest hotel, but it is nice, clean, comfortable, with great service and good location. We stayed here last summer and when there was another family event in the area, we were happy to return. Great weekend rates (primarily a business hotel during the week). Rooms on both sides have ocean view, easy to walk to waterfront, convention center, aquarium, Queen Mary, restaurants, etc. Concierge helped me find a place to have my nails done nearby, and directed us to In-n-Out Burger. Only disappointment is the high price of parking at the hotel - $16 each night.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank VAbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed in the Hyatt Regency Long Beach as the second part of our US two centre holiday in April 2009. It was not our first choice of hotel, having chosen it quickly as an alternative hotel with the Virgin Holidays rep on the phone as our first choice was not available however, we enjoyed our stay, once we had resolved our room issues. We had intended to check into this hotel late in the afternoon, after a drive from Las Vegas however, as often happens on holiday, things didn't go to plan and following a few stops to outlet malls (Ontario Mills - Abercrombie Outlet shop here!!) we ended up checking in at 11.30pm. As you can appreciate, we were of course very tired (from both the driving and the shopping) and were looking forward to falling straight into bed. On checking in it appeared there was a problem with the room in that the double we had requested was not available and we had been allocated a twin bed room on the ground floor. According to the Desk, the guests in our allocated room had extended for an extra night therefore we had been allocated a twin room instead - the other half works in the hotel trade therefore we knew what had really happened, they had assumed we were a no show and had given our room to someone else!! Having argued a free breakfast for the next day, we accepted the ground floor room (overlooking a swamp???) and were told to come back tomorrow at lunchtime to see if we could change rooms.

The following morning our Virgin Holidays rep phoned to check we had arrived safely and to check we were happy. Following our complaints about the room, they said they would resolve it and within 10 minutes had a call from the Hotel Manager promising us a double room and to ensure we didn't waste one of the four days we had in LA, if we left our bags packed, they would ensure they were transferred to our new room. When we came back from a day in LA we were very pleased to have a corner room on the 8th floor with beautiful views across the harbour and the Queen Mary.

The hotel facilities are just what you need for a "base" hotel. Pool and gyn room not the biggest but we were out everyday doing either theme parks or shopping and eating so didn't use these facilites. The location is what sets this hotel apart, it is right on the harbour front with plenty of restaurants and bars right on it's doorstep but not close enough to cause a nuisance. Long Beach is a great resort, we felt safe walking about, even when we were coming home late from a bar or after dinner and we will be staying here again next May.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packardbellboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed here on our final leg of our holiday for 4 nights.
The hotel had a more business type of feel to it than our previous accomodation. [ Handlery in San Francisco and Luxor in Vegas, reviews on site ] Being next to the Long Beach conference centre there was a lot of people staying here just for that reason. This however did not detract from our enjoyment whilst staying here.
The check in was efficent and the receptionists were very pleasant and helpful.
Our room was on the 11th floor which gave us great views. On the whole it was a clean, comfortable room with everthing that you need available.
The lobby had a large open plan space with a nice coffe shop, bar and general shop incorporated into it.
Even though the pool area doesn't look much from the outside it is actually a very nice area with comfy sun loungers/chairs, towels provided and the pool was lovely and clean.
Without a shadow of a doubt the no1 claim for this hotel is the location it is in. Excellent spot for the marina, shops, metro,restaurants and bars.
When it was time to head back to the airport we ordered a car through the concierge which proved to be a great choice as a nice driver with a fab Lincoln automobile arrived for us at a good price.
All in all a fantastic time was had at Long Beach and we wouldn't hesitate to return and if this hotel was available again we would stay here

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the2KsPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

The location of this hotel was the reason we reserved the rooms. We were a group of extended family traveling from different parts of the country, and specifically asked for early check in. Arriving at the hotel around noon, we were told one room would be ready soon and to go walk around the marina. My brother was traveling with a 2 year old and infant, so it was decided he would get the first room that was ready. To make a very long story short, we didn't get checked into our rooms until 6pm. The first room they offered didn't have a bathtub, and traveling with small children this is necessary. Also we had reserved a harbor view room, and the room had a view of the convention center roof. The second room offered was occupied when we opened the door. Finally with a screaming, overtired toddler in front of the reception desk did the hotel staff understand that we needed access to at least one of the three rooms we had reserved.

There were 3 weddings going on at the hotel the first night of our stay--our room was directly across from one of the larger suites, where a loud party was going on until after 1 am. Hotel staff were coming and going from the room with trays of drinks, and had propped the door with the security latch, which caused loud banging every few minutes and disrupted our sleep. Also, a band was playing outside until around 11pm. Not very relaxing.

Hotel housekeeping seemed to feel that leaving 2 towels and no washcloths or soap in our room was standard. We had to call nightly for these items, and then tip the hotel staff...

We had a fire emergency during our stay as well. When we exited our room, the hallway was full of marijuana smoke and we started to walk down the stairs since the fire doors were closed. We were on the 17th floor. At the 10th floor, the group of hotel guests were stopped by hotel security and told we could return to our rooms as it was a "false alarm".

Overall, the hotel has a great location for access to Long Beach harbor. It could use some lessons on customer service. Maybe with all the convention traffic the hotel gets, they just do not care. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertdad67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Long Beach for business. It was a great location in downtown Long Beach, but the hotel is a bit dated and needs an upgrade. Bed was uncomforable and room service left food in the hall all day from the previous guest. I would stay here only if you got a good deal.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wr943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

This hotel was fantastic and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our room had a beautiful view of the Queen Mary so it was a delight to return to our room either during the day or at night. Excellent location, right near Shoreline Village and The Pike so there are plenty of restaurants to try within walking distance. All the hotel amenities were excellent, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firequeen1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.7 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
6,591 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
1,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Long Beach

Address: 200 S Pine Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-4537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $181 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with water views from rooms. Walking distance to 100 shops and restaurants, Aquarium of the Pacific. Centrally located for easy travel to Southern California attractions (Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, Universal Studios). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Hyatt Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing