We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed here for three nights during a business conference and was so pleased. The room was spacious and beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was amazing! I highly recommend the eggs Benedict and the seafood Fusilli. The room service attendants were happy to let me order from the restaurant menu. Easy walk to the convention center.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echolaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    725
    296
    103
    56
See reviews for
443
496
100
967
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
171 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed again here before a cruise. Another great stay! Wan as the concierge in the lounge was fabulous. Also Terrance at the front desk. Room, location, staff, cleanliness, all were faultless. As a Diamond member I am now extremely loyal to Hyatt.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longtimeresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights post cruise. We had an excellent room with double aspect views.
The staff were all very helpful.
Its a great location next to a conference center with a park next nearby and views of The Queen Mary.
Long Beach is very walkable with lots to see on the waterfont and downtown.
There's a free shuttle bus and its only a short walk to downtown. Its easy to get into downtown L.A. using the train (metro) which stops at the end of the road. $1.50 per journey or $5 for a day pass. Excellent way to see the sights without bothering with a car.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertiebuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
102 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Hyatt Hotel in Long Beach, CA is well located in Long Beach, particularly if you are in need of doing business in Long Beach as the hotel is literally attached to the Convention Centre, is centrally located in Long Beach and is close to a multiplex cinema and a fair number of restaurants.

The hotel is quite large, clean and appears well kept and the staff here is amazingly helpful, professional and courteous.

Now for the areas that are in need of dramatic improvement:

The bed that we slept in was fine, however it was made very uncomfortable with an underlining cloth liner of some sort that wrinkled and once wrinkled these wrinkles would become increasingly uncomfortable during the night as we tried to sleep. This is certainly something that can easily be corrected and hopefully will be soon.

The thermostat in the room was also very awkward and was extremely difficult to operate and not the intuitive unit that one might expect. Instead we had a complicated system that was difficult to control and one which made the room, at times, unbearably cold.

The swimming pool was appreciated although somewhat small, however the gym was incredibly small for a hotel of this size and was often well used, even as early as 6AM. Unfortunately this very small gym had essentially no room to lay down and stretch and the entire gym seems to have been an afterthought as opposed to a well-designed gym. Certainly a hotel of this size, particularly one with a huge lobby, could allocate far more room, which is desperately needed, to its fitness centre.

Our room also had a small fridge, however our unit had black mould in it and was soon cold that it froze all of our food. Again, this is something that should be operating properly and something which will hopefully soon be fixed so that the next guests can actually make use of it.

All in all, a decent hotel, with need of improvement.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimboBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

my boyfriend and I checked in Monday night and only stayed there for the night . we came to long beach for business and pleasure. the room was very clean, smoke free, everything is up to date and to have Wi-Fi it costs you along with your basic amenities and if you forgot to pack any item the hotel will happily provide it (with a FEE of course).

we had the room in the 6th floor so the view at night was wonderful since we were looking over the water scenery. my birthday was on Tuesday (3/25) so looking for a place to eat was a easy and walking distance as well . we had dinner at the Tokyo wako for sushi and drinks (food was delicious).

my boyfriend travels a lot to long beach for work so Hyatt was a perfect hotel to be near the restaurants and shops when I get bored.

I will definitely come back. loved my experience with the Hyatt hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Portilloperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Spent 3 nights here on business and it is a good Hotel in a great location with decent facilities.

The Hotel overlooks the harbour area which has a good variety of shops and restaurants.

My room was spacious with a large smart TV, well appointed bathroom and good storage space.
Only let downs were black (mascara?) stains on the carpet and a drawer that wouldn't close.

My room faced the rear of the property over the man-made lagoon area, which offered beautiful sunrises.

I used room service once and was given a time by which I should receive my food - which was only about 25 minutes - and they beat this comfortably. Food was good, as was the glass of merlot!

The lobby is enormous and has it's own bar and coffee shop, which is very handy if you want a coffee and quick bite for breakfast.

The pool area is pleasant enough but faces the busy main road between the Hotel and harbour. That said, it's quite nice to have some decent outside space in a business Hotel. However, I didn't see any poolside service in the time I had there - you had to go to the lobby bar to order your drink in a plastic vessel and return via an escalator to the pool level

Wifi costs about $10 per 24 hours in room but is free anywhere in the lobby/bar areas.

On my last day I left my luggage with the Concierge and booked what I thought was a taxi for my return trip to the airport. When it was time to leave, I was escorted to a black Lincoln, which was nice and spacious in the back, all for the same price of a taxi. Nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dormy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illoinois
Level Contributor
354 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The rooms are large, and with some very nice amenities (and clean as well). The desk is quite large, with plenty of easy to reach outlets and jacks for different connecting devices. But there are real oddities for a top-class hotel. One is no bathrobe in the rooms; given that they have a pool, one would like a bathrobe to go to and from said pool. Another lack is shower caps. And yet another is a magnifying mirror in the bathroom - not essential, but in my view a regular part of a top-drawer hotel. Service around lunch time in the hotel restaurant (Tides) was extraordinarily slow, the menu rather narrow but the food very good. Overall this is a comfortable hotel with nice, spacious rooms, but just a few notches short of being the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Long Beach

Property: Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Address: 200 S Pine Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-4537
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with water views from rooms. Walking distance to 100 shops and restaurants, Aquarium of the Pacific. Centrally located for easy travel to Southern California attractions (Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, Universal Studios). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Hyatt Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing