We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for Convention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay for Convention”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I travel a lot, but usually don't try to spend a lot on hotels. Well this place was partially paid for by the group I was there with for a convention so I was able to stay there. The room and hotel over all was outstanding.

The hotel was spotless inside and the rooms were newly renovated with some very nice furniture. The bed might have been the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in and I even went through finding out what the mattress was so I could buy one for home. The Staff was extremely nice and made everything very simple.

They had a nice coffee shop and restaurant, but with the funds I was there on I really couldn’t afford what they had to offer. Also the garage was a little expensive for me for parking, but that is what you pay in California I guess. And fortunately we had Wi-Fi for free for our group, but having to pay for that on the side would have been a pain as well. The pool area was very nice as well including a fire pit that was going at night.

The location was wonderful being right across the street from the boardwalk and other attractions and it was literally connected to the convention center on the other side. This really was a perfect hotel if you are having a conference of any type.

I really have no complaints from my stay there and was very happy and would stay there again if I ever return to Long Beach.

Room Tip: Higher rooms especially on the lagoon side have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chase5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in Long Beach. Please come see us again should your travels bring you back to Long Beach.

Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    767
    307
    110
    60
See reviews for
480
523
103
1,025
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

After a real long flight, I was eager to get to my hotel and get settled in for the event I was attending at the LB Convention Center. We were greeted by a very friendly front desk staff, and were checked into our rooms very quickly and professionally. My initial impression of the room was very, very favorable... while they are not the biggest rooms I have stayed in (especially in a 5 star hotel), they were very well laid out, and meet every one of my needs. The bed was very comfortable (not too hard or too soft), and the tables, chair, desk, and sofa were all very strategically placed in the room. Traveling with more that one electronic device, I really appreciated the built in wall unit, that had USB charging ports, and both wireless and wired Internet access. On top of all the nice amenities, the room was very clean and well serviced. Oh, did I mention the view? I had a room on the ninth floor, and the Long Beach Harbor View is fantastic.

Without getting a booked deal through one of the internet hotel sites, or getting a break on the room through a booked event (like I did), this would be a pricey hotel room. But with all the deals on the internet, you should be able to get a decent rate. My experience indicated that the room was a great value - I would recommend this to anyone, and will return to the hotel if I am ever back in Long Beach.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
David,

Thank you for your recent review, we very much appreciate your feedback about your stay. We hope to have you visit again soon when your travels bring you to Long Beach.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here for the TED conference this year (2013). Because I was a speaker, the conference put me up in a King Suite, which I expected to be pretty plush. The room was nice enough, but the sound-proofing is pretty bad. There are double doors connecting to the two adjoining rooms, and these doors are not soundproof. Because the bed is against a common wall, with the double doors near the bed, you hear everything from the room next door. Not at all what I'd expect from a high-end hotel. While the room was quite large, the bathroom was cramped. The house-keeping staff forgot to clean our room 2 of the 5 days were were there. Pretty loose. The view of the harbor is nothing to get excited about. Lots of cranes, basically. If it were my money, I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dudeinhammock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about your experience in our guest rooms. We have passed this feedback to our Housekeeping Department to prevent future occurrences.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

During a conference, I was placed in a ground-level room adjacent to the "lagoon". This would have been fine with me if the two motorized shade/blind covers had met together in the middle or blocked the view from the sides from the walkway outside, and yes, I mean while sleeping.

This was a a great place to stay overall since it was connected to the convention center where my conference was taking place and there was a walkway over a busy city street to area restaurants. Many other restaurants were available in a short walk along the street bordering the hotel.

The room was large and comfortable, but if staying here again I would definitely ask to be placed on an upper floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nawlinsdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback about your view.

Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were both surprised & disappointed with the size of our room. Especially the size of the bathroom, there was only a single sink. It would be nearly impossible for two people to get ready at the same time.
It was a miserable day weather wise the weekend we stayed. It was raining & cold, so rather than venture out we decided to eat at one of the Restaurants inside the Hotel. Well, they only have one. The wait was going to be way over an hour since it seems everyone in the Hotel had the same Idea. The only other place in the Hotel to get anything to eat was the bar.
The location of the Hotel is great, but the amenities are not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Donald,

Thank you for you review, we very much appreciate your feedback about your recent stay and apologize for any inconvenience during your dining experiences.

Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have stayed here 10-12 nights per year since, and including, opening night in 1982, I think. Hotel is in overall great shape considering the age. Front desk staff have always been a challenge at this location, and this is still true. Nothing major, assigned wrong bed type, remedied with a call to management, but lied to by front desk. The hostess of the Regency Club in the evenings is a major highlight, and while all of the "old" valet and bell staff have now retired, the new generation is excellent. No room service from 11AM to 5PM is tragic for a convention attendee wanting an hour escape, but at least these days there are many eateries nearby.
Overall a good choice, especially for an event at the convention center next door.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the harbor, Queen Mary, aquarium, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2y2r2onot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your feedback and have passed it on to our Food and Beverage Team to review. Thank you for your continued partnership over the years, we very much appreciate it.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip and was very impressed with the property. Just steps away from the Long Beach Convention Center and a great view of the harbor and the Queen Mary. Just a short walk to restaurants and shopping. Very convenient off of the highway. Totally love the motion sensor lights at floor level. If there was a remodel recently it sure shows as this is a fabulous property. Parking is only steps away - valet is available. There wasn't one staff member I interacted with that was other than pleasant and helpful. Coffee stand in the lobby is very convenient. The bed is super comfortable and the room itself is very spacious. The bathroom is a good size with a lot of counter space.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room on a high floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountessCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for your review about your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience and our new room product. We hope to have you stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Long Beach.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Long Beach

Property: Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Address: 200 S Pine Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-4537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with water views from rooms. Walking distance to 100 shops and restaurants, Aquarium of the Pacific. Centrally located for easy travel to Southern California attractions (Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, Universal Studios). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Hyatt Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing