We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for work and play”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury Park
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location for work and play”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel is perfectly located for work and play. I stayed here on business and it was right next to the Long Beach Convention Center, where my work days were spent. In the evening it was just a quick walk to the Shoreline shops and restaurants. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The amenities such as soaps, lotion and shampoos were very nice and smelled great. There were a few things that I have come to expect from the hotels I stay at and which were obviously missing from this one. First, there are no safes in the rooms. As a business or leisure traveler I like to be able to lock up valuables without making a trip to the front desk. There was also no refrigerator in the room. I understand that a mini-bar may not be practical but I would like a place to store a cool drink or leftovers from a nice restaurant, especially as a business traveler. All in all a nice, clean place to stay in the heart of all the activities in Long Beach.

Room Tip: Ask if a harbor view room is available when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SgtWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRLongBeach, Hotel Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We are glad you were able to take advantage of Shoreline Village and enjoyed our in room amenities. We are excited to announce that as part of our guest room renovation we will be adding in room safes. We look forward to having you visit us again for business or pleasure.

Thank you,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    725
    296
    103
    56
See reviews for
443
496
100
967
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel was just fine for its purpose, a business trip. The rooms were small and the bathroom had rust stains around the sink. The service was very good, the people were very willing to go out of their way to help us. Management needs to reevaluate the hours of the coffee shop (would close "when they slowed down") and the hours of the Regency Club Room as well. If customers are the first priority, they shouldn't have to rush a breakfast in the Regency Club before 9am.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureWriterMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRLongBeach, Hotel Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback, your comments are very important to us. Your comments about Perks and Regency Club have been passed on to your Food & Beverage Director to review. We are delighted to announce that we will be undergoing a full guest room renovation this fall and invite you back to experience a new product.

Thank you,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here for a business trip and convention. If you are attending anything at the convention center this is the hotel. It's literally steps from one to the other. Great proximity to the marina area with restaurants, etc. Hotel staff and service is always top notch. Hotel starting to look like it could use a rennovation and ironically they were starting to do some measurements for some upcoming work so hopefully a rennovation/update of carpeting, etc. is in the works. Overall a really good property and one I would highly recommend. I would stay here again. The view from the hotel rooms alone is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Good location for attractions, restaurants and bars. Pool lovely and staff really helpful. Near to main freeways so the rest of Los Angeles accessible. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I stayed at the Hyatt because it’s connected to the Long Beach Convention Center, where I was attending a conference. However, it is not a business-friendly hotel. I had to pay for wi-fi, and pretty high rates at that. And you have to pay for internet time, computer time, and printing per page in the “business center”! Outrageous! I’ve never been so nickeled and dimed! The room was certainly nothing special. A little worn, a little small, not special amenities, yet it charged like a luxury hotel. Checkout is 10AM if you aren’t a Hyatt club member, which is fairly inconvenient if you have a later flight after a conference. The only good thing I can say is maybe it’s an OK place for a wedding or a family trip (although, why would you vacation in Long Beach?). The view of the waterfront was nice, but not worth nearly $300 a night – and that was the “conference” rate!

Room Tip: Waterfront view is nice, but maybe not worth the price unless you're in the room a whole lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DsGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRLongBeach, Rooms Executive at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that you were told to check out at 10am, as hotel check out is at noon, and encourage guest to leave luggage with our bell men should they have later flights. We are excited to announce that the hotel will be undergoing a full guest room renovation this fall. We invite you back to experience our new contemporary product. Please reach out to me directly so I can further recover your experience.

Thank you,
Michael A.
Rooms Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed in this Long Beach Hyatt because of its proximity to the Long Beach Marina. Hotel was Ok, nothing special, but what was annoying was the difficulty with the card key system. Card codes seem to last a couple of hours at best. same for my wife. with long lines at the registration it became a big hassle..sometimes they'd just tell us to wait by our room for someone to come up, which then didn't happen. Stayed at many hotels since without a card key issue!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PSII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRLongBeach, Hotel Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry you had some complications with your guest room key I know that can be frustrating. Sometimes the cards can de-magnetize however, we are looking further into this to prevent future occurrences. We would like to invite you and your wife back to visit us after we complete our full guest room renovation next spring so you can experience our new product.

Thank you,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Hyatt Long Beach is an excellent Hyatt. It is right across from the waterfront, surrounded on 2 sides by 3 shopping centers, many restaurents and entertainment sites. Immediately next door to the convention center within 2-3 minutes walk. The hotel itself is big, bright and clean. Rooms are large with full view of the ocean, waterfront malls, harbour, sailing ships, light house, bridge, Queen Mary, floating islands, sunset and distant mountains. The only regret is the window is waist-high, you have to stand to see the view. Elevator is fast and not crowded. Sometimes there are a lot of people but never felt crowded and never noisy.

Hotel is 2 blocks from a part of Long Beach with many more restaurants and shops, which are always packed with hundreds sitting at the sidewalk tables. The shops seem more lower range of stores. It is also within 10-20 minutes driving to nearby small towns along the coast with even more shops and restauranrts.

There is only one restaurant at the hotel, we ate there several times in the 2 years we stayed here, unfortunately service is always very slow and poor, waiters are unusually poorly trained, rarely we run into such bad servers in any restaurants, we waited up to 15 minutes with no one in sight, happened many times, they forgot things, always made some mistakes, they disapear for long period of time, food is very slow, even when there were only 3 or 4 customers, but food quality is good. Similar slow service at the bar. We try to avoid it but sometimes we just did not feel like walking across the street to other places. Our company takes up many rooms, all had same experience at the restaurant. Very odd for such a wonderful hotel.

We stay here once a year, always at Club level. The club lounge is the best part of this Hyatt, exceptional quality of foods served at breakfast and evening. Very friendly and professional lady at the lounge. One of the best among Hyatt properties. Front desk is fast and efficient but not exactly friendly, they don't smile and don't try to pretend to be nice, not rude, but that is okay, you only see them once or twice when check in and out, nothing to complain about, but wonder why, isn't that basic training? A simple smile is magical.

We are business travelers, and for sure will be back next and every year, our top and only choice in Long Beach.

Room Tip: Club Lounge is great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacJourney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRLongBeach, Hotel Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay in March. Thank you for your feedback about our restaurant and Regency Club lounge food. Your kind works have been passed on to our Culinary Team. We will be addressing some concerns you mentioned about our wait staff. We know you have many options and appreciate your support of Hyatt. We look forward to having you visit again next year.
Thank you,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Long Beach

Property: Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Address: 200 S Pine Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-4537
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with water views from rooms. Walking distance to 100 shops and restaurants, Aquarium of the Pacific. Centrally located for easy travel to Southern California attractions (Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, Universal Studios). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Hyatt Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing