We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spacious rooms with amazingly comfortable beds!”
Review of Hotel Current

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Current
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 6, 2010

When I travel to Long Beach the front desk staff always welcomes me with superb service in a beautiful lobby. The newly remodeled rooms are modern and spacious with incredible beds that include lots of pillows. In the morning, my favorite in the breakfast room are the freshly made waffles. On the negative, it is sometimes difficult to find parking close to my room when I check in late (but that's around 11:00pm) and they do not have a gym on site. But I'd definitely recommend this hotel--where I stay each time I'm in Long Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 462 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2010

We arrived the night before our cruise and were very happy that we chose this hotel. I had requested a refurbished room ahead of time and was given one overlooking the pool. The grounds are very tropical around the pool and the pool area is very clean with nice chairs and cabanas around. The pool was heated and was pretty warm considering it was November. There is an on site restaurant but from what I had read it was $30+ per person and my family of 4 didn't want to plop down $120 for a meal at that point. We walked less than a half a block down the street from the hotel to Di Piazza. It is in a little strip mall just down the street. MAYBE a 4 minute walk. It is a very querky little pizza joint that serves a little of everything. We had a pizza that was good, a bacon cheesebuger that was good, a savory chicken salad that was really good, and some $3 draft beers. They had live bands playing the night we were there.

The rooms were very updated and modern. Not the largest room I have been in, and the beds are doubles rather than queens, but it was very comfortable for the 4 of us.

They shuttle you to the pier and let you keep your car there the entire week. It was $115 to park at the pier for the week, and we paid $119 for the room AND parking. No brainer.

They give you access to a health club that is about a half mile down the road. The shuttle bus will also drop you off there. It is a full service place. Swimming pool, several levels, full locker room facilities etc. You can use this FREE for one day. I went down there to run a bit on the treadmill. It was VERY hot on the third floor where these machines were. Had to quit after a couple of miles. I elected to just run back to the hotel rather than call for the shuttle.

We were on the Carnival Splendor that was stranded out at sea so we arrived on Thursday rather than our planned Sunday, but the shuttle was very quick to arrive anyway. (the cruise is a whole other story!.....ha ha...actually, Carnival did a good job with what they had to work with) Drivers both to and from the pier were very nice.

I don't know what the "old" rooms look like, but there are still some that are not refurbished according to the front desk. I would ask for a refurbished room when making the reservation.

There is a golf course across the street. Didn't look like anything fancy, kind of your typical public course.

If you plan on taking a cruise out of Long Beach, I totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank govikesBABY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We have stayed at this place two times. The first time was a year ago and the differance between then and now is remarkable. The staff was very helpful and pleasent. The remodeling has made a great differance. The price was very right. We were going on a cruise for seven days and we were allowed to leave our car parked on site and provided a shuttle service to and from the cruise terminal. The drivers were very efficent and pleasent. The pool was clean and sparkeling. The resturant on site seems quite popular with local patrons. Am planning to go back there the next cruise out of Long Beach or San Pedro.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hgr6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

The lobby at this hotel is chic and beautiful. The pool is nice and the lounge area is great! I got my bags and started walking toward my room and I was greeted by Wayne, the manager, whom escorted me to my room. He made sure the room was to my liking and told me to call the lobby if I needed anything. Excellent service and hospitality. The King Sized bed was super comfy! The bathroom was luxurious, everything about our stay was perfect. Great service, price, location, amenities. Will definately be staying here again and recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nightmarelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Current in the standard room for 85 dollars a night. Nice check in and front desk area, but the room barely met minimum expectations. AC/heating unit was annoying as it blew right over the bed. It was difficult to adjust the temperature so it constantly blew. Mattress was uncomfortable and too firm. Bathroom was adequate with clean interior. There was ample parking. I would give this hotel a solid "C+."

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 32911Relaxing61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We have stayed at the Hotel Current (formerly The Guest House) several times. We have enjoyed every visit. This visit we were especially pleased with the newly remodeled rooms.

I do have one suggestion - a waste paper basket needs to be placed in the bathroom. This is the first hotel that we have stayed in that did not have a waste basket in the bathroom. I think that a hotel should look at it from a repair stand point. If you do not have a waste basket in the bathroom, it is my feeling that you will more likely have a higher rate in plumbing repairs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPudas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

My company recently signed up with this hotel. They are currently going under renovation. The place is definitely making it's way to the top. Front desk staffs are amazing including Lisa and John. They both helped me throughout my stays. Made everything easy and relaxing. Highly recommended to anyone is traveling on business or vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJNO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,299 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
4.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,284 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Address: 5325 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804-4441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $151 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing