We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want Dirty Feet stay here”
Review of Hotel Current

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Current
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenix, AZ
18
Reviewed July 11, 2004

We were not expecting much having limited hotel choices in the area due to the Olympic Trials in town. The one thing however that really got to me were the carpets. I gave my two year old son a bath and then within minutes of him running around on the carpets his feet were black! That just really grossed me out, since I knew I had him sparkling clean just minutes before. I would not stay here again unless I was desperate. On a positive note however the pool area was really nice.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 470 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
431
Reviewed March 11, 2004

I stayed at this 'hotel' just because I got a priceline win, and I didn't have a choice. As I got off the 710 and headed south on the PCH, I grew more and more scared as to what I was going to encounter. If you know where I am talking about, you'll know what I mean. I mean this place is GHETTO and I was so scared. I was like, if this place is anything like whats around here, I am just going to go stay somewhere else even though I already paid for it. Long Beach, except for the downtown area, is really nasty in general and I would never stay there unless I had to. As I continued along the PCH (and it takes FOREVER from the 710 by the way) it got a little better and I finally found the hotel. From the outside, it is not all that bad. I usually only stay at 4 star hotels though, so I wasnt expecting much. The service at the front desk was not that great and the first room I was given was horrible. It was supposed to be nonsmoking and it reaked like smoke. I couldnt even breathe, and it was very small, dark and dirty. I was thinking I just cant stay here, so I went back up and told them. After a lot of clicking (and no apolagy, of course), I was given an 'upgrade' to their castle room because it was all that was left. This room was much better, but not great. It had a very old jacuzzi tub, small bathroom, and average size room with a small balcony overlooking the PCH and a golf course. I felt a little better about this room, although I was still a little creeped out with the open halls and everything.
Plus it was very dirty. My pet peeve is getting your feet dirty by walking around on the carpet, which is what happened. gross!! The 2 pluses of the hotel is the free breakfast, which I didnt go to but it looked OK when I checked out, and the free transportation within 5 miles. I was going to an even on the Queen Mary and really didnt want to drive all the way there after battling traffic for 30 minutes on the PCH after I got off of the 710, so it was really nice to have someone drive us and let us know where not to go in LB as well haha. He was very nice. Of course, you should tip. They also pick up. Anyway, my next night I stayed at the Wesin in Long Beach which was SO much nicer and I was so glad to be there. I would have stayed there both nights but they didnt have enough rooms. Anyway, I would only stay there if you really have to. Otherwise, stay at the Westin or even the Rennisance or Hilton dowtown.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento, CA
111
Reviewed September 25, 2003

We've stayed here a couple of times in the past year (budget priced), but there always seems to be some little thing that's wrong or not working. Even though they have done some remodeling, the rooms are not that clean. After walking on the carpet in my bare feet, my feet were filthy. It's cleaner walking on asphalt. I'm not so sure when the bedspreads were last laundered either. Location is good and so is the pool. Next time, I'll try another hotel.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Fabrizio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dnath1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Elle me paraissent toutes bien.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vdum0uli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chiedere nei 3 lati lontano dalla strada
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marcoitaly64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
6,417 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
922 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,320 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Address: 5325 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804-4441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $154 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing