We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool little boutique hotel right in the the middle of long beach”
Review of Hotel Current

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Current
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms were very comfy. Got lucky enough to get and upgrade to a jacuzzi room which I took full advantage of. The pool was nice and empty whenever my wife and I used it. It was closed for maintenance on one of the days I was there which was disappointing but there were notices up at least. Being a Pet friendly hotel was one of the draws as we did bring our dog with us. All the staff we met were friendly too. It's not all that close to the beach but it wasn't too far from long beach airport. They have a shuttle too, which took us to the Queen Mary. Pretty good value for the money. I would most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minivanhighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Current
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 461 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was Looking for a hotel close to the long Beach University because of a tournament. I Had a great stay in this Hotel, for 6 days and It was really nice. The Staff was very helpful at the front desk, I ordered some stuffs in the internet and sent to the hotel, they received the packages and gave to me without any costs. The breakfast is excellent, with fruits, cereals, coffee, milk and waffles. The room is clean and nice with two king size comfortable beds. The bathroom looks very nice with a big hot shower. I didn´t like the parking lot, although it had lot of space, the parking slots were small. Overall, I would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murilo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed there for 2 weeks and did not a full night of sleep. Always banging of door, do not stay on ground floor rooms!! Then the housekeeping crew will throw everything while cleaning. I was so nervous always with all that noise. Did not like it sorry!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lago1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice clean "green" hotel. Shuttle service to the Long Beach Convention Center was very convenient. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. It would have been nice to have more electrical outlets. The rain shower was strange and made it difficult to shower without your head getting wet!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank healthguru07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful find. It is conveniently located on highway 1 - the Pacific Coast Highway (PCH) - and does a good job creating a welcoming feel and providing a comfortable stay. The pool area was a comfortable place to lounge, and the beds were very comfortable. The lobby staff was welcoming and helpful.

They run specials that made the stay very reasonably priced for the area. Good breakfast, and the area was well maintained by the staff, even when it was very busy.

The parking lot is a little small, but it was fine for most vehicles. The entrance from the PCH is a little hard to see, so be careful approaching the first time. We'd like it to be a little more walkable, but the hotel really doesn't have any control over that.

Room Tip: The "golf view rooms" face highway 1 - the golf course is across the street... 6 lanes of...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_go_lucky_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We needed a place for the night since we were taking a day trip to Catalina Island and Hotel Current came up in my search engine. I loved the decor and style of the rooms. Contemporary and hip. Rooms were very clean and had plenty of towels. They provide a complimentary shuttle and breakfast. The shuttle service was convenient to the Catalina Express but when waiting to be picked up, we waited for over 45 minutes! That was a deal breaker for us. The breakfast selection was good. Overall, the front desk was helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and comfy. Shuttle service is just slow, and I was told that the Catalina Express was about 5 minutes away...when it was actually about 30 minutes away. 3.8 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlusterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were looking for a hotel near the Long Beach airport where we could leave our car during the trip. Hotel Current is a remake of an older hotel in Long Beach and they've done an amazing job. There's a beautiful pool area with lovely cabanas and lounge chairs. The pool is spacious and the shape sort of forms a shallow children's area and a deeper adult area. The rooms are simple, almost Japanese in style with big, black doors with silver highlights that slide in place to give privacy in the bathroom and the dressing area. Breakfast is included and there's a small fridge in the room and free wi-fi. It's just 3 miles to Long Beach airport and they have a free shuttle. We had a nice, relaxing swim before dinner and we'll be well rested tomorrow morning before our flight, not having to fight traffic. This hotel totally fit the bill for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side of the pool are a bit noisy during the day, but they have a beautiful view and...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,178 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
946 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,273 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Address: 5325 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804-4441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $148 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing