We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Current

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Current
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We needed a place for the night since we were taking a day trip to Catalina Island and Hotel Current came up in my search engine. I loved the decor and style of the rooms. Contemporary and hip. Rooms were very clean and had plenty of towels. They provide a complimentary shuttle and breakfast. The shuttle service was convenient to the Catalina Express but when waiting to be picked up, we waited for over 45 minutes! That was a deal breaker for us. The breakfast selection was good. Overall, the front desk was helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and comfy. Shuttle service is just slow, and I was told that the Catalina Express was about 5 minutes away...when it was actually about 30 minutes away. 3.8 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlusterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    135
    69
    34
    39
See reviews for
137
109
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were looking for a hotel near the Long Beach airport where we could leave our car during the trip. Hotel Current is a remake of an older hotel in Long Beach and they've done an amazing job. There's a beautiful pool area with lovely cabanas and lounge chairs. The pool is spacious and the shape sort of forms a shallow children's area and a deeper adult area. The rooms are simple, almost Japanese in style with big, black doors with silver highlights that slide in place to give privacy in the bathroom and the dressing area. Breakfast is included and there's a small fridge in the room and free wi-fi. It's just 3 miles to Long Beach airport and they have a free shuttle. We had a nice, relaxing swim before dinner and we'll be well rested tomorrow morning before our flight, not having to fight traffic. This hotel totally fit the bill for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side of the pool are a bit noisy during the day, but they have a beautiful view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We tried this hotel needing to find a hotel close to Cal State Long Beach. Read reviews and gave it a try - other hotels were much further.

Arrived later at night - at first look - lobby looked great - very nice staff - went to our room - nice newly renovated room - but bottom line it is a Motel - loud parking lot - air conditioning in the wall - and loud - beds very small - double I think - and short - and bathroom floor dangerously slippery - and no lock on the bathroom window that opens into an alley where you can see the dumpy apartments behind.

I have staying in some very nice hotels - and this hotel is a want to be - tried to be nice - nice furniture, nice interior decorating - but not sure who the customer is. Maybe someone that decided the price is ok - and is surprised that it is nicer than the motel 6 down the street but if you are looking for a nice hotel - this is not the one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chilpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about the staff, the cleanliness, the decor, you name it. But the bottom line is that the most important part of a hotel room is scleep, and unless you can sleep through just about anything, I would avoid this hotel. You can hear everything outside and every word of normal-volume conversation from adjacent rooms. This is a "motel" style "hotel," with doors to the outside, not inside, so you get not only room noise, but outside noise. If you value your sleep, all the other amenities just don't make up for the noise level.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stlkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Loved it. Friendly. Parked the car for 2 weeks for cruise. Remodeled rooms. great taste. Huge shower. Shuttles were great. Great area of town. It was an older mid century motel redone.
Beautiful pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

After a long trip, the (about) 18 inch. thick King size mattress was wonderful to sink into. We had a very comfortable and good sleep the night we stayed with all the pillows they provided. First reaction when walking into the room was: "I love it!" It's not often that you find hotel rooms that you would rather live in than your current home--- even my boyfriend wanted to take home the mattress. The flat screen TV positioned right in front of our bed was great. The amount of lights in the room was also an A+ in my book. I loved everything about the bathroom. It was very clean and very modern.

The front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. We were able to get a complimentary shuttle to the Aquarium and back, plus the shuttle to Greyhound. The shuttle was always on the dot whenever we reserved it. Before you read the next part, I just wanted to say that this was not a con at all: on our way back from the Aquarium, our shuttle had gotten hit in the back by a car. It was not our driver's fault at all, and that made it even more impressive with the way that he handled the accident. It was very professional, quick, and didn't bother my boyfriend and I at all.

We also enjoyed a delicious complimentary breakfast and the comfortable seats next to the pool.

Overall, we will definitely be booking this hotel every time we go to Long Beach. Great location--- only a short drive to the water. Thank you for a great experience! :)

Room Tip: Go for the Lifestyle King :) No regrets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a wonderfull place to stay very clean and peacefull everything was wonderfull. Front desk ladies was very friendly. Also the pool was very clean and fun for my kids. Thanks keep up the great job will come back to stay for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lei74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,782 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Property: Hotel Current
Address: 5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing