We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Rooms”
Review of Hotel Current

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Current
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I was working in LB this past week and this hotel was perfect. Location was great and rooms are very nice. Also they have free wifi which is awesome too. Most of the expensive hotels make you pay. The only bad thing was the horrible breakfast they should really try to give you some fruit and yogurt as well as some protein choice, It was all carbs!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 462 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with the chic lobby and pool area, and updated, clean and comfortable room. Great, accommodating staff. And you can't beat the price! You should stay here when in Long Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were thrilled to arrive at Hotel Current in Long Beach, the hotel is modern and has a lovely pool area. It is also a short drive from the local beaches and near downtown shops and restaurants. Our room was very clean and had all the expected ammenties. Fast Wifi and a flat screen tv. We really enjoyed our stay and will book with Hotel Current again for sure.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

A lot of thought has gone into this post modern lobby. The suite was spacious and clean with ample parking. Pool has just been refurbished and looks great. Excellent breakfast included.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Water-Reality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for recognizing our efforts. We appreciate your kind comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We got to the hotel around 8;30 at night and asked if we could upgrade our room to a Lifestyle room but since we booked with Expedia, the guy at the desk said no, there was nothing he could do to help us out so we were stuck in one of the gross old rooms, had to wear our shoes the whole time because the carpet turned our socks and feet black, if you took a shower after 9am, it was always cold so my two boys had to takes showers at their Grandpa's apartment, the breakfast isn't even worth going into the little room it's served in and the biggest thing was we didn't feel safe taking our 14 year old and 2 year old out after 8pm because of people drinking and smoking weed outside their rooms and in the parking lot, I would never want a family to have to deal with the crap we did so stay somewhere else!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel, you will regret staying here!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liberty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments, feedback and suggestions from your stay at Hotel CURRENT. We understand we didn't meet you expectations and wanted you to know we listened to your concerns and made some significant changes!!!

1. We just updated the standard rooms with better furniture and decor items. We still provide two different type of guestrooms to give guests a choice, but the standard rooms and the carpet issues have been resolved. We invite guests to see pictures of the standard rooms by visiting the hotel website.

2. We have introduced a new expanded breakfast which includes our previous continental selections with make your own waffles to also feature, yogurts, apples, oranges, bananas, breakfast sandwiches, pastries, and hard boiled eggs . We hope you'll give us another try to see how your comments (and those of other guests) have been recognized.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Get a revamped room (extra$) This is essentialy a motel with a little style. The upgraded room is OK. But sliding bathroom doors dont close properly. The bathroom products are yuk.The air conditioning unit is noisey. Otherwise the rooms are quiet and clean. The breakfast is foul. We paid a fair price and didnt expect too much. Free parking. You wouldnt want to spend more than 1 or 2 nights here. Beds OK. No room service from hotel. Food delivered form local takeaways

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

The standard rooms are shoddy and the area is a little ghetto. Don't rely on the shuttle to downtown long beach.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Q13wp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback of your recent stay. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations with the standard rooms. It is feedback from guests like you that helps us improve and I am happy to announce that we are in the process of upgrading our standard room product. In a month we will have several of the standard rooms completed and in July all standard rooms will be updated. We hope you give us another chance if you are ever back in Long Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,284 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
4.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,283 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Address: 5325 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804-4441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $150 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing