We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Mouse house 2” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond Inn Convention Center Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Convention Center Long Beach
Ranked #37 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mouse house 2”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Yes I saw a mouse as well. Not scared of them, but it will make the place smell more than it already does. Loved the psychodelic carpet!!! 70's is back in fashion!!! Darn it, should have taken a photo. The continental breakfast was not refilled and we arrived an hour before the 10am finish. All that was left was a half eaten croissant and those soggy pastries wrapped in plastic. Yes we didn't pay a lot, but in comparison it was not up to scratch against the other similarly priced places. Check in and check out was slower than usual as well.
There seemed to be plenty of parking and it was close to 1st Avenue which had lots of places to eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    41
    24
    32
See reviews for
18
29
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Terrible hotel. It is not clean at all. We found a big spider inside the sheets. Vera loudy. You can find much better at the same price. Wifi doesn't work. Breakfast is terrible. We won't come again in any other vagabond hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Beach hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

before i booked on internet, i have spoken with expidia(i believe.., now i have to deal with 3 vendors who just 'SOORY FOR MY INCONVINIENCE BUT CANT HELP NOW>>!!!)
MY AAA CREDIT CARD WAS IGNORDED TO GET DISCOUNT but now is the only responsible party to help with getting a discount for not deliver what was promissed.
i was assured i will have refrigerator , microway , complimentary brackfast and clean bed and room.
we were told that there is no refrigerator and microway is not even in the whole place
i could have refrigarator for additional $5 a day.

We tried to explain what would help, like :some milk for coffee,cerial or otmeal but we got some fatt free milk only
crossaunts were fresh but nothing to put on!!!

oh, the terrible smell on hall was difficult to walk ..

on webside they offer more but reality is different.
you cant print the all page with what they promiss you!! its removed authomaticly from print
nobody is responsible...if no more bananas and you complain you hear from menager_"i am only one and i have to be in front and back, i cant overlook everything.
there is no plastic spoon or fork ha ha ...doesnt have own usage anyway
parking is not gwaranteed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washgirl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was a room for the Long Beach Marathon, this hotel is closer then the parking for the race! The hotel staff are very kind and accommodating to us racers. They put the breakfast (which is very basic) out early. They allowed late check out (almost 2pm) Will stay here again next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windowashgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here recently for the Long Beach Marathon. Great location near the start and finish lines. They allow pets for $10 which was a huge plus for us. Elevator was convenient and rightfully placed. The front desk staff were polite and responsive. We checked out one night early without penalty. Within walking distance of Roscoes Chicken and Waffles and a Vons. Otherwise, not a good choice for a hotel. It's in dire need of remodeling, and there is mold and mysterious staining everywhere. There was hair in the bed. The toilet leaked all night. Burning smell when heater used. The bolt lock for the adjoining room was unlocked and the condition of the door so bad that it could not even be locked! Thank goodness I had my guard dog! It's in the ghetto and there were security/police on our floor at 1am on walkie talkies. Poor water pressure and cheaply maintained plumbing. Our sink's knobs both said HOT, lol! No iron in the room. Smell of marijuana.

Now the PARKING!! Not enough. The owner told us to park at Chevron. Chevron owner said we had to come back in an hour and then sign a liability form. Forget that, we waited back at Vagabond for some sucker to leave which happened. In the morning, all cars are blocked in valet style. I feel bad for the staff here. They must deal with unhappy patrons every weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
279 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed one night before running the Long Beach half-marathon. Well located within walking distance of the expo and the start line. Spacious room and bathroom. Outdated carpeting and decor, but can't expect too much for this price. Complimentary WiFi, continental breakfast and parking. There is a safe in the room. Very slow check-in process.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The bathroom was really clean and not scary. The carpet is a hideous color. Considering other reviews, we brought our own linens but the bedding didn't look scary either. The location was good. It's near Hamburger Mary's, the Long Beach Diner and I could see the sign for Roscoe's Chicken and Waffle. It's just a couple of short blocks to walk to Ocean Blvd where you can catch the free Passport Long Bch shuttle which will take you to downtown, the Queen Mary and other attractions. I would feel fine staying there for a night or two. My friend said the pool looked clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moqt48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
#15 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#20 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Convention Center Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Convention Center Long Beach

Property: Vagabond Inn Convention Center Long Beach
Address: 150 Alamitos Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-5326
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Convention Center Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Convention Center Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Convention Center Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Vagabond Hotel Long Beach
Vagabond Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing