We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for conference/convention center!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for the first part of a business/vacation trip. It is about an 8-10 min walk to convention center, and convenient to some eateries, a grocery store (Vonn's) and other hotels nearby, as well as the Performing Arts Center. We had a rental car but walked or took the bus to the places we went. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful, including the housekeeping folks. The guy that checked us in commented they are becoming a"botique" type hotel.
My only negative was the restaurant, which apparently is not part of the hotel, but is connected with a walk thru to the lobby. It appears they do most of their business at lunch or after work. I had breakfast there the first morning and was expected a little more selection...basically, muffins, cookies, juice and coffee. they will also cook you a couple of eggs, which is what i Had.. they were good, and the bartender/cook was friendly. Just thought there would be more substance. Family enjoyed the pool while I was at the conference. Room as clean and comfortable. I do not like the 68 settings on the AC as a limit...as the room never got near that cold. I like it cold to sleep. :o)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bills83au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 411 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

It has potential to be a good hotel as the staff is great, location is great, restaurant is good, room is Ok. However, the constant smell of cigarretes on my floor was the first big downside. Then, the fact that the A/C didn't work made it worse. Also mattresses are too soft. The hotel is also pricy, so the whole equation doesn't work for me and I'm not planning to stay here again on my business trips to Long Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandreAntonello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvano M, General Manager at Courtyard Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for your recent comments about our wonderful team and our ideal location. I'm delighted to know that you also had the chance to experienced our restaurant, James Republic. I am very sorry that there were issues with cigarette smoke as we are most definitely a non-smoking hotel. With regards to the air conditioning, our chief engineer is checking out the system to make sure it is working correctly in our guest rooms. I apologize that our beds were too soft for you but really do hope that you will reconsider and join us as our guest during your next business trip to Long Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great customer service! Valet staff always greeted us with a big smile and a warm welcome. Front desk staff was eager to help, very friendly. Maid staff also very friendly and did a great job cleaning our room. Our room - 8th floor was perfect, large room, very comfortable beds, nice to have refrigerator. Great view of downtown and a glimpse of ocean. Loved location. Streets not too crowded with a lot downtown activity. Restaurant in hotel, James Republic is so nice, open to street, gas heat lamps. Had a drink there. Will definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvano M, General Manager at Courtyard Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

We so appreciate your lovely comments and are delighted to know you will be visiting us again one day! Until then, all of us at Courtyard Long Beach Downtown wish you a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My room was large and clean, and the staff were very, very helpful. On the negative side, our group could hear the conference in the adjoining conference room, and while the place seems to have been renovated at some point (judging by the spacious lobby area), the room seemed dreary. Finally, the WiFi, while free, did not work when I was connected to a VPN server. Very troubling.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likeeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvano M, General Manager at Courtyard Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for your recent review and we appreciate your lovely words about our team and your guest room experience. We are very sorry to hear that there was a noise disturbance from another meeting. With regards to the Internet issues, please do let one of our team members know in the future and we'll do our best to assist as there are times when a VPN server does not allow connection. Please be assured that we make every effort to ensure the meeting experience is as flawless as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Silvano M, General Manager at Courtyard Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is situated in a very downtown location and some of the rooms even have ocean views. The night life and city activity around can be noisy and a bit rowdy, but it also means that the hotel is in close proximity to all of the unique restaurants and other amenities.
It looks like they are in process of slowly remodeling this with some of the new courtyard finishes and the lobby is already quite tastefully done. The carpet throughout and the wallcoverings date this hotel - the cost cutting measures are obvious in the guest rooms, but where it really matters (the beds, television, and shower) the hotel is very good.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling and believe it would be most suitable for any type of traveler visiting this area.

Room Tip: If you select one of the rooms on the higher floors it will be quieter
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimoLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvano M, General Manager at Courtyard Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we so appreciate your words of recommendation. You are correct that we are undergoing an exciting renovation program and hope you can visit us again one day soon to experience the new guest room concept. In the meantime, wishing you happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We needed a Long Beach hotel for a family birthday. We did not want to pay a lot - but we did want to be close to entertainment and restaurants. The room was typical for this class of hotels. We would stay again if the price was right. Staff was very helpful. There is no gift shop - instead there is a small 'snack bar' where chips and drinks were available for purchase. Parking was $12 per day with in and out privileges. The one issue was the broken elevator in the parking structure.

We took a taxi to the Convention (Pike area) for less than $10.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skandls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#2 of 58 in Long Beach
2,443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.0 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Long Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Long Beach Downtown

Address: 500 East First Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-5024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $177 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Long Beach Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Courtyard Long Beach, C hotel offers a distinctive experience celebrating the vital urban surroundings that are Long Beach. A short walk away lies gorgeous beaches, the Long Beach Convention Center, Long Beach Arena and the Performing Arts Center. Around the corner are vibrant Pine Avenue, The Pike, Shoreline Village, and Aquarium of the Pacific. At our downtown Long Beach hotel, enjoy indigenous dishes and signature beverages at James Republic, serving modern California coastal cuisine. Feel at home in our spacious California-crafted guest rooms with luxury Marriott bedding, intuitive tech details, and much more. Business travelers at our hotel in Long Beach, CA appreciate large work desks, ergonomic chairs and free Internet access. Take advantage of our amenities including outdoor pool and fitness center. Our hotel near the Convention Center offers nearly 7,000 sqft of flexible meeting space, AV capabilities, seasoned meeting professionals and catered Events by James Republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Long Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Long Beach Downtown Hotel Long Beach
Long Beach Courtyard
Long Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing