We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed May 31, 2014

You'll read some griping about this property but I've said it before and I will say it again; you get what you pay for. I always get a wry grin reading reviews from travelers who pay peanuts and then expect the Ritz. This place is not the Ritz. But if you are looking for an inexpensive, clean, conveniently located hotel to serve as your base to explore Long Beach an environs, this is a good choice. I was able to get two rooms for the price of one room at the Westin or Hilton. This allowed my traveling group more space and privacy. Bed was comfortable. I appreciated the little coffee table to put our snacks. View was meh but then again, I was under no illusion. I didn't book my rooms for a view. The bathroom was clean and had Hollywood make-up studio type light fixtures. Great for seeing all of my facial flaws. We used the pool and hot tub. No complaints there. There is also a small work out room. My teenager used it twice and she appreciated that it was there. The lobby area has been renovated and it is very nice. Kudos for the ice cold lemon water dispenser for the guests and for the dark walnut flooring. Shows some flair in interior design. My understanding is that this Courtyard by Marriott is going to renovate the rooms next. When that happens, it will definitely rate this property as good instead of just average. Finally, the staff was great, courteous and professional. They understand that they have to up the service to make up for the lack of swankiness. Book here if you wanna save some dough and use the funds for the activities and restaurants, Long Beach has to offer.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that have a view of the Queen Mary on the upper floors. Talk to someone of you...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missus_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvano M, General Manager at Courtyard Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel and we appreciate your feedback very much. We are glad that you and your family were able to use our various services and amenities and are delighted to know that you like our new lobby area and enjoyed our fruit infused water. We also appreciate your kind words about our team to whom we are so proud of. Please do come back and see us so that you can experience our new guest rooms upon completion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 413 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

I don't know if this hotel has always been a Marriott or not, but it's in dire need of more than a facelift. It doesn't look like a Courtyard and certainly doesn't measure up. The common spaces are worn and the rooms need some serious updating. The entire hotel was hot; even at the lowest setting I couldn't get the room cooled down. No AC in the hallways, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdscitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvano M, General Manager at Courtyard Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with excellent feedback. We are excited to share that our hotel is undergoing an exciting renovation program and have just completed our lobby area and public spaces. Our guest rooms will showcase a timeless yet historical design in a sophisticated boutique environment. With regards to the air conditioning, we are very sorry that it was not working to its proper capacity during your stay but do hope that you will consider staying with us upon a return visit to the west coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The service, room and restaurant at the downtown Long Beach Courtyard was great. My only complaint is how street noise can be heard in our room. Our room faced the marina but for some reason, the street sound echoed into the room. The restaurant on the property is well known and the food was delicious. If you are going to a convention or just want to visit downtown Long Beach, this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try a room in the higher levels.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everyone that I encountered in the hotel was above and beyond courteous. The lobby and rooms were spacious, clean, and modern. I personally don't like suck unfirm pillows, but there were plenty of them. The pool was clean and easily accessed. And the restaurant (James Republic) was delicious. Overall, a great pick for staying in downtown Long Beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happifeet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Good location in downtown long beach. Close to beach and restaurants. However, the parking is in an unattached garage and costs $12 extra per day. The breakfast was also not included. Room seemed a little dated, but was quite large. The view (facing the garage) looks onto the garage entryway, not the nicest. But reasonable accommodations and very excellent service by the desk staff. I didn't try the restaurant, but heard from locals that it is good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Califreqflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We enjoyed a two night weekend stay here. Clean comfortable room on upper floor. Front desk staff is helpful, friendly and cheerful. Only challenge is noisy air conditioner in our room. Hotel tried to fix it once, we are still being kept awake at nite by loud humming sound. Hotel has good restaurant in lobby area for breakfast. Hotel is located within walking distance of many local attractions including ocean. Other than ac issue, would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is just tired. Not dirty, not ugly, just clearly in need of a deep clean and an update. The room furnishings are showing their age and long use.

The staff were almost overwhelmingly hospitable providing advice on local sights and making great recommendations for restaurants in the area. The front desk staff was particularly helpful getting us a cab to get to the cruise port while the street in front of the hotel was closed for a bike race.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairfaxBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvano M, General Manager at Courtyard Long Beach Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We so appreciate the recognition of our customer service! We are also very excited to share with you that our guest rooms will soon be undergoing an exciting renovation and we hope that you will consider another stay with us if and when you make it back out our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.0 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,168 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Long Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Long Beach Downtown

Address: 500 East First Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-5024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $177 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Long Beach Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Courtyard Long Beach, C hotel offers a distinctive experience celebrating the vital urban surroundings that are Long Beach. A short walk away lies gorgeous beaches, the Long Beach Convention Center, Long Beach Arena and the Performing Arts Center. Around the corner are vibrant Pine Avenue, The Pike, Shoreline Village, and Aquarium of the Pacific. At our downtown Long Beach hotel, enjoy indigenous dishes and signature beverages at James Republic, serving modern California coastal cuisine. Feel at home in our spacious California-crafted guest rooms with luxury Marriott bedding, intuitive tech details, and much more. Business travelers at our hotel in Long Beach, CA appreciate large work desks, ergonomic chairs and free Internet access. Take advantage of our amenities including outdoor pool and fitness center. Our hotel near the Convention Center offers nearly 7,000 sqft of flexible meeting space, AV capabilities, seasoned meeting professionals and catered Events by James Republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Long Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Long Beach Downtown Hotel Long Beach
Long Beach Courtyard
Long Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing