We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fix the Elevators!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Pros: Walking distance to Convention Center and nearby hotels (in case you have conferences in them too). Free Wifi. The beds are VERY VERY confortable. Staff was great the whole time, courteous and helpful.

Cons: As you have read, the elevators don't work. The one that does is SUPER SLOW! IF you happen to get on it, it takes a very long time to reach your destination. The only two times I used it in my 3 night stay, was when I arrived (I was none the wiser) and when we left, had too much luggage to navigate the stairs.

The rest of the times we would just take the stairs. Luckily I was on the 4th floor, but I knew folks on the 7th and 8th that had no option but to wait.

The rooms, especially the carpet look very old and used/dirty.

The rooms are extremely noisy. I could hear people in the halls, hear doors slamming above and outside my room, the slidding of patio doors.

Would I stay here again, not sure, price is right, but the there might be better options.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mendez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 414 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Starting here at the moment. Good comfortable hotel with massive rooms.
Likes
Good price
Big rooms
Great tv
Good shower and hot water
Clean
Friendly staff
Dislikes
Elevator only one and it is slower than paint drying, hate to stay here if the place was full
No room instruction book-they say they are preparing a new one but it took a day to find out how to work the ac
We had two rooms and paid 95 $ a room a bargain for the price

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martyj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel (500 E 1st. St., Long Beach, CA) from 3-6 November 2013. My experience was very poor.
1. On arrival, I went to use the toilet and found the bowl full of hair and other disgusting things. I informed the Front Desk.
2. The chair for the desk is only 15" off the floor and could not be adjusted, which made it very uncomfortable to work at the desk. I complained about this to the Front Desk, but there was no action.
3. The room and the hotel has a very 'tired' look. The carpets are dirty and stained, and I'm sure the rooms have not been painted for many years.
4. On the third morning when I woke up, I was covered with dozens of tiny black ants - not a pleasant way to wake up!
5. The price of the room ($161 + taxes) was excessive. I have stayed in much better hotels with free breakfast for around $100 to $110 per night in other comparable cities.
6. One of the two elevators was out for repairs during the time I was there, so there were long waits for the elevator.
It seems that the management may be allowing this hotel to 'run down', perhaps intending to sell it. At any rate, I found the quality far below what I would have expected for a Marriott Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Staff was nice and courteous at front desk but there were complications from there. 2 lobby elevators 1 was not working at all and the other was stuck on the 9th floor. I am in wheelchair stairs are not option. Finally they told us to use the service elevator. It was clear down at the end of the building and the handicap room was back at the other end. Then roll in shower didn't have a chair. After several attempts no chair making shower useless

and asked for tge chair and they said oh that was tge room.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank gold18kt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I came to this property while the restaurant/lobby area were being renovated.
Check-in process was smooth and was given a room. Unfortunately I was given an accessible room at first but decided it was not worth the hassle to change rooms.
The elevators seem to take a while to get, but didn't run in to any problems as I was not ever in a rush.
Parking was a little tough, maybe because I was traveling on peak season.
The breakfast was great a lot of grab and go items were provided in the meeting room because the restaurant was being renovated. They provided plenty of microwaves to heat up the frozen foods.
They seemed to not miss a step even with the renovation process, I'm sure everything looks a lot nicer now.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDchargers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a girls trip to the Queen Mary and it was way too short of a trip!

Location perks: walking distance from the downtown nightlife. We did not need a cab really; we walked to the main street and caught a free shuttle to the Queen mary area where tons of restaurants were.

Hotel Amenities and service: very clean and friendly service. The room was just right, spacious and clean.
The elevator was a little slow and their shower was labeled incorrect for the hot and cold options. Other than that no fault with the room. And the workers were friendly and accomodating.

We are definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived late and check in was fine. We asked for a pool view (didn't want to get stuck with a parking structure view) and got one. We managed just fine in a handicap-accessible unit (room 203).
First, one elevator was out of service. Being on the second floor made this a non-issue. However, if you were on a higher floor, this will be an issue because the other elevator was on island time. It was sloooowww.
As soon as we got out of the elevator, the hallway smelled musty. So did the room. I don't know why. Its not like we were in Hawai'i with lots of rain and humidity.
We had two queen beds in the room, as requested. However, the one next to the balcony literally blocked access to the balcony!
Everything worked in the unit, including the flat screen tv. It was definitely a no frills unit. All the other equipment was very old, including a stained swivel chair for the desk.
The pool was very basic with a spa. The kids were able to enjoy themselves. What was annoying was there were no pool towels available. I had to go into the fitness center to grab what were smaller towels. The next afternoon was the same thing, except there weren't even towels for the fitness center. The wife went to the front desk to notify them. A few minutes later, towels were brought out.
Dining was solid at James Republic. The kids menu was very reasonable ($5 average) and delicious. The food was gourmet for a kids menu. Solid craft brew selection. Need to carry Ballast Point. Very nice vibe/ambiance.
Parking was $12. Tempted to just do street parking, but with the Long Beach Marathon going on this weekend, did the convenient hotel parking.
Definitely would not stay here or at any other Courtyard again. There are many other options. After staying at this property, I cannot trust the Courtyard brand to meet my family's needs. Marriott should have remodeled this property years ago.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidHitchcock33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.0 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Long Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Long Beach Downtown

Address: 500 East First Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-5024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $179 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Long Beach Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Courtyard Long Beach, C hotel offers a distinctive experience celebrating the vital urban surroundings that are Long Beach. A short walk away lies gorgeous beaches, the Long Beach Convention Center, Long Beach Arena and the Performing Arts Center. Around the corner are vibrant Pine Avenue, The Pike, Shoreline Village, and Aquarium of the Pacific. At our downtown Long Beach hotel, enjoy indigenous dishes and signature beverages at James Republic, serving modern California coastal cuisine. Feel at home in our spacious California-crafted guest rooms with luxury Marriott bedding, intuitive tech details, and much more. Business travelers at our hotel in Long Beach, CA appreciate large work desks, ergonomic chairs and free Internet access. Take advantage of our amenities including outdoor pool and fitness center. Our hotel near the Convention Center offers nearly 7,000 sqft of flexible meeting space, AV capabilities, seasoned meeting professionals and catered Events by James Republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Long Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Long Beach Downtown Hotel Long Beach
Long Beach Courtyard
Long Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing