We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quite Acceptable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN of Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quite Acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Easy to get about Long Beach and LA since the facility is on the metro line. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Shower pressure was good. Breakfast was better than average for a self-serve continental style.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    266
    168
    66
    49
See reviews for
251
225
57
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

When I look at the hotel in and of itself, it was a pleasant stay. Our room was very clean, the front desk people were very polite. It was well supplied, had free wi-fi, and was fairly quiet. The lobby, although sparse and basic, was still clean and pleasant enough to walk through. The price was great, and it's location was just a few minutes away from the wonderful Long Beach Waterfront.

But more on that location... although it's only a few miles away from the tourist area, it's practically in the ghetto. You would not feel safe walking out of the hotel after dark. We saw a drug deal going out on the street corner, and all sorts of gang-related activity.

I personally would not stay here again. I was up half the night worried that someone was going to break into my car. It's not fault of the hotel, they are doing the best they can with where they are, but it just didn't feel safe to be here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I just returned from a cruise out of Long Beach. I drove to Long Beach the day before my cruise and took advantage of the package where you can spend the night, leave your car in their parking lot and take their shuttle to and from the port. The staff were all very friendly. The room was clean. It had a coffee pot and a microwave as well. (There may have also been a small refrigerator but I don't remember for sure.) I had the continental breakfast in the morning. It was the standard Best Western breakfast, and the room was clean.

Taking the shuttle to and from the port was easy. The driver dropped us right off where the buses park. The gal at the front desk of the hotel had given me their card and told me to call them when I returned, after I cleared Customs. I did that, and it took about 15 minutes for the shuttle to arrive. That was so much easier than me trying to deal with traffic getting in and out of the parking garage at the port.

I am hoping to cruise again out of Long Beach and would definitely consider staying here again.

Drawback - it doesn't seem to be in the greatest neighborhood. I didn't want to go wandering around there by myself. But there is a McDonald's kitty corner across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent one night here. Never again. Although this hotel has allegedly been refurbished, our sheets were stained and had holes in them. Hotel security was non-existent, with all exterior accesses being left open. This is not in a good area of Long Beach. We were awakened late at night by a female knocking on our room door, even though we were on the top floor. We did report this event twice, minutes after the incident and again the following morning. We did not feel safe.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddy075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Marko, Thank you for all you do. Your staff as always is top shelf. Wish we could spend more time with you guys. Are superbowl party was a hit thank's to you guys. The pool was great. We will see you again very soon.

Room Tip: Plenty of places to eat in walking distance. And the light rail is right out front and easy to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We just came back from our cruise out of Long Beach. Thank you very much to The Best Western of Long Beach for taking care of us. They fed us in the morning and drove us to the port and even picked us up at the port to bring us back to the hotel to get our cars. We felt like family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey_Rainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Have you ever regretted checking into a hotel as you are checking in? Well this is that exact scenario. I came to Long Beach for a trade show with my wife and we had the misfortune of choosing this hotel. We have never been so rudely treated by so called staff in our lives!
The male that checked us in was attitude all the way.
He is obviously doing all "guests" a favor by even acknowledging their existence! We had trouble getting our key to work and first of all he told my wife that he is "trying to work"
After begrudgingly coming to our room he opened the door and inferred that we were stupid and left saying "its the same key man"
I am used to people in the customer service business taking care of the guests.this will NOT happen here!
I would rather stay up all night if this was my only option!
RUDE. RUDE. RUDE!
A perfect model of how not to run a business
There are so many other choices where you do not have to be abused by such "professionals".

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonmonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikesandhu, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Long Beach, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We do regret that your experience with us did not match the high standards of customer service that we have set and can assure you that your comments will be shared with the head of our customer care department the steps neccessarie to correct this behavior has been put into place. While it is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels that their expectations weren't met, feedback from our guests is always welcome and we appreciate you sharing your perspective. Thank you and we hope that we get another opportunity in the near future to welcome you back again to our newly remodel hotel and upgraded internet access points trhoughout the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
1.2 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center
2.2 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN of Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN of Long Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
Address: 1725 Long Beach Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90813-1931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN of Long Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Of Long Beach counts with the highest rating in value in the Best Western System. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN of Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Best Western Long Beach
Long Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing