We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and park car for cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Of Long Beach
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I just returned from a cruise out of Long Beach. I drove to Long Beach the day before my cruise and took advantage of the package where you can spend the night, leave your car in their parking lot and take their shuttle to and from the port. The staff were all very friendly. The room was clean. It had a coffee pot and a microwave as well. (There may have also been a small refrigerator but I don't remember for sure.) I had the continental breakfast in the morning. It was the standard Best Western breakfast, and the room was clean.

Taking the shuttle to and from the port was easy. The driver dropped us right off where the buses park. The gal at the front desk of the hotel had given me their card and told me to call them when I returned, after I cleared Customs. I did that, and it took about 15 minutes for the shuttle to arrive. That was so much easier than me trying to deal with traffic getting in and out of the parking garage at the port.

I am hoping to cruise again out of Long Beach and would definitely consider staying here again.

Drawback - it doesn't seem to be in the greatest neighborhood. I didn't want to go wandering around there by myself. But there is a McDonald's kitty corner across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 989 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent one night here. Never again. Although this hotel has allegedly been refurbished, our sheets were stained and had holes in them. Hotel security was non-existent, with all exterior accesses being left open. This is not in a good area of Long Beach. We were awakened late at night by a female knocking on our room door, even though we were on the top floor. We did report this event twice, minutes after the incident and again the following morning. We did not feel safe.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Toddy075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Marko, Thank you for all you do. Your staff as always is top shelf. Wish we could spend more time with you guys. Are superbowl party was a hit thank's to you guys. The pool was great. We will see you again very soon.

Room Tip: Plenty of places to eat in walking distance. And the light rail is right out front and easy to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We just came back from our cruise out of Long Beach. Thank you very much to The Best Western of Long Beach for taking care of us. They fed us in the morning and drove us to the port and even picked us up at the port to bring us back to the hotel to get our cars. We felt like family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey_Rainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Have you ever regretted checking into a hotel as you are checking in? Well this is that exact scenario. I came to Long Beach for a trade show with my wife and we had the misfortune of choosing this hotel. We have never been so rudely treated by so called staff in our lives!
The male that checked us in was attitude all the way.
He is obviously doing all "guests" a favor by even acknowledging their existence! We had trouble getting our key to work and first of all he told my wife that he is "trying to work"
After begrudgingly coming to our room he opened the door and inferred that we were stupid and left saying "its the same key man"
I am used to people in the customer service business taking care of the guests.this will NOT happen here!
I would rather stay up all night if this was my only option!
RUDE. RUDE. RUDE!
A perfect model of how not to run a business
There are so many other choices where you do not have to be abused by such "professionals".

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonmonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikesandhu, General Manager at Best Western Of Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review. We do regret that your experience with us did not match the high standards of customer service that we have set and can assure you that your comments will be shared with the head of our customer care department the steps neccessarie to correct this behavior has been put into place. While it is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels that their expectations weren't met, feedback from our guests is always welcome and we appreciate you sharing your perspective. Thank you and we hope that we get another opportunity in the near future to welcome you back again to our newly remodel hotel and upgraded internet access points trhoughout the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here the night before our 2-night stay in Catalina. This hotel is clean with new paint, carpet, furniture and good quality linens. Bed was very comfortable. Thank goodness we chose this hotel over the others nearby. The neighborhood is not good! We felt safe on the hotel grounds but would not have even considered walking anywhere. The location is about a mile from The Pike and Long Beach Landing, which is great for dinner and shopping. But be sure to be in your car when you leave the hotel. Staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. For an extra $10 per night we left our car in their secured lot and took the hotel shuttle to the Catalina Express terminal. Breakfast included waffles, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, muffins, toast, juice, etc. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street as there is a train station across from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for one quick night on our way home from our holidays.

Pros: Pricing only paid $66 plus taxes. Great location to the Long Beach Airport. Lots of parking and decent beds. Bathroom was large, clean and stocked with ammenities. Arrived at night and left at 5:30am so only stayed to sleep.

Cons: Alarm clock did not work and kept buzzing without the alarm set. We unplugged it so we could sleep. Our room was close the metro train and the noise was a little loud.

Room Tip: Avoid a room by the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank We-Love-The-Ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
4.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,414 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
921 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center
1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Of Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Of Long Beach

Address: 1725 Long Beach Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90813-1931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $118 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Of Long Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Of Long Beach counts with the highest rating in value in the Best Western System. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Of Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Best Western Long Beach
Long Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing