We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great location...central to beach and all coastal activities. altho this hotel is old and needing updates; it is very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast....served in a dining room with table cloths!, hot food stations and relaxed atmosphere. We prefer staying here instead of overnite at our son's house!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jamessO2955LU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    197
    97
    38
    29
See reviews for
175
136
44
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed here for one night while visiting friends in Long Beach. I typically don't stay at Best Westerns and was a bit hesitant, but booked because the rate was so attractive. I arrived early and was disappointed there were no rooms available, but it was before the normal check-in time. The woman at the front desk called housekeeping and was able to get a room ready for me. The rooms were fine, nothing impressive, a typical motel style but it was very clean. It also had a mini fridge and a balcony which were nice additions.

The room included breakfast which was nice. Nothing too fancy but they did have eggs, bacon and hash browns plus a variety of breads, pastries and fruit. The wait staff was great and the restaurant had nice views of the harbor.

The staff were so friendly and helpful plus the rooms were acceptable. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airbound13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

A very excellent place to stay,,Laura is so helpful,everything went smooth cause i was dealing with a group. I ant begin to express my satisfaction with the BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel. I will be coming back

MN2 L Tyson USN

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawtyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My two recent one-night stays at the Golden Sails started with minor disasters - of my own making. The first stay was during the Long Beach Scuba Show. Golden Sails is only about 20 min. or less from downtown Long Beach and less expensive than hotels near the Convention Center.

Arriving at 10 PM on a Sat. night, I locked my keys and cellphone in my car. The gentleman at the front desk kindly called AAA for me. After my keys were retrieved, I quickly checked in and headed for my room on the ground floor. From the outside it looked very ordinary, rather dingy and not too promising, but once inside, the room was huge, attractive and clean, had a kitchenette, and a nice view of the pool, large lawn and gazebo. It was very quiet, surprising since there was some kind of party with mariachis going on in the restaurant. Soundproofing must be good!

Breakfast was unusually good for a free motel breakfast. It's served at 6, which is great for business folks. Hot eggs and potatoes, various kinds of breads, bagels and Danish, OJ, fresh fruit, yogurt and of course coffee. Dining room has a nice view of a (bay? inlet?) anyway, a body of water with boats on it.

My next one-night stay was a week later. I had a 2nd-floor room with balcony this time. Room was equally nice; this time it had a microwave and small fridge. Trader Joe's is just down the highway if you want to just take out food and heat it up. Disaster #2: I managed to slice my thumb on my razor while going into my kit, and found I'd left my band-aids at home. The front desk staff supplied several band-aids and some antibacterial salve as well. I was able to enjoy the pool this time; it's heated and very pleasant.

A few comments: In the first room, the TV didn't work; perhaps the remote's batteries were dead. Coffeemaker was parked next to a burned-out and non-working outlet, but it worked fine in a different outlet. My advice is to drink the in-room coffee, which is very good; the dining-room coffee tasted very bitter and weird, like really bad decaf. And some of the chair seats in the dining room are pretty stained and could use a good cleaning. But these are minor quibbles compared to the helpfulness of the staff and the overall comfort of the hotel, and I'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the restaurant/bar; they're probably quieter. Make and drink the in-room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoLovesSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

if you have any boat business in long beach alamitas harbor this is best location great p[lace some rooms have view of bay right nestxt ytop shops stores starbucks has it all rooms were great size and have real nice patios location location and value breakfast okj

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH LAS VEGAS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Hotel was a welcome relaxing experience. Accessible to beach, restaurants , shopping mall, cruise port , farmers market (Sunday) and lots more. I am already planning my next trip to do all the things I did not have time to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff , AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

A Great , Clean Motel for the price with nice Marina view from the Cafe..... Walking distance to the beach and a great staff , we really enjoyed staying at the Best Western Sails Inn and will do it again.......

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jpad138593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,783 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Current
Hotel Current
#17 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
4.5 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
Address: 6285 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Best Western
Best Western Golden Sails
Best Western Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing