We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel'”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent hotel, with good spacious rooms, containing a fridge, microwave and coffee making facilities.
The location for us was not ideal, therefore we would not return to this very good hotel.
We prefer maybe a slightly poorer hotel that was in walking distance of 2nd street, or the Convention centre.

Room Tip: If you do stay here and want to visit Downtown, without driving, then get the number 121 bus and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greytop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    218
    107
    45
    36
See reviews for
201
151
47
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is a little older, but rooms were spacious and clean. What really made our trip stand out was the friendly and helpful service. It started with a warm welcome from the front desk and extended to the restaurant staff both at dinner and breakfast. It seemed that this is a family owned operation. An older gentleman was called on to fix the stuck handle on my suitcase. He knew exactly what to do & had it workable in no time. That was definitely service above & beyond. Only stayed one night, but would come back again. Very reasonable cost for the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel after a disapointing expierence in the Palos Verde Inn. The customer service rep at Best Western was extremley accomodating to us. Service was excellent specially at the breakfast buffet.Our room was clean and roomy, great view of thepool. Lesson learned just book Best Western.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaches201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergen county, nj
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed here my first night getting into Los Angeles, having lived in Seal Beach down the street some years ago. The hotel itself was nice, but a bit dated in decor. It also had that old, musty smell you sometimes experience with older places. There was also a room service tray left out the entire time I was there. No one that worked at the hotel seemed to mind it being there. There was only 1 tiny elevator for all 4 stories, so I took the stairs when needed. The room was large, had a balcony, mini-fridge, microwave, wifi, and a TV with cable. My rate also included free breakfast buffet next door at their PCH club, which was good.
I knew what I was going to get going in, so I didn't mind it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joepoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Best value for your money for sure. We were very impressed with the location, being only a ten minute drive from the airport and only five minutes from the popular Seal beach. Within walking proximity is shops, restaurants and a theater. Everything you need is close by and we NEVER felt like the area was ghetto like some people are saying. Close by is an industrial area, which doesn't look pretty, but not ghetto. I felt safe my entire stay here. My favorite part was the amazing breakfasts that were included. Seriously the best "continental" breakfast I've ever had. It was more like a nice breakfast you would spend 10 bucks for at a restaurant. Free parking was fabulous too. The hotel is old and needs to be updated, but is still well kept and very clean. If you are looking for luxury living, this isn't the place and you should probably stop looking in this price range for that. By far the best value for your money. I will definietly stay here again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor away from the PCH. We requested that due to some reviews here saying the PCH was loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k22adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel has a good location for visiting Long Beach. Rooms are clean and have a microwave and refrigerator included. WIFI access was good. Needs a remodel to refresh the carpets and paint. Breakfast was included in the room rate. Outdoor pool. Hotel sits on busy PCH.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestown, RI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The BW Golden Sails is a good hotel on a good location with a GREAT staff. The hotel's infrastructure is aging but it has all a business traveler needs, there is a good restaurant on the premises (breakfast is better than most...), self-service laundry and proximity to shopping and other good restaurants. However, what really makes the hotel good are the staff. They have always been most accommodating and helpful and that is why I always stay at this BW when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,062 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#11 of 58 in Long Beach
927 reviews
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Current
Hotel Current
#17 of 58 in Long Beach
456 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,249 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Sails Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Sails Hotel

Property: Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
Address: 6285 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Sails Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Sails Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Best Western
Best Western Golden Sails
Best Western Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing