We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing bad to say, but average only.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nothing bad to say, but average only.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as my husband is working in the area. We got a pretty good rate, I guess, so chose this hotel as we did not want to stay at a higher end hotel for this trip. The rooms do need updating, I would agree with others. Pretty clean over all, but could be improved upon in my opinion. Water rings on the tables, and the vacuum missed a bit. Quick check in and check out with no problems. We did get a room facing PCH so the road noise bothered me but hubby is a sounder sleeper, so no problem for him. Could hear neighbors a bit & the people above us made a lot of noise on our ceiling. Would we stay again, I am not sure, would probably look around some more. No complaints overall. Breakfast included, buffet was good. The lunch I had only so so. The wait staff was always there checking if refills were needed, good service.

Room Tip: If noise a problem a room not facing PCH would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NRosenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    213
    104
    45
    33
See reviews for
191
147
46
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orovada, NV
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel when we booked our flight to Long Beach. The price was right, and it was right on the PCH, with easy accessibility to everywhere in Long Beach. The room was clean and spacious and had a refrigerator and a balcony with a chair. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with shampoo and plenty of towels, daily. Breakfast buffet had a great variety, with cereals, breads, oatmeal, waffles, juices, yogurt, and fresh fruit. The best part was the scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, bacon and link sausages. The waiters were very friendly and accommodating, refilling our coffee often. The breakfast room had a view of the marina. The front desk staff was friendly and eager to please. The place is old, but it didn't matter. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhorow1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We recently stayed two weeks at the Golden Sails Long Beach, CA. Director of Sales Laura Giraud arranged our group reservations, training rooms, and menus throughout the two weeks stay. Laura was kind enough to host a Social Night for our group complete with great snacks. The accommodations were excellent, staff very friendly, and the food was great and hot! A first class location and pricing was excellent.

Thanks Laura, we'll see you again. Jim R.

Room Tip: Rooms on the interior side of the hotel will not hear the traffic. Pool and Hot Tub were nice and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed in best western golden sails for two weeks on a business trip and was blown away with the staff at the hotel and restaurant. The service was outstanding and my room was large and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wykon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I just completed a two week stay at the Golden Sails for business training. Although the property is older, it is in amazing condition. It is located close to the beach and has a great feel! The rooms were spacious and very clean. The entire property was kept clean and immaculate! The conference room we utilized each day was spacious and provided everything we required for a successful experience. The stay included all meals in the restaurant over looking the marina. The staff in the restaurant ensured we were treated well and would go out of their way to accommodate us! The hotel even set up a reception for our group the was a wonderful networking event. Thank you, Laura Giraud for all your work in making this trip a success!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for two nights last week and had a wonderful experience. The beautiful ladies at the desk were so friendly and helpful! Room was nice, breakfast was wonderful. Not sure why the negative remarks from other reviewers. We were quite satisfied with the room. Would stay again and we felt safe staying there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main part of the hotel, used the elevator to get to our room. We cannot comment on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

For the $125 a night I received a hard bed, a window unit heater and a/c. The tv volume wouldn't go up but half way, I have trouble hearing and made it almost impossible to watch tv. This hotel would be best served torn down the building a new multistory hotel and selling off the remaining land. It's old worn down and in serious need of a modern look. The elevator is pretty scary and as slow as a 102 year old. The microwave was for some reason removed from the room, and the hallway smelled, bad. If my class had not even there I would have moved. $125- night I expect more than a worn out, out dated 1960's slum.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank cwarren2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGoldenSailsHotel, General Manager at Best Western Golden Sails Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
A fair posting is as follows:
For the $125 a night I received a full breakfast buffet, lunch, dinner, drinks and other amenities. It is my understanding that the TV set is only two months old but I have trouble hearing and made it almost impossible to watch TV due to the volume limiting feature. Although the bed is only six months old, it is too hard for me. The microwave was for some reason removed from the room. If my class had not even there I would have moved. For $125- night I expect more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 57 in Long Beach
6,006 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#11 of 57 in Long Beach
915 reviews
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Current
Hotel Current
#16 of 57 in Long Beach
453 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#7 of 57 in Long Beach
1,234 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Sails Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Sails Hotel

Property: Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
Address: 6285 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Sails Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Golden Sails Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Best Western
Best Western Golden Sails
Best Western Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing