We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“NYE with Cubensis” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    176
    86
    33
    28
See reviews for
153
119
41
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed one night under a cruise parking package. The room (and hotel) was comfortable, but in need of a freshening up. Dinner in the hotel was good and very reasonable, and the (included) breakfast was very good. The process to and from the pier was good, but a bit more flexibility to the pier would have been appreciated. Taking a cab back to the hotel upon return worked well. The price was reasonable when compared with parking at the garage near the pier, and overall was a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AD19EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

i have stayed here many times. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. I stayed here, repeatedly, because of its proximity to the Second Avenue / Belmont Shores area. But the place has seen better days, and I finally asked myself one day, "What am I doing here?" The A/C unit was old and noisy, the fitment of shelves etc was haphazard, the appliances were old, etc. There's a lot to like about this place, but someone needs to plow some bux into it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Booked through Expedia, was quite happy to see many positive reviews before booking it. But reality was very different and dark one. Dirty hotel, management and employees going through big dispute. We stayed booked the hotel for 3 nights but checking out in the morning even though pre-paid for three nights. I understand the frustration of the staff but employees are okay to give as much discomfort to customers as much they can to make sure they won't use it again. Upon our arrival we found things were quite strange and unfriendly. After a very unwelcomed check in we were told "You are getting a very nice room". We found out lot more about this very nice room in the evening when a very loud base sound won't go away. This was not a busy day for this hotle and 90% of the hotel was vacant on this night and still staff somehow felt comfortable and took pride us putting in a room they knew will be unbearable for anyone. After couple of hours of toleration we complained and were told nothing we can do as there is a party going on. We called Expedia and really did not find it to be helpful. Finally after complaining again and letting them know our intentions to pursue every avenue possible, we got moved to a different room but a dirty room. Shame to managment , shame to employees for using us, shame to Expedia for having this hotel as one the preferred hotels in Long Beach, finally shame to Trip Advisor giving them 4/5 when cleansiness alone will get them 1/5. PLEASE NEVER STAY HERE AND NO SYMPTHY WITH STAFF EITHER.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2020Investor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGoldenSailsHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for writing the review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

We are sorry for the inconvenience that caused during your stay at our hotel. We always strive to make our guests happy and comfortable. Unfortunately, our service was not upto your satisfaction.

Guests' satisfaction is of paramount important to us and we will use your coments to serve our guests better in the future. We hope we will have a chance to serve you better in the future. Our apologies again.

Thank you.

Mathew Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Frontdesk is extremely friendly which is a big contrast on the staff at restaurant at night. Never eat the the restaurant at night, the lady manager/supervisor is very professional and makes me feel like begging for her service.

Room is clean although the wallmount air-con unit is noisy. TV cable quality is bad but the room i stay has good privacy and quiet.

Free breakfast is ok.

Free wifi does not work well even for normal web surfing.

Overall not worth the $106 (with tax) i paid for the queen size bedroom.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, try stay at the courtyard and not the multistorey building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenOh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGoldenSailsHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for writing the review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

We appreciate your comments both positive and negative. While we are happyto know that you were satisfied mostly, it is good to know the areas that you were not happy with. We will use this information to improve our service to our guests in the future.

Guests' satisfaction is important to us and we will do everything possible to keep our guests happy and satisfied. We hope that you will consider staying with us again and that we will have another chance to serve you better. Thank you. Mathew Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, AZ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel was a decent value for the area. The room we had was unusually large, which would be good if you had a family visit, kids, etc. For two people it was almost awkward, but what the heck, we had 3 bathroom counters, a kitchenette, huge floor space, and a small balcony. The breakfast at the restaurant was a nice buffet with waitstaff and was included in our room rate. The location was good for anything in Long Beach. It looks like they have a focus on events (business? wedding?) and a bar / club, but I didn't participant in any of that. My main complaint is that the carpet was horribly dirty. I wouldn't walk on it with bare feet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaDawna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#12 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Current
Hotel Current
#16 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#7 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
4.5 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
Address: 6285 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90803-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Best Western
Best Western Golden Sails
Best Western Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing