We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and accommodating!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fontana, California, United States
2 reviews
“Friendly and accommodating!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We held our reception here and from start to finish the staff was amazing. Our room was very large and the food is very good! You wouldn't expect such good food for such a low price.....but it was great!!!! I definitely recommend staying here, you cant beat the price!!

Room Tip: try to get a corner room........they are huge and you get a great breeze from outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    192
    96
    37
    29
See reviews for
170
133
44
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Avoid at all costs. Place smelled like marijuana and sewers. Rooms were a dump and service did not provide us with proper prearranged beds. Old, ugly... YUCK is how I would describe this place. Joke is another good description.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macklin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your report. We are sorry if you have felt that way about our property. We are also sorry for any inconvenience caused. If you look at the reports written by so many others, majority of the people had only good things to write about our hotel and our service.

We value your feedback. By telling us what you did not like about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.Your business is very important to us and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the report. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

The staff at the Golden Sails are always friendly and respondent to any issue immediately. Everytime I'm in Long Beach I stay at the Golden Sails. I took my family here last week and we had the times of our lives! The restaurant serves fantasic food and the amenities are wonderful. This is the best bang for your buck!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I've stayed at the Golden Sails Best Western probably a half-dozen times or moe over the past year and each time I've been very pleased. Although it is an older hotel, it is always clean; the room decor and furniture are updated; the staff is always friendly, welcoming and helpful; and a full breakfast buffet is included (at least with your online booking). You really can't beat the online rate, and it is less than 5 minutes from CSU Long Beach where my daughter attends college. It's close to restaurants, grocery stores, the beach, movie theater, and golfing. And the grounds are kept immaculate with incredibly beautiful bougainvillea-lined archways. There are also fountains, a pool, jacuzzi and exercise room. I won't stay anywhere else in Long Beach!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012DAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel does not look much from the outside, but the rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated. The ground floor rooms have sliding doors opening out to well kept lawns surrounding the pool and a rotunda. $90 a night included a full hot breakfast with waiters attending to your needs. The restaurant has a nice menu and was very reasonably priced. Food quality was excellent. We ordered room service and the only negative was that it took 40 minutes instead of the promised 15 mins. I checked out the restaurant presuming they must have been busy, but it was really quiet. So, I have no idea why a burger took 40 minutes. The bathroom does not have a bathtub, but a very large shower area. Other than these minor issues, we found this hotel to be excellent for the price and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueHeeler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights prior to a cruise from LA (San Pedro) Disappointed that their park and stay was only to Long Beach Port.We wanted to visit friends and explore the area. The hotel was convenient (red bus stop right in front). Room was large, clean but tired. We were on the third floor and partially over looked the pool. The courtyard with the pool was well maintained. The staff was very helpful but had problems with our payment using BW gift cards. This has happened before,at another property so I don't believe that it is the staffs problem. The breakfast was in the PCH club next door. Very good buffet with tables overlooking a marina. Coffee, juice, etc. was served. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLou777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stay at the Golden Sails most every time we visit So CA. We visit from Monterey County approx 4 times per year to visit family and haven't found a better value. Good sized rooms, clean nice courtyard w well maintained pool and hot tub; and, near all the fun of 2nd St. The workers are friendly, there is a small workout room, free parking and an excellent sit-down breakfast. Tons of stuff nearby to do and the freeway just a few minutes away. I am a LBC
native and appreciate the comfortable visit...

Room Tip: Floor level rooms provide a nice foliage filled patio; also, request a room in the building w the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMarieLBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Current
Hotel Current
#16 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#10 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,719 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
Address: 6285 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Best Western
Best Western Golden Sails
Best Western Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing