We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Hotel”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The location is great -- easy to walk to many restaurants & shops. Room was clean and furnished very nicely. Breakfast was good, but the room was very crowded (we shared a table with a mom & daughter) & the food needed to be refilled more than once during our time there. Never happy about having to pay for parking, but $10 wasn't too bad. Staff was very nice. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcieBCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    179
    49
    17
    23
See reviews for
122
139
41
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I was there for the NCDA conference and I really enjoyed my stay. My room was immaculate! The hotel provides free WiFi access and breakfast. The breakfast attendant went above and beyond to make sure everything was stocked. The Front Desk agents were all professional. Mirian at check out was friendly and willing to help out. We had an unfortunate change of plans and it would have been a disaster if it wasn't for her help. Without us even asking, she went above and beyond to help us resolve this issue. She is an asset to this company. Thank you! The only downside was the parking charge which is $10 per night, but as I soon found out, most hotels in the area charge for parking.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room on Linden Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Comfortable clean rooms - friendly and helpful people. Very convenient to visit the Convention centre. Defintiely exceeded my expectations. Plus plus. Breakfast was standard - but hot breakfast finished too early due to a bit of crowd.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganeshde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

It smells bad..it smells bad...it smells bad. The rooms and the lobby. There is only one elevator, and it is slow... and it stinks too. The breakfast is sad. The pool is a dirty bathtub...The room was falling apart around us. I am very disappointed with my stay at this hotel. Please look for a different hotel before you put yourself through the trouble.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Santos, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Tina C.

Thank you for taking the time out of your business travel to rate our hotel here on Trip Advisor. As you can see by all of the reviews here we strive very hard to ensure that each and every guest enjoys a more than satisfactory stay with us.

I was completely shocked to learn that you encountered so many difficulties during your stay. Although vague I assure you we take any guest comments very seriously.

We attempt to poll each and every guest constantly to ensure we keep up with our guest expectations during their stay. I reviewed your check out and any communication amongst our team to see if there were some missed opportunities with your stay and I didn't find any.

I am keenly aware that during our peak convention times here in our hotel that we may not always hit the mark but do aggressively address any of our guest needs that arise given the opportunity.

I would encourage you to reach out to me so that you can share your discontents with more detail and give us the opportunity to make it right.

I look forward to speaking to you and hopefully change your opinion of our hotel.

Best Regards,

Anne Santos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and we liked the area where the hotel is located. The hotel offers a great value because it includes varied breakfast items, an indoor pool and exercise room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel staff was friendly, the rooms were immaculate, the breakfast was great and the beds were very comfortable. The room was a little small, but we spent most of the time at a conference and exploring Long Beach, so that did not matter.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. I appreciated the breakfast being available in the morning as typically when at a conference I have to pay a premium for this type of service. I also appreciated how close it was to the conference hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 55 in Long Beach
1,231 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
5,986 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#4 of 55 in Long Beach
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.1 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center
Address: 517 E 1st St, Long Beach, CA 90802-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles and Orange County Airport, The Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center is renowned for both convenience and its beautiful location. In the heart of the East Village, Long Beach’s art community this Best Western Plus hotel is less than a third of a mile from the beach, as well as walking distance to the Long Beach Convention Center and a few minutes to both the Aquarium of the Pacific and Long Beach’s Carnival Cruise Port. Our location and amenities make our hotel the perfect place to stay for your next visit to Long Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hotel At The Long Beach
Best Western Long Beach
Long Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing