We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay. Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay. Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly. Free wifi. GREAT value. Walking distance to everything. We paid 128 for the night. The breakfast is weak, but plenty to eat in the area. The room was nice and the bathroom was nice. Clean. Clean. Clean

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    171
    47
    17
    23
See reviews for
115
136
39
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
National City, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I really just wanted to say thank you to Maria at the front desk. She was most helpful when I really needed someone with knowledge of around the area the freeway , really anything I asked she had an answer for me.And when I went down for breakfast sat morning she was there .So She came in on her day off.I really hope that Maria is valued to you as she was to me and my stay there.The hallways were wonderful to be in. The smell and the music made it relaxing and enjoyable. It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator in the room, instead of filling up a bucket with ice all night ,every time the ice melted.See I need to have milk.And the window was screwed shut so i had to use the air. Excuse me the window would open up about 3 to 4 inches. why?????? you need to give Maria a good raise so she will stay with you.That's what I think thank you for the wonderful stay . The pool area was way tooo hot for me to go in at any time of the day I tryed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelanto, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a great hotel, the staff is friendly and the service is wonderful. The continental breakfast is a nice added convenience whether your trip is for business or pleasure. Our grandchildren loved the Texas shaped waffle maker.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice hotel for the money. We loved the granite counter tops, the comfy beds and super soft linens. They also had a pretty good breakfast that came with the room. All total, a very nice hotel experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Apparently, this hotel doesn't understand the concept that a towel is used to clean yourself and they need to be laundered. Upon checkout, I was charged $39.50 for the cleaning of their white towels. I was never informed that if there was a little makeup on a towel, I would basically have to purchase it. i would have brought my own. I called the hotel manager, Ann Santos, who did not return my call. I had to call her again to discuss this issue. She was nothing less than helpful. I called the corporate customer careline and was informed that they could do nothing. My room was neat and tidy. I made my own bed every morning. i would not recommend this hotel. And if you do, bring your own towels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Santos, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Stacy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I’m sorry to hear your comments, unfortunately the resolution that we offered was not to your satisfaction. We take great precaution with our guest amenities and in making sure that the amenities in our rooms are not stained. Therefore, when there are items such as our linens that have stains that were caused during the guest’s stay, the guest is charged for the replacement of those items. The items in question were laundered five times and we refunded your card for the items that we were able to remove the stains from.

On the date in question I had stepped out of my office and I wasn’t back until you called back. I apologize for the inconvenience that it caused you and it if made you feel that we did not care. Every guest call is important to us and I try to answer them, when I am either out of the office or in a meeting it may take a couple of hours for me to call back; however, I do try to call back as soon as I am back in the office.

Please be assured that we take to heart all of the comments provided by our guests, they tell us what we are doing right and what we need to improve on.

Kind Regards,

Anne Santos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Can't say enough about this hotel & the excellent staff members JoAnne and Miriam ! Great job ladies !! Stayed here while in town for a martial arts event at the Pyramid (California State University - Long Beach).

Upon arrival, hotel was 15 minutes from airport and underground parking was available as noted on the website. Hotel is located a few blocks from the convention center, shops, restaurants and the beach are within walking distance (10 minutes). Queen Mary is a short drive and Huntington/Laguna Beach areas were 1/2 to 1 hour away. Easy access to Los Angeles (1/2 hour), Santa Monica pier (45 mins) etc.

Factor in L.A traffic to your travels plans if heading North.

Staff was available to provide MapQuest directions, restaurant suggestions and a friendly smile. Rooms were as promised, cleaned properly and serviced efficiently. Breakfast room was well maintained, cleaned promptly after breakfast service and had more than adequate items for a quick, hot & cold breakfast. Additional items such as the workout facility and pool area were appreciated considering pre-tournament workouts were needed. The beach provided an additional workout space.

I chose this hotel originally for its value, but I would return for its location and staff !

Hope this helps as you choose your hotel for the Long Beach area. !

Enjoy !!

.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony. Having breakfast on the terrace for the same price as other hotels = a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEIYO-Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Was in Town for a Jazz Festival and always stay somewhere else but this time everything was booked except the BEST WESTERN lucky for us. it was so enjoyable and refreshing We will stay there from now on. I would recommend it to anyone..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#7 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center
Address: 517 E 1st St, Long Beach, CA 90802-5025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles and Orange County Airport, The Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center is renowned for both convenience and its beautiful location. In the heart of the East Village, Long Beach’s art community this Best Western Plus hotel is less than a third of a mile from the beach, as well as walking distance to the Long Beach Convention Center and a few minutes to both the Aquarium of the Pacific and Long Beach’s Carnival Cruise Port. Our location and amenities make our hotel the perfect place to stay for your next visit to Long Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hotel At The Long Beach
Best Western Long Beach
Long Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing