We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quick walk to long beach convention center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   517 E 1st St, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Camarillo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick walk to long beach convention center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A good value for a best western plus stay in long beach about. 5 blocks from the convention center. Appealing hot breakfast was a welcome change from the standard continental fare! Got a managers rate. The best value was on the best western website. It is also close to the harbor, queen mary, and long beach aquarium. Cheers

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cagirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    151
    43
    14
    22
See reviews for
97
113
35
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good stay, good business hotel, but not adjacent to the Convention Center as the name implies. Friendly service and a surprisingly big and good breakfast that was included, including scrambled and hard cooked eggs, waffles, etc. etc. Actually a great value.

Room Tip: Inner court room is nice and quiet on a Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentwoodHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Overall, I was quite pleased with my stay. I stayed for a week at this hotel for a business trip.

Pros:
- conference center is a short 10 minute walk away, and restaurants within walking distance
- breakfast is included with the room charge
- clean and modern rooms

Cons:
- parking costs $10/night, but at least it is covered parking with ample parking spaces available each day
- wireless internet is VERY SLOW, sometimes it didn't work at all...this is probaby my main complaint

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

On a short trip through Long Beach and had stayed at this hotel. Everything was fine. Clean rooms, helpful staff and free breakfast to boot. Parking was underground and they did charge for that, but I think it was typical for this area. They did have an indoor pool and exercise room which I did not use. When coming to Long Beach, this hotel would be good choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

i have been traveling to Long Beach every two or three weeks for a year and have settled upon this place for its cleanliness, value, and location. it is very close to the Pine Avenue district, a block or so from a Von's grocery, etc. Breakfast is average. Best Western elite members park free. There's a decent sandwich shop/deli in the same building. the staff is friendly and helpful, and the free wireless signal is decent.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MrTAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I just recently spent the weekend here where we were granted an
early check in due to our flight arriving earlier than expected. Our room was great.
Clean, comfy, and with a fantastic balcony overlooking the street and beach right down
the block. Our free continental breakfast was amazing for something that required no
money out of your pocket and if it wasn't to your liking there are plenty of restaurants
nearby more suitable. The staff was friendly and their parking deck was great for those
with cars. We definitely enjoyed our stay and would most definitely go back. For the
price you most definitely cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
244 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Good room , good rate , but breakfast was a little lacking - Breakfast was scheduled for 6:30 , but nothing seemed to be ready , out of coffee - No hot items except waffles .. Otherwise a good night's rest ..

Room Tip: Any room is fine , right downtown near everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rust-E-Junque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,895 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#5 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#14 of 57 in Long Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center
Address: 517 E 1st St, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles and Orange County Airport, The Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center is renowned for both convenience and its beautiful location. In the heart of the East Village, Long Beach’s art community this Best Western Plus hotel is less than a third of a mile from the beach, as well as walking distance to the Long Beach Convention Center and a few minutes to both the Aquarium of the Pacific and Long Beach’s Carnival Cruise Port. Our location and amenities make our hotel the perfect place to stay for your next visit to Long Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western + Iniative, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hotel At The Long Beach
Best Western Long Beach
Long Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing