We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History by itself”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Joe Jost's

Joe Jost's
Ranked #54 of 1,102 Restaurants in Long Beach
Cuisines: American, Bar, Delicatessen, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“History by itself”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

After hearing a lot of stories from friends, I finally made it here. This is the oldest bar in Long Beach and I can see why. They still have the 28 F beers & it's a must try. I was so amazed seeing all the pictures on the wall of people from different places using their shirt. That's why I bought mine. Service was so fast & the atmosphere was warm. Keep smiling Joe Jost's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy_Rosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    14
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Schooner Full of History in Long Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

YES-GOOD-GO TO JOE'S. When you recover, go again! And again!
Back in '87, I was in Jr. high algebra seated behind a fellow student wearing a Joe Jost's t-shirt. I drew the logo, and the kid wearing the t-shirt, and the entire classroom as the teacher droned on about exponents & integers. Then one day I saw the storefront out of the car window and put the two together. "What a great place!" I thought, "They have a t-shirt, and EVERYTHING!" The minute I was old enough, I finally got to go in with some friends and experience what everyone seemed to be raving about. Huh. Smaller, darker, dirtier than I thought. And then someone handed me a "schooner" of pure gold. A huge, frosty dripping attitude adjuster in a modern day goblet. It's easy to walk around, and hang out with your friends, acting like a clown and strutting like you own the place. There aren't many things on the menu, and everything on it will give you breath that will peel paint off the walls. But those few things, in particular, the pickled eggs, Joe's special sandwich, the liverworst, the salami, egg salad, cheese, hot dog... If you've eaten your way through the sidewalks & delis of New york, Joe's menu will bring you back there for a few brief, and wonderful moments. Time stops, several more rounds of schooners, a few games of pool or shuffleboard, and great music who's volume allows you to laugh really loud at your friends' jokes and not have every head turn to see who the loud, laughing lush is. You'll all go home talking for years about what a good time you had, and return over and over.

Notes: It's a beer bar. No hard liquor, no vino, no kids, no pretty curtains. Just awesomeness in it's purest form for those who need to cut loose after a long work week.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baxterart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pickled Eggs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Josts is an LBC tradition. Schooners of beer to wash down a pickled egg or two and you are set. Fun place with the look of a dive bar. Not fine dining but fun dining

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Otto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
164 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“American Institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Every time I'm in the LA area I make it to Joe's for a few beers, some peanuts and regular local faces. Great place to catch up, relax, catch a game and enjoy the "cold" beer. But remember, bring cash or use the ATM - as no credit cards accepted here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LibyAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Old and unchanged, great atmosphere. A classic that should never be renovated or changed. It has been around since the 30s or 40s and has had students use it for movies, to play pool, to eat and drink.

Helpful?
Thank 75barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Jost's also viewed

 

Been to Joe Jost's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing