We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and great hosts”
Review of Beachrunner's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachrunner's Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Long Beach B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Convenient location and great hosts”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The B&B is in a lovely neighborhood filled with gorgeous Craftsman-style homes. It was lovely to walk around. It was also very convenient for going further afield - we got to LAX in about 30 minutes. We walked to dinner all 4 nights we were there - Cafe Piccolo and Lola's are highly recommended. Breakfast was delicious and they accommodated my dietary preferences well and without complaint. The B&B is right on the corner of Broadway, which is fairly busy. The rooms had good windows, but you can hear the traffic and in the summer if you had the windows open, this might be an issue. The rooms that face south face Broadway. We had the Long Beach room, and it was small. There's no desk (although there's one downstairs in the common area) but the TV selection was very good. I would stay here again. The owner was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A room that faces north would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chibiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
45
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I enjoyed staying here for two nights. As the other reviews mentioned, the B&B is clean and comfortable. Pat and Courtney own and operate the B&B, live on premises, provide a nice breakfast (much more than standard continental breakfasts, including custom omeletes), and gladly answered questions about visiting Long Beach. The vicinity is not the best part of town, but it is not dangerous, the house is well maintained indoors (they probably hired an interior decorator), and you are a short bus ride or drive from downtown. I would stay here again if I am in Long Beach!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hineynu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a lovely bed and breakfast. Our room, the Long Beach room, was on the second floor with a distant view of the beach, which is about two blocks away. Although a bit small, it was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious. It is about a ten-minute drive to the marina and downtown area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in the sunset room, which looks down the street directly to the ocean. Only a 7 minture drive to the cruise port or a 5min walk to bus to the cruise port. Parking was only 20$ for the entire week. Rooms are cozy but comes with full Cable Box/DVD/VCR and High Speed internet. The house is gorgoues and they make a awesome lil breakfast in the morning. As innkeeper myself I know the value of a good B&B and this place is top notch. Great DVD selection & large living room that is open for guest to hang out.

Room Tip: Sunset is a lttle smaller but has all the amenities of a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dghardy760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beachrunner. The room was clean & comfortable. The location is within walking distance of the beach. The hostess was very pleasant. The breakfast served was one of the best anyone could ask for. I highly recommend this place for anyone planning a visit to the Long Beach area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A calming place to rest your head. Wonderful amenities, extremely clean location and property. Enough seclusion for a private little B and B. Staff was courteous and friendly. It is a family owned b&b, but quite quiet during the day and evening. I enjoyed the hospitality to the fullest.
My only discomfort was that the key system was a little tough to comprehend and exit the property with. I wish my boyfriend and I would have gotten a full breakfast since we are vegetarian (and notified the owner before our stay), since we considered this in the rate. And yes, for an August stay; it would have been a lot more valuable to stay somewhere with A/C and a tad more living space within our room.

Room Tip: Go for top level rooms for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in the Catalina room. It really was a nice small room. Small is not negative! Nice bed and very, very clean! Very helpful owners. Delicious breakfast too! Good value for the price and a nice break from chain hotels.

Room Tip: The owner's will help you choose based on your need. The pictures on their website are a good d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamawolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.8 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,849 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachrunner's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachrunner's Inn

Property: Beachrunner's Inn
Address: 231 Kennebec Ave, Long Beach, CA 90803-5721
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachrunner's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Beachrunner's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing