We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood, unique location”
Review of King's Fish House

King's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
King's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,119 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great seafood, unique location”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Great seafood in a unique location. During a lunch visit in January 2013, we had oysters, chowder, grilled shrimp and white fish. All was delicious and the waitress was friendly, attentive and informed.

Helpful?
Thank RyanThompson6818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    155
    50
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Long Beach”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

King's is a classic fishhouse - great, fresh seafood, large menu with everything from a superb New England Clam Chowder to a huge selection of Oysters on Half-Shell. And, for those who prefer a difference, they do offer steaks and other dishes. King's is what it is and is certainly unlike most California restaurants in many ways - it is extremely popular which means it is crowded. The servers are fast and capable, but are under constant stress to serve the massive number of demanding diners in the large restaurant.

The bar service is not always up to par and you should not expect your alcoholic drinks to be forthcoming unless you are sitting directly at the bar. Those sitting just three feet away from the bar, wishing to have a cocktail before dinner must often wait 20 minutes or more. Once seated at a table you can expect excellent bar service quite quickly. I know it sounds strange, but I have been going to Kings for 20 years and have the same bar experience each and every time.

While the restaurant is on the corner of Pine and Broadway and the entrance is on the corner, the actual address is on Broadway. They have a nice patio on the Pine Street side that affords a street view for those that like people watching. This is an excellent choice in nice weather, but in the colder weather they often pull down a thick semi-clear plastic sheeting to keep the warmth in and this ruins the view of the street.

Even with the poor bar service I still give Kings a 5-star rating based on the quality of food, portions, selection and price. I can always count on Kings to come through for the larger groups that I dine with at Kings when we are there for a trade show. This past week, there were 20 in my group and all of the dishes came out of the kitchen by a bevy of servers all at the same time. That's service.

For those looking for an economical restaurant - this ain't it - try RockBottom down on Ocean.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NomadicAdventurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for a small chain”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were delighted by the customer service and quality at King's. Prompt and friendly servers with excellent knowledge of the products served. Lovely oysters! Was here on business but family nearby allowed me to trat them.5 and 8 Y.O. grandchildren were treated with respect and well entertained. This place exceeded my expectations. Fine for families or a more sophisticated evening out. Multiple seating areas accommodate each style of customer needs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Place for Good Seafood”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lunched here while attending a convention in Long Beach. Nice seafood selection, but also with other entrees for those who don't necessarily want seafood. Well-priced, but service a bit slow (even though the place was not all that busy).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garwood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great night!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place is incredible! The decor is reminiscent of an old time fish house/saloon, minus the sawdust on the floor and the haze of smoke in the air.
The variety of seafood is phenomenal. I was with 3 friends 2 of whom are midwesterners used to fishsticks and shrimp cocktail.They were courageous (for them) and had tilapia and rockfish and loved it! We had a waiter than went above and beyond, Neil. He was not only a great server he entertained. We inadvertently were given 2 lunch menus at dinner and he honored the lunch prices even after our protestations. He was fun and made the wonderful meal even better! If I am in Long Beach again I will go back and request Neil as my waiter.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to King's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing