We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sushi by the Sea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkers' Lighthouse

Parkers' Lighthouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Parkers' Lighthouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,097 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pine Avenue
Transit: Long Beach Public Transit "The Pine Ave Link" Parkers` Lighthouse Shuttle Van (10 passenger) accommodates all local hotels and the Long Beach Convention Center within a 5 mile radius. Please have your conceirge schedule your pick-up time when making your dinner reservation. Aqua Bus Aqua Link (seasonal)
Description: Parkers' Lighthouse is known for its mesquite grilled fresh seafood, spectacular views and its award-winning wine list. The restaurant's extensive menu features innovative Southern California seafood dishes, as well as creative sushi and sashimi. Experience Happy Hour, Monday through Thursday 3- 7p.m. and Friday 3-8p.m. in the bar/lounge, and Monday through Friday 3-5p.m. on the waterfront patio. Parkers' Lighthouse is also home to the Queensview Steakhouse, located on the third floor, open Tuesday through Saturday 5-10p.m. and Sunday 4-9p.m.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sushi by the Sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The sushi at Parkers was very good. The maguro was buttery and the smoked sake nigiri was savory to say the least!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    319
    115
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
219 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great restaurant setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

A large (30) group of us - adults and kids - turned up without a reservation late on a Sunday afternoon. The restaurant was great. They managed to seat us in a semi-private area and provided great service.

The staff managed the large group very well. Even though the kids were on a different table they got everyone's order and bill correct.

There were no complaints from our group and the staff managed to keep track of the spurious drink and food orders.

The food was great. My wife and I started with fresh oysters and both had the sashimi bento box. Other members of our group had fresh fish and other typical seafood meals.

Excellent - no complaints.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GightRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very nice resturant, with the best fish and chips I've ever had! Most of the items on the menu were a little over priced, but the dishes we enjoyed and the one I noticed being served tasted and looked delicious. Beautiful view of the Queen Mary.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AZgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Snotty Manager”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very Very disappointing mixed bag.
Went here just for a drink but the girl on the front desk and the girl serving us were so nice, friendly and professional that we immediately decided to stay for lunch which was excellent. So good in fact that we booked for dinner. The place is on the water front at the end of a beautiful pier so we got dressed for dinner and headed into their more expensive dinner area.
All was well until we had ordered starters and mains when they turned on the AC full blast. It was right over our heads and miserably cold not only that, it was making our food cold. We pointed this out twice to our waiter and the fact that people near us were putting coats on but he said only the manager could adjust it. After complaining again the manager came down. Said he could turn it off for a few minutes but then would have to turn it on again. I asked if he could just turn it down slightly or adjust the temperature. He gave me a filthy look and said "No but if you complain again i will have to think about moving you" Incredibly rude!
We immediately left never to return. The food wasn't anywhere near as good as lunchtime and that manager should take a couple of lessons from his lunchtime staff on professionalism and manners!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jotravelnut21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Parkers' Lighthouse, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Jotravelnut21,

I am very thankful that you took the time to post your comments about your most recent experience at Parkers' Lighthouse and would like to sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you and your guests encountered at our restaurant. While we appreciate your compliments regarding our front desk staff and our waterfront patio with view of the harbor, we would like to apologize for the lack of professionalism from our management team.

Our primary goals are customer satisfaction and superior food. Rest assured, I will be sharing your comments with my management team, service team and Executive Chef as well. I would be more than happy to discuss this unfortunate experience with you in detail, please feel free to contact me directly at (562) 432-6500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went here for some drinks and dinner with a friend just in time to catch the last light of sunset and the location is second to none i would have to say with the harbor, lighthouse and QM right there.

Service was quick, smiling and professional which was to be expected since we came in towards the end of dinner service so quite a few table were gone. Good selection of beers on tap, wines both by the bottle and glass as well as your usual suspects in the liquor department. Will say that they had a good selection of whisky and other timbles for after dinner drinks.

We had the scallops and risotto as well as the Jambalaya and both were masterpieces of flavors that came in layers so every taste bud had its moment in the sun. The Jambalaya had just the perfect tenderness for both rice, shrimps and chicken, oh and lets not forget the top notch sausage that was in there. Clearly defined flavors from every little ingredient including a little spice contingent that was perfect enough to just have that little hotness before giving way to the richness of the dish itself. The scallops and risotto was likewise a perfect size for a one dish light dinner, four plump scallops seared to perfection on top of a generous helping of risotto that was perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned and they had managed to layer it so that as the food traveled through your mouth you had different flavors come to the fore throughout. Bravo.

Prices are not cheap but you get what you pay for and this was definitively worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Svein Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkers' Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Parkers' Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing