We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best STEAK in Long Beach”

555 East American Steakhouse
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 9/25
8:00 PM
Ranked #9 of 1,223 Restaurants in Long Beach
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Linden Ave.
Transit: Long Beach Passport
Reviewed July 19, 2016

The locals call it the "triple nickel".
Old-school style décor - marble floors, wood walls, brass railings.
If you are lucky to go during stone crab season, don't miss out - they get excellent stone crabs - pricey but worth every bite!
High quality beef and seafood.
The best in town!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank longbeachCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 187 of 475 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

We were here on a Sunday. The service was excellent. Our daughter has a peanut allergy, and the wait staff and chef were very accommodating. We felt very confident that they understood our concerns. The steak, salad and potato were very good. Be aware that free parking on Sundays is for the street in front of the restaurant. We are from out of state, and found out the hard way, ( a 49.00 fine) that it does not apply to other streets.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Dgr2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

I took my wife for our anniversary because she wanted a good steak. Lately, I have not been enjoying red meat so we split the $98 tomahawk steak (medium well). Great presentation, you can taste that it is aged and it was tender. Personally, I prefer a more fatty cut such as a ribeye with great seasoning. The garlic mashed potatoes were good, I did not like the texture as it was too smooth. The asparagus was not good, the citrus flavor overwhelmed the asparagus and did not balance well.
For appetizers we had the French onion soup (good but not excellent) I think it was because of the flavor of the cheese they use. The grilled artichoke was good as well. We also ordered the buttercake which was my favorite item and I don't eat sweets, I usually only eat chocolate. It was very dense and moist and the vanilla ice cream was delicious.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank blfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016

555 is first and foremost a "steak" place. They know how to cook them perfectly and have all the side accompaniments you expect and love (Baked potato with loads of sour cream and chives; sautéed spinach, etc.) They also have pasta, fish soup, etc. on the menu. However in a steak house, why bother. The bar scene is quite lively -- especially during "happy hour". But, quiet in the dining area. A very good steak house! You pay for what you get, but it's worth it!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoyboyIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

555 can hold its own among the big name steak houses like Morton's, Ruth's Chris, and Flemming's. Great aged steaks cooked to your specifications. Good wine list and fine selection of sides and deserts. All of this for a little less than th others.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 555 East American Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to 555 East American Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.