We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“555 East - Long Beach, Ca”

555 East American Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
555 East American Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 1,102 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Linden Ave.
Transit: Long Beach Passport
florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“555 East - Long Beach, Ca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I were visiting our son in Long Beach on vacation.
We mentioned if he knew of a good steak house for dinner. He suggested
the 555 restaurant. We had the BEST Steaks we've had in a long time!
Great desserts Too! Highly recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank keywestcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    94
    27
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
202 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Good food...Great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Some friends took me to 555 East for a special occasion. We had the private room in the back. The service was great. The Caesar was just ok, and the Calamari was just average. Nothing special. My steak was prepared as I requested and served with garlic mashed. It was good, but the presentation was just so-so. For the price, it seemed they could have put a bit more into the presentation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYWrldTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Get yourself back to 555”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

In the course of selecting a restaurant since the last time we were here a few years ago, we ruled out 555 on the point that we could get equal or better food and ambiance elsewhere. Now we are so pleased that we returned. Not only is their historical building beautifully developed and a unique setting with (rare) substance, but the quality of their food is better than my recollection of it. In my “off the chart” category is the rib eye steak and their beet salad. The Malbec was good; we need to try their Barbera again. Love their pianist, also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trvelingtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Good rest in long beach.
Salads large enough for two.
Shrimp tasty. Family of two parents and two teens enjoyed. Lesurely dinner. Not rushed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“both Great and Horrible experiences here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Raw Steak One night. Fantastic another. Dead dry gristly steak one night. You get the idea. It is off our list of "take a visitor out" places to go. It just can't be counted on to be consistent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drunvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 555 East American Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to 555 East American Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing