We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Dinner on The Queen Mary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Winston's Restaurant & Lounge

Sir Winston's Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #13 of 1,097 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Long Beach Passport, Route C.
Description: Five-star dining at its finest, Sir Winston's Restaurant & Lounge is a Long Beach restaurant that boasts impeccable service, a gourmet menu, an extensive wine list and an unmatched ambiance. With stunning seaside views from nearly every seat, Sir Winston's Restaurant & Lounge is perfect for special occasions and everyday enjoyment. At Sir Winston's you don't just eat, you dine.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
260 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dinner on The Queen Mary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed on the Queen Mary for our 40th wedding anniversary. We have some history with the ship as we stayed their on our wedding night some forty years back when the ship first opened its hotel. Sir Winston's was to be our big dinner for the weekend before heading out to Catalina. We were very glad we did. The food and service were impeccable. I decided to go old style. It is the Queen Mary after all! Oyster Rockefeller, Caesar salad, Beef Wellington. My wife listened to the waiter and ordered the Ahi tuna. All was excellent. The oysters were lightly broiled with ham and cream. Very good. The Caesar was one of the best I have ever eaten round the world. Crisp lettuce, fresh Parmesan, wonderful dressing and home made croutons. It really reminds you of why you began to order these salads when you get a great one like this. The beef wellington was perfectly cooked medium rare with a crisp pastry shell and a very good sauce. The meat cut with a fork and the mushroom pate added to its flavor. My wife's Ahi tuna was also excellent. Seared with pepper and seeds in vegetables and a light broth. The staff at Sir Winston's surprised us with a lovely cake to celebrate our anniversary. It was just one of the many attention to detail items that made our dinner special. The hotel would do well to hire staff from Sir WInston's to manage the ship.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
CWS55 -

Thank you so much for your feedback and happy belated anniversary.

It sounds like you had an amazing meal aboard our ship and we cannot wait to play host to you again very soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    80
    26
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First Class Everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I started my meal with French Onion Soup. It was some of the best I have ever have. Many times restaurants will cover up a lack of quality ingredients with lots of salt. This soup was very tasty, but not very salty.

I like green beans, but can't eat them, and the server was happy to make a substitution. I ordered the strip steak. It came with mashed potatoes, asparagus, and they substituted roasted tomatoes for the green beans.
I had mentioned that it was my birthday and they brought me a complementary little cake with a sliced strawberry, whipped heavy cream, and a candle, with Happy Birthday written in chocolate syrup on the plate.
Jennifer Hart's music and piano were great.
The hostess, Erika, did everything she could to make me feel welcome as well.
I cannot remember having a more enjoyable evening.






Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Brenda G -

Thank you so much for your feedback. We strive to give all of our guests a First-Class experience.

Happy belated birthday and we cannot wait to play host to you again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Old School Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Wonderful old school restaurant aboard the Queen Mary. Views of the harbour were very nice. Service was excellent. Food was very good. Only negative was that it was very hard to find, definitely needs more signage.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CoralSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
CoralT -

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your meal aboard our ship!

You are right! Great harbor views, good food...what a great place to grab a bite.

We will certainly look into signage and finding new ways to inform our guests of this wonderful restaurant.

Thanks again for your feedback and we cannot wait to play host to you again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, service and views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The food was very good, but what stood out to me was the level of service the staff provided. They gave the kind of service that you would have had if you were a passenger on the Queen Mary back in the day. Also the view of Long Beach and the harbor was very nice. The only negative thing was it is a little hard to find on the ship, maybe better signage on board.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Marcy K -

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed everything this wonderful restaurant has to offer.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Took my parents for their 30th wedding anniversary, the food was delicious and the staff could not have been more attentive or friendly. A little pricey for a regular outing but perfect for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugaaaaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Sugaaaaar -

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so glad we could make your parents' 30th Wedding Anniversary so special.

We do hope to see you aboard the ship again soon...maybe for their 31st anniversary? I like that, let's make this a tradition.

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Winston's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Sir Winston's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing