We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable but not quite a five”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Attic

Attic
Ranked #35 of 1,102 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Michigan
Level Contributor
183 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Reasonable but not quite a five”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I think the food at Attic was good but not great. I had a gumbo that had very little to it: mostly vegetables with little protein. The service was excellent however.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank likeeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    40
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Feels like home, without the work!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Fantastic atmosphere in a transformed Craftsman style house! Patio dining, front porch waiting area and homey indoor seating. Small party of six celebrating a college Graduation with attendees spanning three generations, everyone felt comfortable and enjoyed the ambiance! Food was fantastic, must try the appetizer sampler that includes the famous Cheetos Mac n cheese! Vegetarian options were limited (not an extensive menu overall) but hearty and flavorful! Seems to be a happening place so advise to make reservations. Great service, friendly staff and no rush to turn the table. Adding the Attic to the top of my list of go to eateries in Long Beach!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aslHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
281 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Forgetting Basics...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Went to the Attic for lunch during the week. It was very busy inside and outside. We got a nice table inside and the staff was very good. The problem wasn't the nice atmosphere, but paying attention to details such as the food. We started with fried green tomatoes and then two spinich salads. The fried green tomatoes were not prepared fresh. Sorry. They were dry and appeared to have been done a long time prior to the service. Shouldn't that be something done fresh? One of our salads did not have having any bacon or red onions like the other salad. Did they run out? So for some dried out tomatoes, two salads and one ice tea I paid close to $50.00. I came away feeling unimpressed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynndds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eating at The Attic was a great experience for us.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I met my family for a celebratory luncheon at The Attic, never having been there before, and I was very pleased with it.

We had made reservations ahead on an early April Saturday and so when I arrived we didn't have to wait, despite a bunch of customers waiting for a table. The restaurant is housed in an old house and thanks to the lovely weather (I'm from Seattle) tables are set out, outside and so when our table was ready all 15 of us ordered different meals.

I require low-sodium meals otherwise I'll get ill and so when my food arrived I discovered it was prepared to my satisfaction, something that is rare when eating out. Everybody else at our table marveled at how good their food looked and how excellent it tasted.

Eating at The Attic was a great experience for us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Little slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Attic has the most incredible food in a warm homey enviornment. When I eat here, I always start with one of thier signature bloody marys, these best bloody marys i have ever had. Then to the food. Their eggs benedict is unconventional, but tastes incredible. You definitely need to come early, as this place gets packed really fast, but its well worth it if you have to wait!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robsgirl637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Attic also viewed

 

Been to Attic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing