We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dogs are everywhere!!”
Review of Rosie's Dog Beach

Rosie's Dog Beach
Ranked #9 of 85 things to do in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Dogs are everywhere!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We don't live near the beach, so we wanted to take our dog to the ocean to see what she thought of it all. We found Rosie's Dog Beach near our friend's house and went down to give it a try.

There were tons of dogs everywhere having a blast. Everyone was getting along and enjoying the beach and the ocean. Our dog, JoJo, decided that the ocean was a little scary and didn't want to actually go in the water, but she loved running around on the sand.

It's a great opportunity to take your animals to the beach, the only downside is that there are a ton of dogs and people down there in that narrow strip of sand. It's a shame that there are restrictions on animals on the rest of the beach because it seems as if dog owners know that picking up after your animals is part of the responsibility of owning a dog. Why segregate? Where's the doggie love?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mauiwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    34
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun in the Sun”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My dog loves to go to the dog beach because he gets to see a lot of other dogs and people! Lucky for everyone, the people of Long Beach (including myself) are rather responsible when it comes to raising dogs. It's a nice way to let my dog enjoy running around freely with new friends!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morongo Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of my dog's favorite play areas”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

To my knowledge, this is the only dog beach in LA County. My pit bull Stella really enjoys romping on the sand and in the waves as she chases a tennis ball or frisbee. During the summer, this help both of us beat the heat. Also, on some evenings, free moves are shown nearby where she can lie on a blanket with me as we watch family oriented entertainment under the stars.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davidcatcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Nice dog beach”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A great to be at the beach with your best friend. Very nice beach for our four legged friends to interact and play in the ocean. Very small waves, so not a threat to any dog. We always see all sizes of dogs getting along. Our dog love to go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigBill45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
576 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“DOGS LOVE IT!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I could go to this dog beach with my dog and watch the other dogs go crazy and play their hearts out. It make me so happy to see all these dogs so excited and happy. They would run into the water and come back out and chase other dogs in the sand. Some will dig holes in the sand and bury themselves in it. Others are more shy and will just stay with their owners on the beach towels while watching all the other dogs play. The beach is small. There are cones designating where dogs are not allowed to be. Just stay within the cones and you're fine. During my couple hours here, I saw all owner picking up after their dogs. Which is a good sign. I haven't seen anyone not pick up after their dog.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nlee1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosie's Dog Beach also viewed

 

Been to Rosie's Dog Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing