We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Motel In Long Beach”
Review of Kearney Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kearney Motel
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked the Kearney Motel on Long Beach online, kind of taking a chance since we only had pictures to look at. We were however very pleasantly surprised at what we found when we arrived at the Kearney.

This is a very small motel located in a residential area adjacent to an industrial area by the port of Long Beach. It was easy to find (using the GPS) and it had ample parking for one car per room. The parking did require that in order to leave one needs to back out but that wasn't a problem.

The room itself (#7) was very clean and in good repair. This showed us that the owners care about their motel and about their guests. Everything worked and the TV was great. The only negative was that the in-wall air conditioner was quite loud and we had to turn it off in order to get a good night's sleep.

There are no real restaurants in the area other than a couple of fast food places and a take out Mexican restaurant that seems to be mainly used to feed the truckers from the port. We ordered a take-out meal because we were starving and it turned out to be a great meal with more than ample quantity.

Even though the Kearney is located in a residential area adjacent to an industrial area, the price was very good for Long Beach, and it was only about a 5 minute drive to the center of all of the restaurants near the Convention Center. We were attending a convention at the Long Beach Arena and found the location of the Kearney to be very convenient.

We felt that the location was good considering the short drive to downtown Long Beach and that for the price the Kearney is a great value! We would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 which is adjacent to the owner's suite and found it to be a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 30 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Needed a place to stay before our trip back out state? Stay here around 5/30 and I was very surprised. Love this place, nice price, ok location and friendly staff. The room was very clean, smelled great and the art work was just breath taking. No more huge hotel prices for us, I would differently stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crazytc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

While other hotels in downtown Long beach (only 5 minutes away) were charging an arm and a leg, this small 16 rooms, owner operated hotel, was clean and pleasant at a very affordable price!
I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mirceus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Fabiano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky_AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LasVegas62010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
6 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
1,002 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Long Beach Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,351 reviews
3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
6,493 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#18 of 58 in Long Beach
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kearney Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kearney Motel

Address: 1641 W Parade St, Long Beach, CA 90810-4097
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range: $84 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kearney Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kearney Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing