We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do the hydrobikes!!”
Review of Naples Island

Naples Island
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$97.68*
and up
Platinum Naples Island and Waterfront Segway Tour
Ranked #4 of 84 things to do in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Do the hydrobikes!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I can't find a place to review the hydrobikes, so guess I'll just do it here. Long Beach Hydrobikes is located in Los Alamitos Bay and it's a blast! They are basically bikes with pontoons on the side and little paddles that "scoop" the water to propel you instead of regular wheels. My family and I have done this twice and it was a great time both times. You rent the bikes for an hour ($20, but we've found half-price Groupons) and ride them across the bay and through the canals. There are single bikes and double bikes, where little ones can ride on a platform in the middle. My daughter is 10 and this year was able to reach the pedals and do the single bike, but last year was a bit too short and rode on the platform. Having done both, I recommend the single bikes - it is much more fun to pedal on your own. The people who run Hydrobikes are very nice and easy-going, which sometimes translates into not getting on the bikes at the time you reserved them for. This last time we waited for quite a while BUT they didn't not take our Groupons (so it was free of charge) and we will definitely return and use those Groupons. We also waited a bit the other time we went, but you just have to chill and hang out a bit - it's the beach, and it's worth the wait.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandGirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    78
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, CO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A charming seaside community.”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Attractive people at ease in a charming "beach town" community.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank barmac36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“take a duffy boat through the canals at christmas”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Every house is lit up and very imaginative. Surfers on waves, palm trees, reindeer, santas, star of David, boats, snowmen, and much more. Rent the duffy boats at Alamitos Landing and take a two hour tour, first around the outside of the island and then through the cannals as it gets dark. The weather is usually good if you bring a coat and libations. The boats have plastic windows so wind is not problem. We do it every year and our out of town guests get a feel for how great it is to live in California.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank sealbeachtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“SO PICTURESQUE!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Enjoyed bike riding to Naples while visiting in Long Beach. Love to bike down the different streets and admire the beautiful homes!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Naples is the epitome of quaint! It makes for a great walk, and if you want you can take a tour via gondola with Gondola Getaway. It is a very upscale neighborhood where homes back up to canals, and each one has its own boat dock. It is especially beautiful during the holiday season as the homeowners tend to decorate the back of the house, which backs up to the canal, instead of the front of the house. It makes for a beautiful after-dinner stroll.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank misspattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naples Island also viewed

 

Been to Naples Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing