We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Beach's Retro Row (Fourth St.)”
Review of East 4th Street

Ranked #30 of 54 things to do in Long Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shoppers looking to buy vintage clothes, furniture and other memorabilia from the 1950s up through the '70s will enjoy the many shops that span more than two-blocks on this popular, busy street.
Reviewed November 18, 2016

Great Shopping and Dining area. If you are looking for vintage clothing, jewelry, accessories, antiques or other retro items, go to Retro Row. There are several shops to explore and find that special item you have been wanting. There are also many different food choices and a Great restored Art Theatre. Wish I could have spent more time there.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"retro"
in 10 reviews
"thrift"
in 2 reviews
"art"
in 3 reviews
"aji"
in 2 reviews
"restaurants"
in 5 reviews
"fun"
in 4 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 27 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

I think Retro Row has more appeal to young locals than an oldster like me who shudders at the vintage polyester clothes.
I was looking for a larger selection of accessories like jewelry and scarves. Most of the stuff wasn't displayed very well. I was hoping to find a few more older designer labels. With the exception of one store employee, no one seemed very friendly or welcoming or cared if you were there or not. One of the stores with furniture was closed on Monday as was the AIDS thrift store. The others didn't have especially choice pieces.
I did eat at the Social List which I would recommend.

We were staying in the Bluff neighborhood. I enjoyed seeing the well kept Craftsman homes and appreciated the walkability of the neighborhood.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Rhensrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2016 via mobile

Wow retro row is such a cool area

There's nothing else like it in long beach or Los Angeles!!

Tons of retro shops. Retail. Restaurants. Coffee. Etc. totally walkable and bikeable

It's cool. Full of hints to do and just has so much charm. You have to come see it in person

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank TitanHermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2015

easy access from downtown Long Beach and parking very close to the beach area, cheap at 25 cents per 15 minutes..... breezy and a lot cooler than being downtown, nice get away.

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank marknlinda2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2015

Great neighborhood for eating, shopping vintage and drinking. Lots of retro shops, wine bars and food options. Oh, and lots of people watching and cute dogs!

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East 4th Street also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to East 4th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing