We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great room. Very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great room. Very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Seven of us stayed here the night before our Carnival cruise. Not all in one room. LOL. All three rooms were perfect. Different water views in each. Extremely helpful and friendly front desk staff. The shuttle driver didn't even groan when he saw all 7 of us with our 12 bags. The only negative I have is the extremely high price of drinks at the pool bar

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks for the great feedback and hope you had fun on your cruise as well. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    438
    178
    89
    46
See reviews for
343
431
51
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just stayed at the Hotel Maya for the Catalina Ski Race. We stay there every year in July for the race. Again, the hotel was so nice to stay here. The rooms are very comfortable, the grounds are beautiful, the people who work there, from the reservation desk to the staff are all very nice and helpful. The only thing I don't like about the Hotel Maya is the restaurant, The Fuego. It is nice inside, but it's super expensive. Drinks are at least $11 each, and they served them in a plastic cup. They should have more options at the Hotel Maya for food. All the restaurants and fast food places are across the bay on Ocean Blvd. The food is just okay at the Fuego, nothing to speak about. But, again, the Hotel Maya is wonderful....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rvrratjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks....The Catalina ski group is one of our two busiest weekends of the year in Fuego and per the meeting planners request we modify the food and drink menus specifically for that weekend to be able to accomodate the huge volume of customers we det from the Catalina skiiers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here for my anniversary. Let me tell you the hotel is spectacular. You have a great view of amazing long Beach pretty much from anywhere in the property. Joel A. The bellman was amazing. He helped us with all our luggage and was very informative. Why is he bellman? One thing though he did not take my tip. The room was nice spacious and with a great view. The breakfast at Fuego was top notch. Lunch was even greater they really focus on Latin fusion style plates. Love it. Thank you all staff for great service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulsmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks for the great comments! Joel is actually the front desk manager and was probably assisting the bellman and thus refiuused the tip however glad to hear that his service was great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This boutique type hotel was very nice. We stayed here one night before our Carnival cruise and got a discounted rate for the Park and Cruise Package. The hotel is nicely decorated and clean and had a very nice water view from the room. The only complaint I would have is that there were 3 different weddings going on at the same time so some of the outdoor amenities were not available. Other than that this was a very nice stay. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank peachperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks for the perfect comments! We are glad you enjoyed it. We do host many weddings at the property especially during the summer but we try to make sure we minimalize disruption to guest amenities. Hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Staff Members at the Maya Hotel Long Beach were very nice and helpful!!! Anything we needed, they were there to help! Perfect location for our trip to Catalina Island !!! I would highly recommend this Hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for the great comments and hope you enjoyed your trip to Catalina as well. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The staff was very friendly and professional. The grounds and room is very well maintained. I love that they are a pet friendly hotel! We had a very relaxing little get-a-way and would enjoy going back some day! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shera1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
So glad you loved it and were able to relax on your weekend getaway. Getaway again soon with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a nice pool and a nice restaurant but the images on the website provide an aura of 'resort' that the hotel does not stand up to. Some if the newly remodeled rooms are very nice, but you can get an old king ocean view with old carpet if you dont pay attention!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the feedback and your perspective as it is always good to compare different opinions. thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,002 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#5 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#11 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing