We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Secluded Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
orange county
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Secluded Area”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Met up with a friend for a short weekend get a way. I stayed in their Deluxe balcony water front view room, top floor with a view of the fuego restaurant and The sprawling ocean and bay slowly descending in. The room was super nice i enjoyed the decor as it features ancient mayan symbols and deep vibrant colors, contrasted with a modern California coastal feel really sets the relaxation vibe. The restroom was a little small but looked amazing. The room itself is spacious the beds were comfortable and had no issue with bug bites. Also it was really quiet and i heard no other people on the same floor or anywhere near me the whole night and day i was there.

I had dinner at fuego that night and the atmosphere and mood was on point. The food was decent, i just wish they had a more expansive menu. My friend really enjoyed his sea food cocktail. I also ended up going back to the bar that night and having a burger and fries to go. Along with some coffee i sampled a coconut mojito and it was really bomb. Sweet and tasty with a Nice Kick too, I was buzzed after sipping half of it.

The next morning was beautiful it was sunny, and the weather was warm which mixed great with the cold morning ocean breeze it felt amazing outside. Tried out the hot tub and it was pretty hott lol it was nice to relax in for a bit but i just wish the snack stand by the pool had been opened but i was aware that it doesnt always open during the week. Overall i was completely satisfied with my stay and almost did not want to leave. I will for sure come back and hopefully can request the same exact room.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the coast and not the parking lot since it would be pointless to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayzaway99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for the great review. Starting in late may we open the pool bar 7 days a week however in off peak times, beverages and food are still avaiable through room service and menu and phone are out at pool. We are glad you discovered us as we have many loyal fans from within a 30 minute drive who use us as a relaxing getaway. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    514
    209
    99
    53
See reviews for
431
534
61
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

It was my first time staying at Hotel Maya, the staff was super friendly and helpful. (and we got free cookies! yahh!) Our room was clean, and we had a nice view by the pool. We had our breakfast at Fuego, the pancake we order was so fluffy, it was so delicious. The omelette was great too! The service was excellent, everyone at the hotel always had a smile on.

The whole hotel layout was colourful and very nice. We really enjoyed the night view when we were hanging out beside the fire pit and the pool.

Room Tip: If you like a higher ceiling, choose top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J604j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for the great comments. We hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stay at the Hotel Maya every year during an event.The view is great, location the best, and a very relaxing get away close to town and the Grand Prix. Thanks for the great guys at the front desk and the doorman /valet .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We will see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We always look forward to staying at the Maya. Beautiful layout, great location and views, awesome service. Just be sure to avoid the rooms without patios...they can be a little claustrophobic... As for the restaurant, Fuego, I normally avoid hotel restaurants, but this is one which I have taken friend to, even when I was not staying at this hotel. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, all exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for the great review!!!!!! Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

good location and good service however food is average and housekeeping needs improvement--room not really cleaned breakfast buffet had a nice variety but food was warm but not hot and same for coffee--warm but not hot. The venue is excellent on water and scenic but service and cleanliness require more effort. The plates were dirty even though they were suppose to be cleaned, I went thru numerous cleaned plates trying to find a clean plate

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 93gailh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. I will share it with our housekeeping and Fuego team in an effort to improve on those areas. We hope you come back and try us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Mtn, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Loved every part of our stay here. The hotel staff were very friendly, the room was great, and we especially liked the outdoor sand seating areas with gas fire-pits. Pool area is awesome, which also has a nice gas fire. We are definitely going to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks for the awesome review!!!! Hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night before our cruise and it is a delightful hotel and not like a regular hotel, 4 buildings and nice walk along the waterfront with fire pits and benches on the sand. It was very cool so we could not enjoy being outside but did have drinks and snacks at the bar which was very busy with partiers since this was a Friday night and seems a wedding paraty was going on. Room is large and very comfortable and the cookies they give you are very good. We got a special rate for cruising with Carnival which made the stay very affordable. Lovely area and Ifeel like we made a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for the great comments and come visit us on your next cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
6,000 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#4 of 55 in Long Beach
2,345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#7 of 55 in Long Beach
1,231 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
910 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#6 of 55 in Long Beach
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing