We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room fantastic view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for three nights on honeymoon a really nice hotel room was lovely had a fantastic view of the queen Mary ship from our balcony,the reception staff had put a bottle of fizz and some chocs in our room to congratulate us on our wedding (nice touch).We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food,if you go out of the hotel and follow the patch they have a small sanded area with chairs and further on a pool.At night there is a free bus in the hotel car park that picks you up and you can get off at different locations I think they run every 15 mins as the hotel is about 15 mins on bus out of town.Cant fault hotel room cleaned everyday would love too stay again.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room with a view of the water front a fantastic relaxing view with a view of queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigalb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thanks for the great comments and congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

I've had the opportunity to stay at Hotel Maya twice in the past 2 years already. This place does not disappoint! The staff was amazing, as were the rooms! My friends and I stayed in the garden facing room each time. This past March we were on the first floor, even though it's a garden facing room you have a beautiful view of the water and city as well.
The surrounding area of the hotel is beautiful as well, the pool, floating cabanas, fire pit...basically paradise.
I absolutely LOVE the cookies that they have freshly baked each day for the guests, they are AMAZING! I miss them! haha
Great location, we didn't hit much traffic during our 10 day stay there, and it's fairly close to LA and Huntington Beach which were where most of our time was spent, about 30 mins each way from Long Beach.
Oh and luckily this past March they had a wicked 50% off sale on the rooms so we definitely scored a great price on our stay!
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thanks for the amazing review! We are so glad you liked it. Sign up on our hotelmayalongbeach.com to get special emails with discounted rates throughout the year. Come back again for the third time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Outdated furnishings. Grounds and rooms were dirty, although linens were good. I was on the back side (non-water view) next to a highway and some kind of industrial site. It was SO, noisy I could barely sleep. When the alarm (that I did NOT set) went off at 6:00 am I just got up and left. Also, because this is a wedding venue, the hallways are noisy with party-goers very late. I was disappointed to have used up valuable Hilton points on this hotel.

Room Tip: Water view might be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathySShermanOaks_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

I am so sorry to hear about your stay. We certainly strive to make all of our guests happy and especially our Honors guests. Please contact me directly at kristi.allen@hilton.com so we can discuss your stay. We just finished earlier in the month doing our deep cleaning of the entire hotel where we hire an outside company to come in and deep clean all carpets and furniture in all guest rooms so there shouldnt have been a cleanliness issue. I look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at the Maya during our daughter's wedding last week. I think this is the best hotel we have ever visited. The service at the front desk was fast friendly and helpful. Room service was incredibly fast, thanks to Sal. The breakfasts were amazing, egg white omelets! We had an amazing view of the Queen Mary, we just loved our five day stay here. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We are so happy your daughter got married here and that you had an amazing stay. We strive to make sure everyone feels that way. I will pass on your comments to Sal as well. Come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is really nice hotel tucked away in Long Beach. The hotel staff was excellent. The room was nice The view from the room was beautiful. I had a view of the Queen Mary and Shoreline Village. Overall, I had a great stay and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful comments...We are tucked away like a beautiful gem but we love when people discover us like you did. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

First off, I have stayed at MANY Hilton hotels over the years, and am a HUGE fan1
I had about a 2 week stay at this hotel. Unfortunately I had a room on the ground floor and directly across from the elevator and the main entry to the other rooms. I found that the hotel is very noisy in the hall ways and noise travels due to the age of the building. Definitely a hot spot for weddings and parties.
I also could hear any movement in the room above and on the sides of me. Which made for rather early mornings. The room had a dingy smell to it, and the air conditioner is very loud.

I didn't change rooms because I was expecting my handicap mother to be visiting and she is unable to walk too much. I dined at the breakfast and it was not good, tasted like food had been sitting there for hours. The room service food was good. The service was excellent as it always is at a Hilton Hotel. The area is amazing, great views.
Overall I am left with a mixed feeling regarding this particular Doubletree. Don't think I'd stay again, as there are many other choices within the same area. I suppose they would be quieter.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am dissapointed as well as we want all of our guests to leave completely satisfied! I wish you would have requested a room move as we would have been more than happy to move you to a room you were happier with. We can be very active as we book many celebrations here due to our beautiful waterfront setting and well known high quality of food. We do have quieter rooms available when we know people want to be away from the action in the main building. I hope you do come back and try us again so we can make sure you get a room that fits your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Maya is right on the water within walking distance of the bridge that takes you right into the downtown and all the attractions, like the aquarium, restaurants, museums, etc. A bit pricy, but lots of amenities, like pool, restaurant and even a sand beach with fire pits at night to keep warm while watching the city lights sparkle on the water. There is a nice walkway that runs all the way to the Queen Mary, as well as the cruise ship terminal. Try breakfast on the outside patio watching the birds on the water as well as an occasional sea lion sunning himself on the nearby floating boat docks. Breakfast burrito is huge but will set you back $20.

Room comes with refrigerator and sliding glass door for easy access to the outside or a personal patio. Well insulated...even an all night action movie with helicopters, explosions and gunfire did not spoil our rest.

Room Tip: Try for a water/city view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thanks for the great comments! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,484 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,283 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
918 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $197 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing