We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off*
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here with my friend for a convention in August for 2 nights. I loved this place! The room was comfortable, clean, updated and had a lovely view of the harbor. Not crazy about the coffeemaker in the room or the coffee and some water in the fridge would have been a bonus. The front desk folks are great....particularly Fernando. The pool is wonderful, right next to the ocean. It is a lap pool, so was able to get an early morning workout in one morning, then brunch on the terrace of our room. The only reason I did not give this property 5 stars is because of the onsite restaurant. I will say that the views are spectacular, but the portions are small, very expensive, and the service is slow, slow, slow. Parking in their lot is expensive, so if you don't have to bring a car, don't. There is a free Passport bus that picks you up right next to the property and will take you pretty much anywhere in Long Beach that you need or want to go. I also really loved that this is a pet friendly hotel. Loved seeing the dogs around.

Room Tip: It appears to me that most all rooms have a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RKStrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
I am glad Fernando and the hotel made your convention more enjoyable. Many people tell us they love staying at the Maya for exactly that reason during conventions...they feel like they are in vacation even when they are working! Sorry about Fuego service, will follow up with Fuego team to see what happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    431
    174
    89
    44
See reviews for
332
418
50
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Maya with multiple of my family members and friends when I got married next door at the Reef. I love this place, it is like staying at a mini-resort. The view is incredible, the hotel and staff are top-quality, but mostly the ambiance is what makes it so great. I felt so relaxed the whole time, not to mention the beds are uber comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding and we are thrilled you loved the Maya. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I recently wrapped up a 17 night stay a the Maya. I first stayed here last Sept. and enjoyed it so much it was a must do for my next trip to Long Beach.
The staff is VERY friendly and accommodating. The outdoor dining is awesome! If you like to dine at sunrise or sunset the view is spectacular!! The waterfront area where the Maya is located is absolutely breath taking!
Speaking of food.. Fuego serves EXCELLENT food!! Even the buffet breakfast is exceptional!
If you visit the bar I recommend you ask Alex for some of his famous Sangria, it's VERY good!
If you enjoy hangin by the pool then you'll love the Maya's pool area. They have very nice lounge chairs and cabanas! There is also a bar and couch/fire pit area. While I was there on Saturday's there was a guy who played steel pan and guitar by the pool, it was very cool!
Looking forward to my next visit back to Long Beach so I can relax at the Maya!!

Room Tip: The hotel is laid out in such a way that I believe all of the rooms face the water, but I would ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlchristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
And we love you! Thanks for staying with us so long...we really appreciate you choosing the Maya. Come back again soonM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 2013. Took card details even though the room was pre paid and we did not realise until a week later they had taken the money again without even getting authentication off me. we had a meal the 1st night costing in total appx $150 which being hones was one of the worst meals we have had for a long time and the worst while we were in the USA.Would not stay again. Rooms were adequate but not what you would expect for the cost per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks for the feedback though we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Please e-mail me directly at kristi.allen@hilton.com so i may find out the details of your stay as it does not sound typical. We certainly strive to exceed all of our guests expectations but it appeared we have failed and we would like to address so it doesnt happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The location on the bay was great with amazing views, however difficult to navigate to due to poor street and hotel signage. The food was great as well as the service. Front desk help was exceptional to all guest. Plenty of areas to sit and visit with friends. Very comfortable.

Room Tip: north rooms have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12JudyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks for he comments....we have asked caltrans for years to help with signage but it is hard to get them to do anything. For now, we are the hidden gem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We decided on this hotel bc it was walking distance from the festival and the Queen Mary was sold out. Turns out it was a blessing in disguise bc Queen Mary didn't have a/c or a pool. Hotel Maya perfect. We got a 1st floor room that walked right out to their mini beach area (no swimming, but you wouldn't want to swim there anyways). The sink drained a little slow but oh well, minor issue. Stephanie helped us pick our room and check-in and she was very sweet and helpful. The pool was awesome, too, with a guy singing and playing the steel drums. Perfect little staycation for my friends and I.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank JoAnna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks for the great comments....we are happy you had a great staycation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We reserved 2 rooms and 1 of the rooms had a non working faucet. It would be nice to have a janitorial service check for those types of things. Overall, desk staff were the absolute best from beginning to end! They were 5 star service. Fuego restaurant had a couple of non friendly employees. Cookies are always a plus!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for the comments..the cookies are awesome. We will pass your comments to the front desk and Fuego. If you could email us any details about fuego at greg.guthrie@hilton.com to help us research your experience and improve, we would appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#7 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#5 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#11 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing