We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always welcomed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
anaheim, United States
1 review
“Always welcomed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Although the Maya has a few problems their staff is not one of them. They are always, courteous, friendly and efficient. Every request I made was taken care of, including dickering over where my room was located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for the great comments on staff and hotel. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    488
    196
    97
    52
See reviews for
396
499
59
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed two nights at the hotel and had a beautiful room facing the water. We had reserved the hotel through the site on the Internet and were very pleased with the check-in. The room was very large with a king bed and a sofa. The bathroom is very small but there was space for everything. The air conditioner was so loud, especially on the balcony, that we couldn't even talk. It was also loud in the room when it went on. The front desk called to see if everything was OK and I told them about the air conditioner. They told me that all of them were like that and sent up an electrician to look at it. He came almost immediately and told us all the compressors are that loud and then showed us how to turn it off. That worked fairly well but I mentioned to the front desk when I left that I thought a place as nice as this should not have box air conditioners and they should be regulated by temperature. She told me that they were in the process of doing just that. I also feel that there is no need to charge $19 a night for parking. The hotel is not in a crowded area. In fact, there is little around. There is plenty of parking space so I don't see why there is a charge. The restaurant was very nice. As a gold Hilton member I was also pleased to get free breakfast tickets which gave us a beautiful buffet. We ate one other meal there and the food was very good, although a bit pricey. Overall, it was a good experience and we were very happy we went.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We love our Hilton Honors memebers! Thank you for the comments. As the hotel was originally built back in the 70's the design does not easily provide for a different type of AC unit very well. The AC's are new but of an older design and yes are louder than what most are used to now. We are looking at changing the systems which will mean we will have to totally redesign the windows and rooms at some point to accomodate for a different system. Hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The maya hotel is wonderful. I love the mini beach and fire pits the most. Staff was excellent. Location provided any excellent view of Long Beach, CA. I only wish the carpet was cleaner in my bedroom entrance and the parking garage exit ticketing system worked only 10% of the time for my room key. These items were minor comparied to the view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Excellent! We love that you love it. The parking fills up entirely as we are located right next to the Queen Mary a very busy tourist destination. If we didnt charge the lot would be full daily and we would have no space for any guests. There is an alternative public lot on the other side of the residence inn, right down the street and some street parking next to the Reef restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Maya for 2 nights deciding it was where I wanted to be on my last night as a bachelorette. From my first visit, I fell in love with the decor & the entire aesthetic of the place. I loved that it was by water, they had a beautiful lobby, great margaritas at the bar & a beach! Even the bathrooms were beautiful & I wanted to share that with my bridal party.

The room was a bit smaller than expected. I had a Queens view but no balcony. It's a bit pricy even at a discounted price but it is a boutique hotel, so it's to be expected. The staff were friendly, the bellboy helped us with our bags. Bonus: each guest will receive a delicious cookie upon check-in & check-out too!

Note: It is $19 for parking

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for spending your last single night with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our first time visit to Long Beach was pleasent at Maya. We just wished that the front desk staff were a bit friendlier and more informative. The rooms were clean however the bathroom needed a little update. We upgraded to a room with water views but we could've saved the extra money because our friends stayed in a standard room with about the same view. The location of the hotel was wonderful, we took advantage of the water taxi, which right off the dock of the hotel only costed a dollar!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Manyvone I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and the water taxi. I love it as well. I apologize about the view but all 199 rooms are laid out differently as the coast line is not straight and the buildings are all turned at a different angle. No two views are exactly alike even if you are in the same room number but a different building. Several of our return guests walk several rooms and pick the one they like the best and then just request it on future stays. On your next trip, we are more than happy to let you see several rooms first. The water views in general are far better than the garden usually. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The room was very clean, beds, pillows, blankets & sheets were super comfy, cookie was warm & yummy, elevators are a bit tight but clean!! and are the hallways & stairwells. The staff was welcoming, kind & accommodating-Thanks to Jonathan who drove us in the golf cart to the free shuttle where we embarked on to the Convention Center!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for the great comments! I will pass on the thanks to Jonathan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here in a room with 2 queen beds, the room was an adequate size with a small balcony and a lovely view over the water to long beach and in the other direction the queen Mary.
The pool area was lovely, with a bar/food service and plenty of good sized towels.
The room was very clean and we had plenty of towels and pillows. The free bus into long beach downtown or the shoreline village was great, we used this every night lot go out for a meal.
We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant twice and found the buffet good value and plenty of choice. Drinks around the pool were on the pricey side.
Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are so happy you loved it! 4 nights is a perfect length of time to enjoy the hotel and all of Long Beach. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#10 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#7 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing