We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Beach, CA - Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Long Beach, CA - Nice Hotel”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Nice hotel, with super friendly attitude from staff.
We didn't bother with sea-view rooms so were given a room on the ground floor in building #3.
Nice, with small terrace.
Large spacious room with warm colours. Bathroom nice as well.
The only downside was that A/C unit was VERY loud... Fortunately, room wasn't too hot without it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thanks for the great comments and super happy that your family enjoyed their stay. The waterview rooms are really nice but I actually prefer a garden view balcony to a waterview with no balcony because our weather is so nice here that yo will spend the majority of your time lounging on the patio or lounging around one of our 6 fire pits or pool. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    517
    213
    100
    53
See reviews for
438
535
63
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buena Park, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Simply amazing! <3 My boyfriend and I spent 1 night at Hotel Maya and fell in love all over again. This place is so romantic even to just be in your room gazing at the view or walking around the property. LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!!! The pool and hot tub area is breath taking! If you get a chance have lunch or dinner at Fuego. Overall, you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for the feedback...it is a very romantic place with the fire pits, pool, waterfront views and of course the margaritas in Fuego. We hope you return again to keep the flames going!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. The rooms are quite hot and stuffy with no ventilation. The air conditioner is beyond noisy and ineffective. Restaurants are fine, the gym has treadmills but only one recumbent bike (would be nice to have a normal bike). Reception is slow and could use some training.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for the feedback though it is certainly not the type we strive to receive from our guests. We just built a brand new beautiful fitness center and thus have heard very few negatives about it but defintely something to consider. We do have real bikes on property for guests to ride along the water though. Please email me at kristi.allen@hilton.com so I may get more info in regards to your room front desk experience so we may work to improve in that area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

When you pay a extra to stay overnight with an ocean view you would expect a that the room would be clean - well, actually, I always expect that the room should be clean...But in this case, I expected near perfection. Not the case here. Seemed like the room was used for a massive party the night before and perhaps the maid service was in to big of a rush to do a thorough cleaning. I say that because we found a beer bottle behind one of the chairs in the corner and stains all over the walls. Just Gross! The bathroom was beautifully decorated and although the rooms were not as nice - they still had a modern feel to them. However, despite the upgraded decor I couldn't get the idea out of my head that if the walls were not scrubbed down - and with trash left behind...that perhaps the sheets weren't cleaned also. Anyway, needless to say as much as I enjoyed the view - we spent as much time outside of the room as we could and were happy to leave the following morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you felt the hotel was beautiful despite the horribly dirty room you had. I reviewed your pictures and this is totally unacceptable and you never should have been checked into this room. I would appreciate it if you could email me directly at kristi.allen@hilton.com so I may discover the details of room number and date to identify housekeeper and put through retraining imemdaitely. We really appreciate your time in contacting us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Arranged stay through hotel.com...what a bargain. Regardless, it was a great hotel - the Queen Mary about a 1/4 mile away, a view of L.B. Harbor from our room, and close to our sons who live in L.B. We didn't take advantage of any amenities, as we were busy with our sons. But, the bed was very comfortable and everything about the room was outstanding!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
This is a great hotel at any price. :) Thanks for the feedback and hope you return and spend more time on property with your sons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOUNTAIN VALLEY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Familiar with this brand but this particular property is distinguished above others. It is close to major entertainment venues, shops, restaurants of all kinds -- all within easy walking distance. The walking areas are all well lighted, easy access. The rooms are spacious and well laid out, good views in most, and the staff was wonderful. Highly recommend if you're going to be in that area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so glad you loved everything from the pool to the fire pits to the waterfront restaurant. We hope to see you again soon and truly appreciate your feedback. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Beautifully decorated, modern/contemporary design, though not welcoming if you were hoping for easy walking access to downtown/shops, etc. There is apparently a shuttle that operates within 2 miles but you are not necessarily told this when you arrive, and there is a free city shuttle that you are also not informed of that drops you off nearby. Overall, way over-priced given that few amenities are included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elicia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We are in process of restocking the complimentary passport shuttle schedules in our front rack and have retrained the front desk agents on mentioning the shuttle. It is also mentioned in our guest room compendiums in every room. The water taxi from our dock also goes back and forth the downtown for a dollar. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,058 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
1,247 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing