We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“LOVE the Hotel Maya!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off*
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, OK
1 review
“LOVE the Hotel Maya!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first time to the Hotel Maya. What a wonderful experience! The location is unbelievable, right on the water overlooking the harbor. I chose this hotel because we were going on a cruise to Hawaii and it is located very close to the cruise terminal. To our surprise, the hotel stay was way beyond our expectations. When you check in they give you a "warm" fresh baked chocolate cookie. The front staff was very accomodating as we arrived early and kept in touch with us via cell phone when our room was ready. The walk around the property proved to be amazing, the pool area is beautiful and the restaurant is lovely with an awesome view of the water. The wait staff was also great! At dusk, the staff lights several "fires" around the outside of the property in fire pits and tiki torches, making it even MORE inviting, The ambiance was amazing!! I told my husband we should have just stayed at the Hotel Maya for our entire vacation! We would love to go back on a return visit. Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a balcony room facing the harbor, preferably on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback and we are so happy you loved it. Come back for your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    433
    175
    89
    44
See reviews for
335
420
50
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Felt like I was in another country for a bit. It was great!
Hilton bought a boutique hotel and kept it the same without the big corporation feel.
I love the views and hotel. This was a great place for a weekend get away.
I will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback! We are happy you liked it and cant wait for you to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent property with full ocean and city views. Queen Mary is walking distance and easy shuttle to town. It's a very romantic setting that makes you feel like your in Hawaii. We will definitely make this a regular visit for weekend get aways. We can't wait to schedule our next romantic weekend.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks! It is a perfect romantic getaway which makes you feel worlds away. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very pretty grounds. Staying on this side of the harbor allows you to get the very pretty views of the busy side, and it is a very short free shuttle ride or boat ride (boat summer only) to get to the aquarium and such. If they just fixed a few minor things this would be like a 5 star resort. The grounds are really pretty! The hut tub was really hot and had very strong jets - better then my hot tub at home! I have never been to a hotel with the spa kept so hot and it was fantastic. The rooms are large (top floor has cathederal ceilings), but small bathrooms, which doesn't matter to me. Almost a Ritz Carlton.... almost ;) For the money it is a fantastic and I would say a 4 star. NOTE: this, as is most hotels in the area, is a HARBOR hotel. There is no sandy beach or swimming area. They have a man made sandy beach, but it is not on the water, although my 8 year old still had fun bulding sand castles in the sand while I sat in very comfy resort furniture in front of the fire pit enjoying the wonderful night light view.

Room Tip: Building 3 or 4, upper floor. Spring for the FULL waterview - it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for the great comments and for saying we are almost a Ritz Carlton. :) I too love the higher floor rooms as you do get the high ceilings though I also love the first floor rooms on the beach as you can walk out of your patio onto the sand. I am glad your 8 year old enjoyed it! Come back again in the summer so you can take the $1 boat ride around the harbor and lay by the pool all day. kids love the floating cabanas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is our second time at the Maya in two months and we've decided that this is our favorite place to stay in Southern California. We love the Maya because you fell like you are on an island. They do have a small "beach area" with sand and chase lounges. The pool has floating cabanas, and all of this with a view of the water and downtown long beach, which is beautiful when it lights up at night.
Most of the rooms at the Maya are Ocean view. To me everything at the Maya says relax!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars_92705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Perfect!!!! You are enjoying the Maya exactly the way we want people to enjoy it...relaxing by the pool, on the beach, on their patios or on our waterfront restaurant patio with a margarita in hand. Come back whenever you are are in the need for some R&R! We will leave the lights on. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not your average big city hotel. This is a unique little hotel that is also a Doubletree (big chain amenities, small hotel feel). The hotel backs to the water (no beach). It has nice size rooms. Comfortable beds. The grounds are immaculate and have comfortable seating areas with fire pits along the water. Great pool. Short walk to the Queen Mary and the Russian submarine. Perfect place for a romantic getaway or with the family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotFarAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback. Our designer who is famous in LA will love the Stylish oasis label. You hit what he was aiming for...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hubby and i stayed here for Valentine's day we gota room with a harbor view and it was beautiful. The view the room the balcony were all I could have hoped for. Very romantic, we were above alil waterfall they have in the garden and it made it all the more peaceful. Could fall asleep to that sound. Very happy and we will return again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsN06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Happy Valentine's day! It sounds like you stayed in Buiilding one as you were able to enjoy the waterfall...Next time try building 3 or 4 to enjoy our even more romantic beach and fire pits. The Hookah lounge is really romantic as well and fun when you try the Hookah with our resident Hookah expert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#5 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#11 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing